9 Comments
Jul 12, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

In order to appeal to younger men we must first show that our lodges are alive and kicking. We must then figure out how to connect with them. There are those brothers among us that possess differing skill sets and passions that could allow for interactions. Coaching, teaching and volunteering gets us out of our buildings and into our communities and neighborhoods.

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Well as a 28-year-old Mason I see the gap between the older generation my generation me and My mentor have had extensive conversations about it as well, I know without a doubt that if we want to reach my generation we need to have a bigger digital presence. I'm talking about websites that don't look ancient, social media pages that are updated regularly and have posts going on about public events or news or anything obviously non esoteric. If we had somebody running social media and focusing on it for a lodge I will guarantee you a huge increase in interest. The other part of it as well I know is finally starting to change but the lack of masonic education in meetings is actually a huge deterrent to my generation because we are excited about the craft we want to learn we want to experience those lessons alongside our brothers we don't want to sit in a business meeting once a month not that we have to do away with that stuff just that we have to add education. I also believe that more public events in the community would make a huge impact even something as simple as a barbecue and Hangout me personally I'm involved with a couple car clubs in my area questions by people in the clubs about it so maybe put on a car show at a lodge with a barbecue or something like that. Then you can post it on your website and put a link to that event on your Facebook page which directs them to the website to see the event so now you have traffic on your website and on Facebook and seeing the event all at once I firmly believe the power of social media is the lifeline that is needed to reach my generation.

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I grew up in a small town in Eastern Washington and now live in a medium sized city. I am hard pressed to see the difference in appeal due to the urban and rural locations. The same issues appear to both and dealt with or not dealt with accordingly. To appeal to a younger group lodge work does not change and is not altered but its the before and after that makes a huge difference. Our lodge is looking hard and experimenting with the festive board following lodge. We are surrounded by restaurants within walking distance. We make arrangements to meet at one after lodge and last week I watched as half of the lodge slipped away without joining us to celebrate bringing two new men into Masonry. Its a lot of work making arrangements at the restaurant, giving them some idea of how many will arrive and at about what time. The easy thing would be to just go into the lodge dining room after our meetings but we have done that for years and in talking to other lodges meeting outside the lodge seems to have a great appeal to particularly the younger group. Its a work in progress and whatever the outcome worth a try.

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Every year my Lodge hands out free water (in bottles) during the rodeo parade. This year we were a really big hit with the high temperatures but my side point is this after the water distribution two young college-age men approached me and asked about the Lodge. They told us that they were in a fraternity at the University and that started a very interesting conversation. We also took them on a tour of our Lodge room and answered as many questions as we could. We also invited them back to our dinner prior to our monthly stated meeting and told them to bring as many of their fraternity brothers as they wanted. We are planning on exploring other opportunities to mix and mingle with the University fraternities. Not all Lodges have this opportunity in their community but what about seeking out a DeMolay chapter, boys clubs, boy scouts and other volunteer opportunities (those boys are going to grow up sometime).

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Us GOGs (Grumpy Old Guys) need to stir ourselves out of our Barcalounger comfort zones and actually talk *with*, not *at* the younger men. Find out what interests them, what they like to do, what their ideas are. Chris Heck's idea of having a car show and BBQ at the Lodge sounds wonderful! Great summertime activity! Make it on a Friday evening or Saturday, and have some music playing. (People always want to investigate what the noise is.) And fancy cars usually attract men. Advertise well in advance--last minute throw-togethers seldom work as planned.

Just my thoughts...

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Like Chris said, digital presence is huge. They also need to quickly talk to someone. The lodge I joined the craft was lucky to have a full time secretary. He was in his office every day. I had 3 calls with him; 2 chats with him; and then I accepted a dinner invitation, and took my petition home.

I know most lodges don't have the ability to have that. But if he hadn't been there, my interest might have faded. I know when I was coming to WA, getting ahold of the local lodges was a challenge. That was made worse due to covid. The grand lodge gave me a number to a WM of a lodge, but ended up being his wives number. I tried 3 times, and thankfully she gave it to him on the last go. If she hadn't, I would have felt put off, and I dont know if I would have made the masonic connections I already have made in just over 1 month.

Long story short. Be available, both in person, and online. Quickly reply to requests for information. And once you have the younger generation, keep them both engaged and entertained.

Expand full comment