17 Comments

I regularly visit other lodges around the two districts close by, as well as occasionally others in the jurisdiction. I do it just to either visit friends, support new WMs, or see how other lodges do things. Even within the jurisdiction its interesting how varied each lodges customs can be, mainly in the little things. Not every lodge follows the same traditions, or even the rules.

But my home lodge is what my focus is going to be.

Unless you like paying dues and assessments, I don’t see the need to join other lodges, even if you are a regular visitor there. The only reason I see to join another lodge like that is if you intend to step into the line, and a lodge that needs that kind of support has probably bigger issues. If you moved away from your old lodge and can’t attend it anymore, but don’t want to abandon it completely by demitting or transferring life memberships, that’s different.

But brothers do what they want of course. Just my opinion.

Expand full comment

I haven't eaten a meal at home since I joined. Between the York Rite Functions, Allied Masonic Degrees, Blue Lodge functions, Various associated appendant bodies etc. Travel is half the fun, especially as a group. Our York Rite Group Travels almost bi monthly some where in the state. This weekend was Honors Weekend. We participated the honorary degrees for service in the York rite. Ive traveled a multitude of times to Washington and have always found a welcoming group there in Myrtle, Redmond and others. especially in that WM. Bill Werner. Who was always as eager to meet and talk as I was to visit. Traveling man, that is what I am. That said, You have to memorize the tyler's oath so you can teach it to the brothers you visit so that they can examine you properly. LOL

Expand full comment
Jun 21, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I would regularly visit a couple of lodges in my former city, for same reasons as listed. See friends, make new ones, and see how they do things. Now that I am in Washington, I am planning on visiting as many of the lodges as I possibly can, and as often as I can.

Expand full comment
Jun 21, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

For quite a while, I was just a member of my home Lodge in Tenino. But I did indeed visit most of the Lodges in District 17 from time to time, some more often than others. I was a regular at Centralia Lodge, since I lived only a couple miles away, but that brings me up to one of the visitation sticking points:

A few of those old Past Masters in Centralia were grumbling that I should join their Lodge if I visit them so much, implying that I’m being cheap by not paying their dues, but participating in their labors. I didn’t take it too personally, but I also got a little stubborn and kept doing what I was doing – I kept visiting the Lodge and not joining it. That changed when the Lodge offered to purchase a Life Membership should I wish to join the Lodge. I did, I was elected, and they indeed purchase a life membership, with one stipulation, set by the Master of the Lodge, that I pay for a quarter of it, so I had a financial interest in it and wouldn’t stop attending the Lodge now that I’m a member. While I thought the concept was silly, I did make the contribution. The Lodge immediately appointed me to the Temple Board, where I was voted Chairman, a position I held for about 5 years. I’m still on the Board today as a trustee.

Chehalis Lodge No. 28 did something similar, the chief difference was the Brethren themselves paid for my life membership. Which was also very humbling. Like Centralia, once I was elected, I was promptly appointed to their Building Association, where I was elected Secretary. Since Chehalis sold their building, I no longer have that position, but I’m still the Lodge’s Senior Deacon.

Like Glenn mentioned, I feel no need to join several Lodges, unless I plan to get more involved with them. In fact, if Centralia and Chehalis lodge hadn’t approached me on purchasing a life membership if I joined, I’d probably still be only a member of Tenino to this day. Right now, I’m a member of the three Lodges, one of them will be merging into a Daylight Lodge, which will be meeting during my work hours. And that’s fine! I think their move will greatly benefit their Lodge, and Freemasonry in Southwest Washington. But I have indeed visited, and it appears my visiting will greatly increase in the coming months. And believe me, I’m looking forward to it!

Expand full comment
Jun 21, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I am not a traveler but I do see the merits of visiting other lodges. In the past Family and work have limited me to my own blue lodge. I am now retired and have increased my work to my own lodge where a lot of work needs to be done. For me its a time thing and the need to work with my own lodge.

Expand full comment
Jun 21, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I am a member of two lodges in my District, and that's enough for me. I visit other lodges and Masonic bodies when I can, but really don't want to be a "Super Mason," who has badges and decals all over the back of his car.

Expand full comment

I formed a habit early of first asking the Worshipful Master if he needed a Station or Place filled when visiting a Lodge and more often than not I found there was a vacancy. Being able to do the ritual of every chair is a result of closely listening and at home study. It has brought me much satisfaction with being able to work with a complete "new" set of Brothers over time and often I came away with some useful bit of learning. I also made it a point to pay wages to the Worshipful Master after the meeting was done for work well done. Something I try to remember to do even in my own Lodges.

Expand full comment