10 Comments
Jul 6, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I think it’s always incumbent on us to tip when receiving 1) good service from 2) someone working in an industry where tipping is standard (such as restaurant waitstaff). Waitstaff at a restaurant usually makes less than minimum wage, so they really do live on tips.

Expand full comment

I think your more broader question is "reflecting on the fraternity as a whole". I don't necessarily agree with the sentiment. Most Americans A) don't know who we are and B) don't care. The few people that would make any comment already have a dim view of the fraternity, or they are people I wouldn't care how they felt. As the saying goes, you can't please everyone. I think my feelings come from my time in the military, where this sentiment of "reflecting poorly on the military" attitude really rubbed me the wrong way. As an American, I have my rights to express myself how I want. In the military we gave up so many of our constitutional rights, rights we've sworn to protect. In my opinion, because we have so many military members within the fraternity, that attitude bleeds over into our craft. I see those same rights being eroded, or trying to erode, today. Not just in lodge, but society as a whole. Freedom of speech and freedom of assembly, to name a few, are being stripped away due to the current culture. We're becoming a society of mob rule.

Expand full comment
Jul 6, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

As a group we are recognized, individually probably not. I find our group is not a group of big tippers. Too bad as I do think that reflects on us as a generous or not so generous group. The people serving us depend on tips and may divide it up as they wish as the service given depends on the backup people as well as the front person. I must admit that I find it hard to reach into my pocket but still as I look at those serving us I am moved at their hard work and need especially during the past year. I am also moved by my own good fortune to be a Mason and to have resources to tip and try to meet 20% especially when service is good. Yes, we should hold back some when the service is not so good which is rare but thats what the tip is all about.

Expand full comment
author

The reason that I brought this question forward is because as mentioned, I am currently at a very major Masonic event.

On arriving in town, Melinda and I were starving, so we found a nearby steakhouse to catch an early dinner. The place was packed. Packed with Masons, every darn one of us covered in Masonic stuff.

We had an excellent meal, at an extremely fair price, and despite the fact they were having to run around like crazy people to take care of the completely packed house, I thought that the service was quite good.

I left 20%.

Thing was, as we were leaving, the waitress tracked us down, took me aside, and thanked me for the tip. She said that it was the largest tip she had received all day.

To my mind, that isn't good. A restaurant full of Masons, each of which paid thousands of dollars to make the trip, and I was the only guy to hit 20%? Frankly, I think it makes us, as a group, look tired, and look cheap. Neither of which are attractive.

Additionally, as was mentioned by Glenn, Texas is a Tip Credit State, so the minimum wage for restaurant servers is $2.13 per hour. Honestly, those of us who can afford to travel across the country for a Fraternal meeting can afford the 15 or 20% tip so that the waitress can make a living.

Expand full comment
Jul 7, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I personally try to be generous about tipping. I think as Masons we ought to be a cut above when it comes to how we treat our fellow man, regardless of their occupation. So, to me it is about more than the tip - it is about how we treat that that server who may be having a difficult evening because of pain in the neck guests who are perhaps rude and demanding. As Masons, we ought to walk in their shoes a bit, and hopefully not be that pain in the neck group of guests. Certainly we ought to be receiving good service too. But I also think it is worth considering why we as a society split the wage burden for some occupations between the employer and the customer. The origins and practice of tipping in the US and Europe before that are worth exploring - I encourage people to look into it. Stepping back, however, tipping a politician or police officer might be considered bribery, whereas tipping a waiter is expected. Should doctors, teachers, nurses, lawyers, engineers, pilots, or architect rely on tips for their income? Of course not - nobody would stand for it, yet we expect to have to tip people in those occupations akin to being a servant. As customers of the hospitality industry we are expected to individually judge our servants and determine directly what is just with respect to compensation - this isn't the case in other professions or occupations.

Expand full comment