13 Comments
Aug 3, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

A scotch nosing is a fine event. I went to one in Ottawa in 1991 and have enjoyed single malts since. It’s a treat to compare them with friends.

It’s a great idea to hold events at a Lodge. My neighbor isn’t a Mason (yet!) but he’d love to join us.

We don’t have to start with the Islays, but we have to include them!

Expand full comment
Aug 3, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I don’t remember exactly when it was that I started enjoying scotch. I do remember the first time I tried it. I was just out of high school and had some Cutty Sark. It was pure kerosene. I’ve been fortunate to have been able to travel to Scotland a couple time and visit several different distilleries and taste some very good whisky.

A Lodge in my district holds a Robert Burns night in February and is a great event. They usually have 5-6 different scotches to drink and raffle off a couple of bottles. Poetry is shared and a faux haggis is served. It’s a fantastic night of fellowship and fun.

The idea of a scotch club or cigar club would be a great way to fellowship and have some fun education.

Expand full comment
Aug 3, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

scotch tasting would be a excellent way for the Brothers to assemble and spend time outside a regular Lodge meeting. I would especially enjoy if we could also have a nice cigar to go along with the fine scotch!! Masonic education while gathered would be a huge plus!!

Expand full comment
Aug 3, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Thank you for the link to "An Introduction to Scotch". Very fine summary and primer. I've been a single malt taster for many years and will do so for Life. When I was at university, the cheap blends made us think we were real scotch drinkers. Of course, not so much! Once I discovered single malts, what an education! The possibility of starting a Lodge scotch tasting club is a great one and I hope to do so in my home Lodge and maybe in the Lodges in my District. Once again, thanks for the great education.

Expand full comment
author

Many years ago, I hosted a Tequila tasting event and class at my home as a small fundraiser for the Lodge.

I guess that I've spent so many years in Mexico over the decades that I've gotten to know tequila exceptionally well, but much like Scotch, people try the cheap stuff (or even the expensive stuff that is really cheap stuff just with better marketing in the US) and decide that they don't like tequila.

Excellent tequila is nothing like cheap tequila, but one has to be taught to know what to look for when buying the stuff.

Given the success of that little event though, I have got to believe that similar events featuring good scotch would be wildly successful.

On a funny little side note, truly exceptional Mezcal (no, not the stuff with a worm in the bottle, that is just a dumb thing they do to get tourists to buy cheap firewater) has a mighty similar flavor profile to many scotches. I've always wanted to share some with my scotch loving friends for I think they would find it quite surprising, but alas, one can't get truly exceptional Mezcal in the U.S., it's not even very easy to get within Mexico, except in fine restaurants in Mexico City.

Perhaps someday we shall have to go to CDMX together, have some exceptional Mezcal and pork chops in the Opera Bar.

Expand full comment
Aug 4, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Hmm. An organized scotch nosing or tequila tasting, where participants can learn what to look for and how to appreciate them… combined with a Masonic book club discussion on which books (articles, podcasts etc) one should pursue next, and how to appreciate them…

Expand full comment

As with our MWGM, my first introduction to scotch was not a favorable one. I thought it tasted like medicine, and refused offers of it from that point on. I think it was Chivas Regal or Johnny Walker. Supposedly great Whiskies, but total crap in my opinion.

Then I finally tried one that wasn't like those more well known brands. The Macallan. OMG, that stuff is perfect. I generally drink bourbon and ryes, but I will occasionally treat myself to a decent bottle of 12 year old Macallan when I'm in a festive mood.

As a side historical note, South Korean President Park Chung Hee was assassinated in 1979. It was discovered that he drank Chivas Regal, a black market alcohol (only alcohol made in South Korea was allowed to be sold, thus, it was quite a bit of a scandal when this came to light). The popularity of Chivas Regal skyrocketed after that, and the black market was soon doing quite brisk sales of the stuff. It wasn't until the 1990s when alcohol laws were liberalized, and western styles of booze became more widespread.

But as I said, I think Chivas is garbage, but there's no accounting for taste.

Expand full comment