9 Comments
Oct 7, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I had wanted to go, but work conspired to bring me to Ohio instead. I am fully planning on attending next year.

Expand full comment

Well, for me, most of the topics, while interesting and well presented I'm sure (I didn't attend) just didn't really relate to esoteric discussion. Astrology doesn't really interest me at all and a presentation on co-masonry is the last thing I want to hear about. If the conference bills itself as an esoteric masonry conference, then it should focus topics on that.

I'm sure it was a fun and informative conference, don't get me wrong and I do appreciate the work the guys at esoterika lodge (and others) do.

Expand full comment

What did you loved about it: The diversity in subjects and seeing Masonry through different lenses. Ken and the that devil dude, have been doing this for a while and I have enjoyed each year, and its a needed niche to fill; so glad they give their own time to put these events together.

Challenges or things that could be improved: My biggest grip in any lodge setting is sitting on a pew for any long length of time, particularly having to look sideways the whole time. If the presenters are going to be presenting on Zoom, I’d rather be sitting on my cushioned chair at home. Also it would be nice to not be rushed with breaks or lunch time. It was enough to try to figure out where to eat and quickly get there and back. Lastly, as unpopular as it may make me, I think there should not be any hard alcohol offered at these events or lodge premises (I don't think the antients intended that as the 'spirits' we should conjure). This could encourage some to drink too much and when it does it affects others. Contrary to some drinker’s belief, it does not make one wiser or funnier.

Is there any specific topic that you would really like to see: I would like to see Gnosticism (Johannites) in Freemasonry, by scholars such as Tobias Churton.

Expand full comment
Oct 7, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

If you were able to attend this year, what did you love about it, and what do you want to see more of?

First, I loved that it happened at all, and I appreciate the effort of those who put it on. I enjoyed the presentations and I loved seeing my fellow Masonic esotericist. Second I would say the presentations of Brothers Duquette and Lamb were my favorite, based on topic. Brother Wallace’s presentation of the Middle Chamber Program was likely the most important.

Did you encounter any challenges or things that could be improved?

As I don’t live in Seattle, the only real challenge was getting there. To that end, there is one thing that I would love to see. There was some talk, on the side lines that indicated it was possible. That is merging this conference with the esoteric book fair and occult conference normally held in Sept, but which has been absent since covid. There are several ways I can see it being done, and for the out of town person, combining them would be GREAT and it would save me hundreds of dollars, which I would likely spend on books!

If you didn’t attend, what could the organizers do to convince you to attend next year?

N/A

If you are a leader of your Lodge, it is likely that at least a handful of your Lodge members are interested in the esoteric side of Masonry. How could the organizers help you notify your members about the conference?

It’s all about getting the word out. More advertising, maybe a presentation that could go on circuit. Also maybe setting up a block of hotel rooms?

Is there any specific topic that you would really like to see included in the presentations?

A panel on why there is not an enduring esoteric tradition in most jurisdictions, with so many Masons interested, why is it a perennial challenge.

A presentation on the various esoteric orders derived from Masonry or formed by Masons.

A panel with several esotericists discussing a magical life, what is it like to live a magical life. In line with DuQuette’s “ My Life With Spirits”.

Expand full comment