7 Comments
Aug 9, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

When things became serious with my now wife, I took the time to explain to her the apron and what a masonic funeral was. I hope I have many years til it comes up again, but we don't know when we will be called.

Doesn't a legal will detail what happens with personal property anyways?

Expand full comment
Aug 9, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I have shown all my Masonic belongings to my children (who are now adults), and have told them what I want done with them. A simple one-page addition to my will takes care of this. Pins, coins, aprons, books, anything Masonic is all accounted for. Simple!

Expand full comment
author

I have considered this further over the past couple of days. I think that the document should contain three parts:

1. Do I want a Masonic funeral, what form of Masonic funeral (Blue Lodge, Rose Croix, KT) who to contact to get this done?

2. Who should receive my Masonic 'stuff' that the family doesn't want. How do I contact them?

3. What stuff do I have in my house that belongs to the Lodge, and how does it get back to the Lodge?

I'm thinking about #3 because a great many Lodge Secretaries take things home, and I've heard situations whereby Lodges had a hard time getting those records back.

Expand full comment