24 Comments
Aug 17, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

After my discharge from the Air Force in 1974, I went to work for General Dynamics (Stromberg-Carlson Div.) My manager noticed my Masonic ring and invited my to the company's next Square Club meeting. The Square Club had monthly meetings after work, and two cookouts during summer. It was a great way to meet other employees (men only). In my group of forty-eight engineers there was only one women engineer (the glass ceiling was still bulletproof). The company began shutting down operations about a year later, ending the Square Club due to layoffs. It would be against the law to organize a Square Club today given that women employees wouldn't qualify for membership. And states like Mississippi, Arkansas, South Carolina and West Virginia would have a problem as their respective Grand Lodges do not recognize Prince Hall freemasons.

Expand full comment

Isn't the widows sons considered a masonic club?

Expand full comment

I would be interested in a SAILING Club!

Expand full comment
Aug 17, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I think Masonry is about to undergo a restructuring, brought on by changing social structures, diminishing memberships and resources and the impact of electronic media. Smaller Lodges are, I feel a good thing, but to survive they will need to be composed of men who are closely bonded and committed to the Lodge’s survival. This is hard to do with a small group using the ‘department store’ model of interests. Smaller topically focused Lodges may be the way forward, Lodges that are based around a similar interest beyond Masonry.

Clubs would be a good transition to a new model. A Masonic club, let’s say focused on fishing. Masons sharing the experience of fishing, in the context of being Masons. The shared interest would provide fellowship opportunities that would nicely balance the dry business meetings. That shared interest could even mitigate some of the stresses common in Lodge, that can become problematic when there are no distractions.

Social media and the internet would make it easy to find such groups. Eventually these clubs could evolve into lodges. Its really that simple.

Expand full comment

I remember a sign up list at an Annual Grand Lodge session for ham radio licensed brothers to sign and list their call sign. I thought at the time that there might be an effort to form a "club" or at least a net to check in and have a round table discussion on one of the bands. I have not seen anything since. We have at least four that I know of here in District 12 who are licensed hams, men I regularly associate with and three of us are members of our local ham club.

Expand full comment

I know of at least 2 Masonic Clubs in Washington; the Sons of Hiram Riding Club with several chapters and the Goose and Gridiron #0 that meets in Auburn, WA.

The SOHRC requested and received "official approval" from the then Grand Master to use the Square and Compasses as part of it's logo and it was founded on and continues to do their best, at least in the recent past, to maintain the strict "Riding Club" mentality and not only encourage true Masonic tennents, but also to down-play the "1% MC" rationale that many riders seem to want to foster. That was some of the issues that caused bad PR for the Widows Sons and we've had WS members switch and join SOHRC as it better aligns with their understanding of FreeMasonry.

The resolution that I presented at the Washington Annual Communication was intended to offer a path for "official recognition" if a Club chose to do so. However, it was ruled out of order before it was even allowed to be considered by the memberhip as "the idea of Clubs is not align with the Landmarks of Freemasonry".

One of my thoughts of creating the resolution and allowing a formalized path for recognition, was to provide a pathway for my other resolution that was ruled out of order regarding Lodge Proficiency, or the inspection of a Lodge's ability to maintain their Charter. If that Lodge Proficiency resolution were in place, then the Masonic Clubs resolution could provide a tiered step down for a Lodge that wasn't able to maintain it's proficiency and still wanted to stay 'together' as a Club. They wouldn't hold a Charter and so would not be allowed to "make Masons" however they could do almost everything else a Lodge can do, except that.

The Lodge Charter and dispensation process is clear, however the perpetual authorization of a Lodge to 'conduct it' s work' should be reviewed on a regular basis. The idea of formally recognized Clubs would allow a group of Masons that gather, the opportunity to 'upgrade' to a Lodge through the Charter process and also allow a gentle step down for a Lodge that doesn't meet proficiency. As the Charter was forfeited and not arrested, there is a path for renewal and if the Lodge becomes a Club and that Club renews and wants to re-establish itself as a Lodge, it should be allowed to renew it's Charter, or apply for a new Charter if the Club was not associated with a Lodge previously. Let the flogging begin! :)

Expand full comment

Hey, I'm part of the Emeth club. To me, this is a great Madonic experience. I love to read and learn new things as well as share what I have learned along the way. I've learned far more about Masonry, on my own with reading, than I have even come close to in a lodge. A big eye opener for me was when I was enrolled in Shawn Eyers online class. From there I started my travels reading more old Masonic Manuscripts. The history is so fascinating, i became a little upset that the lodges i had attended never even mentioned these before. I waited patiently for years that someone along the way would explain things too me, and reveal the secrets. This never happened. Like they say, if you ever want to keep a secret, write it in a book.

Expand full comment

I wish Square Clubs were more common. We had some that were3 company specific back in the day (WWI era and slightly later). I myself run a "Downtown Square Club" started by Grand Master Williamson some years back, and we get Brothers from both jurisdictions (mainstream and Prince Hall).

Expand full comment