20 Comments
Jan 11, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I would like to travel more, but right now that is not an option to me. I still have a full time job and a yearly leave balance. Some of my time outside of work right now gets divided between my son with DeeMolay, family responsibilities, and sleep. This next year is going to be even less of a travel year for me once I start my Masters Degree. After that I would like to travel more to other lodges to start and then once I am fully retired and do not have to worry about a leave balance I may start traveling to the other events around the nation and in Canada, but for now I will travel in my own way through the pictures that get posted to social media by other brothers.

Expand full comment
Jan 11, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Traveling is a Master Masons obligation. Obligation to themselves to seek further light and an obligation to carry our traditions across boarders.

I have been to the Esoterica in Freemasonry conference before. It was enjoyable and enlightening.

I can only speak for me. I would love to travel on the level more but it always comes down to the cost.

I know I personally am focused on attending the next Masonic Restoration Foundation Conference. I believe in the Observant Lodge experience as defined. I have never experienced it personally. Lodges in my jurisdiction attempt it by hosting table lodges ect., but to get dressed up to the 9's and walk the walk of our Ancients is an experience i want to be a part of before i pass on this earthly plane.

Traveling as a Mason is a must. My 2c.

Expand full comment

The furthest i've traveled was singapore. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to attend due to unforeseen circumstances. I've attended some Chapter meetings in london, Mark masters hall for the order of the silver trowel and visited several brothers abroad. That said, Redmond, Kirkland and Myrtle lodge were always most welcoming to me from NC!

Expand full comment

I haven't purposely traveled to another jurisdiction to visit a lodge or event. I did visit a lodge once while on vacation, but it was happenstance, not a focus of the trip.

All of my traveling has been simply within the local area, visiting lodges within a few hours of my home. I'd guess I've been to a couple dozen lodges total.

Traveling is a luxury that I have to be very choosy about how I spend my time and money on. Frankly, I'd rather expend those resources on visiting my granddaughter down in Sacramento as I only get to see her and my daughter 1-2 times a year. As Caleb mentioned, working full time also makes vacation a finite amount of time to use. I've often said, freemasonry is more of a retired man's game.

As much as I love masonry, I am also a member of several other groups that take time outside of work and relationships. While this leads to a very healthy social life, it also divides up that pie just a bit more.

Now that the covid restrictions have been loosened up I'd like to go visit my brothers up in BC, as well as relatives there. I understand that is a great treat to be able to see wildly different ritual work, even within the same area. Maybe I'll set aside some time this summer to do a road trip, riding my scooter up there would be amazing for the scenery alone.

Expand full comment
Jan 11, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I would travel quite a distance for a Masonic experience that I was interested in, but that would not just be a Lodge meeting. That said, when I travel, I may well visit a Local Lodge as a traveling brother.

Expand full comment

I believe travel is a responsibility of every master mason who has the time and money. The original stone masons were travelers due to their occupation. It is what differentiated them from other masonic groups. We should do it as part of our tradition as well as education.

I have travelled to local, Canadian and just recently returned from a trip to Scotland where we attended 4 stated meetings and 5 get togethers with companions. Absolutely fabulous! I highly recommend visiting as it strengthens our brotherhood as well as broaden the mind.

Expand full comment
Jan 11, 2023·edited Jan 12, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

If time and money permitted, I'd travel the globe for a great masonic experience. As others have said, PTO disposable income, and time are factors. I have younger kids, so I always balance that out, is this event worth an evening (or weekend) away from my family.

My family is supportive and my wife enjoys the quiet with me out of the house. But every now and then, the kids ask if I'll be home before Bed and I decide that visiting another lodge for a stated meeting isn't quite worth it after all.

Expand full comment
Jan 12, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I would love to do all of those things. But being a two income household with a 5 year old child means I need to really take the lesson of the 24 inch gauge to heart. My wife is very forgiving of the asks I make on behalf of Freemasonry so I have to budget time wisely if I want to keep the balance of work, life, and masonry. I considered accompanying you all to the SR Reunion, but the travel costs, time off of work, and asking my family to accommodate my absence is likely not in the cards right now. There’s so much even in my own jurisdiction I don’t get to do that I’d like to. Perhaps in the years to come

Expand full comment