17 Comments
Mar 22, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

What was a problem of the Craft in 1875 has sadly only become more evident in our current times. Like the stones that were hewed, squared and numbered offsite in the quarries where they were raised and the trees that were felled and prepared offsite in the forests of Lebanon in the building of King Solomon's Temple, READING is the preparation that should be undertaken offsite in Speculative Masonry.

Expand full comment
Mar 22, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Grandview has a list of resources for the new MM to read, but these focus on the WMC, the Lodge Officers Handbook, PiLM, etc.

Is there a structured or suggested reading list to help the new MM with the meat and potatoes of the Craft?

Expand full comment
Mar 22, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I am guilty in my failure to read and educate myself to the level Of being an educated Mason. Education, regardless what it is in, expands a man’s knowledge and thus his responses to different situations. Much of my training and experiences in my career taught me patience and wisdom which has certainly transferred into my Masonic walk. I believe very strongly that if a person isn’t moving forward then they are falling behind. There is no stasis in life. Manito Lodge in Spokane started a book club, which is something we are discussing at Kennewick. There’s no need to re-invent the wheel, the lodge can provide a structured interaction and start with books that are easier to read and understand and then move toward other readings. Again, this would be an excellent use of a “Zoom” platform where bookclubs could be formed and be attended throughout the jurisdiction.

Expand full comment

I think this article discusses two issues. Yes, one is lack of education, either formally through lodge discussions and lectures, or through self study. But another issue he raises is titles and rank. It's one that I find just as troublesome as the first. I've had an older brother chastise me for not addressing them by their title (this was outside of lodge, at dinner). Is that title so important to you that you'll berate a brother over it? I gladly call anyone brother, after all, we're all on the level. And when I am discussing things formally, I will address them as decorum suggests.

I find this attitude most prevalent amongst veterans, especially ones that define their life through their service. There is nothing wrong with that, to each his own. But within the confines of our brotherhood, I find it rather off-putting to have attitudes of that nature. There is of course, the famous example of President Truman going into his home lodge, and his attitude towards titles and rank. It just seems that there are some brothers too hung up on the titles they have achieved and not the friendships they have formed.

And circling back towards education - the "library" in most lodges is the least visited space in the entire building. I put an extra copy of Observing the Craft in the cabinet, and two brothers in three years even bothered to read it. It sat at one brothers house for over a year untouched. Our lodge ordered the set of short talk bulletins, huge volumes of masonic literature all gathering dust. I've used them as inspirational topics for educational discussions in lodge, and another brother I know who championed their ordering has perused them. That's it. There is a virtual treasure trove sitting in our library wasted.

Finally, there is the old adage of having 10 years experience, or one years experience ten times. If you're not actively trying to grow in knowledge, then you're missing the point and not helping the craft grow overall. Just reading isn't enough. From one of my favorite movies:

Otto West: Apes don't read philosophy.

Wanda: Yes they do, Otto. They just don't understand it.

Expand full comment

I want to expand a little bit on the Short Talk Bulletins I mentioned in my previous post. The website is here: https://msana.com/short-talk-bulletins/

The short talk bulletins are simply small couple pages articles compiled and printed monthly on various masonic topics. Brent Morris (Freemasonry for Dummies) has gathered bundles of articles and published them in a series of books chronologically, starting in 1923. Currently there are six volumes, covering up to 2017. I am not sure if you can still get copies, they all say they are out of stock. Unfortunately, as with everything else, they probably will just sit unused. What was funny, my lodge approved the purchase of the books by unanimous vote and yet...

Expand full comment
Mar 22, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

This goes along with the standards set forth to advance in degrees. If the standards are low, men will rise in degrees without the full experience. I propose that each degree have a reading list of several full books that a candidate must present a report on at least three. Give a summary of what the books talked about, how it relates to the degree ritual, and what they personally found most compelling about what they learned. These reports to be given as an educational program to the brethren at large in a formal environment.

Expand full comment
Mar 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Might I start the reading list by suggesting all newly initiated entered apprentices consider "the Timaeus" a Socrates dialogue penned by Plato.

Expand full comment