22 Comments
Jun 7, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

My favorite degree is the Fellowcraft Degree, more especially the 2nd section or "Staircase Lecture". When done impressively, I believe it can leave a lasting impression on the Brother. It also gives us alot of information about the different denominations of Freemasonry, a little about King Solomon's Temple and how a Fellowcraft would be paid his wages. The story of Jeptha and his defense of the Israel brings about alot of intriguing questions and can lead to plenty of Lodge educational discussion

Expand full comment
Jun 7, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

It's a toss-up between Entered Apprentice, and the AASR 18th degree.

EA, because if it's done well the candidate knows very little and it is a "first time" experience, arguably with a more profound experience than the others because it's the first exposure for a candidate.

AASR 18th because of the key lessons are a great distillation (to me) of what the craft is overall: "Practice virtue that it may produce fruit. Labor to eliminate vice, purify humanity. Be tolerant of the faith and creed of others".

Expand full comment

I also think the 2nd degree is my favorite, and the G lecture the most beautiful lecture (although a real challenge to memorize).

Expand full comment
Jun 7, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Of the Degrees I’ve seen:

2nd degree: The Second Section (Staircase) is impressive, but even more so with costumes and in the right environment. The Torchlight 2nd degree and the San Juan Island 2nd degree are excellent examples.

3rd degree: Again, in costume. It’s a drama, and the workers in KS’s temple didn’t wear suits and ties.

Royal Arch degree: If the props are used, it’s a really cool degree. If the slide show is used instead of the props, it can be a snoozer, squandering the cool, interactive nature of this degree. Actually, I can toss in the Most Excellent Master degree (its predecessor in the Capitular degrees) with the same qualifications.

18th and 30th degrees of the Scottish Rite: I’ve seen them only once, and from what I remember, they were pretty neat. One of these days I’ll find the time to watch them again.

Of the degrees I have not received, I’ve heard that the Orders of the Knights Templar are the most memorable of all Blue Lodge/York Rite/Scottish Rite degrees. I’ve told these Brothers of what I thought on the above degrees, and they say the Orders blow these out of the water. And to be fair, not all of them know that I’m a member of the Chapter and the Council but NOT the Commandry, so it’s not like they’re playing it up to talk me into finishing the York Rite.

Expand full comment

My favorite degree is not for my pleasure, but for the candidate, I believe it should be the 1st Degree in Masonry. It opens and initates them into the fraternity and it should be a special night and should be performed with only one canidate. It's his night and should not be deminished in any form. It is his first step in Masonry.

Ok, now my personal favorite Degree , to perform and direct is the Scottish Rite 25th. It's not particularly long, but provides the moral lesson with some good wholesome fun.

Expand full comment

My personal favorite is the Fellowcraft Degree and in particular the Middle Chamber Lecture. I was fortunate to have VWB Cary Cope presenting it. He made it seem like an educational walk with a friend explaining everything you were seeing for the first time.

That Degree was also the first time I had been in a different Lodge than my own due to maintenance. I was able to meet many Brothers at Monroe Lodge 160 and had the opportunity to see a different location. That alone makes me want to travel and see more.

Expand full comment

My favorite is the Royal Arch degree in the York Rite. This is a very historical degree, discovering the lost word and speaking it. This degree is extremely elaborate and very fun to rehearse to boot.

My next is the Fellowcraft and the lecture, there is something to learn every time I help perform and I wonder why the things I learned were fugitive from me for so long!

Expand full comment

I have several "favorites." The EA Degree is my favorite because that's where we get to make a lasting impression on the new candidate. The FC is my favorite because of the wonderful imagery and story of the Winding Stairs lecture. The MM is my favorite because of the allegory of "rebirth," and the drama involved (when done well).

Expand full comment