3 Comments
Sep 23, 2022·edited Sep 23, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

A few years back I came across the following:

Watch your thoughts, they become words.

Watch your words, they become actions.

Watch your actions they become habits.

Watch your habits, they become your character

Watch your character, it becomes your destiny.

Even if this is just one of those catchy things that bounces around the internet it sure worked on me. I've been watching my thoughts ever since.

Expand full comment
Sep 23, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

MWB sometimes I think you we should host a retreat, so we can explore these topics with the time and space they deserve. Once again this is a huge topic. One of the things that humans have, among all of creation, is the ability to think about thinking. This extraordinary ability is the most magical phenomenon you will ever experience, once you truly experience it.

Consider, your entire experience of life, the world, the universe, the computer or phone you are looking at, the chair you are sitting in, everything you experience is a simulation. The only thing you experience directly is your mind! Doubtful? What you see is the result off photons reflecting off or emitted by an object, those photons stimulate specialized cells in the eye, that send a simple binary signal to the brain (0,1). Those simple signals are then interpreted by the brain and converted into an image. That image does not capture everything about that object, just those parts that can be sensed by photons in the visible range. That image is then presented to your mind in a way that is VERY magical. Where is that image in your brain? Can you cut a brain open and see some small screen, no. In this question, I think is nested something incredibly important, and easily missed. If you see the image that your brain creates, then that is a dichotomy, you and your brain are NOT the same thing. In some eastern traditions the brain is not the seat of consciousness, but rather a sense organ. My experiences through meditation would lead me to agree.

Now back to the question at hand. OK, so you might say, “that is all well and good, but the world I sense is real and concrete.” To which I would answer, “is it?” I’m sure many of you have had the experience of expecting to see something, seeing it, and latter discovering what you had seen was colored by your expectation or other biases and was not actually what you saw. In my home town there was a bridge I crossed every day going to work. On one side was a sign that said “ Free Russian Jewelry”. I often wondered what that was all about, but I never stopped. One night at a party the subject of that sign came up, and may of my friends had seen it and we were all discussing it, thinking it was a scam. I noticed one of my friends was laughing and shaking his head. He said, “you idiots, it says Free “Russian Jewry”, it’s a call to help Jews in Russia!” Well, I was sure I had seen that sign correctly, as were all of my friends and in a democracy of perception that was what it said, but the next time I drove by I looked at the sign and saw, in fact, we were wrong! It said “Jewry”. My mind was more prepared to see jewelry and every day that is what I saw, until I was enlightened. After that i saw Jewry. I’m sure others have similar experiences. So, what’s my point? Our minds, or thoughts and our biases contribute to the simulation of the world we see. There isn’t much that is more powerful than our thoughts! I haven’t even touched on pathologies like hallucinations!

So, as men who seek to make the world better, in a very REAL sense, we can make it better by simply being better. Our thoughts contribute to the world we perceive and we act accordingly to the world we perceive. Any legacy we might leave behind is powerfully affected by our thoughts, and that being the case we MUST work on ourselves, examining our preconceived notions, biases, expectations and motivations if we want to affect the world positively. Otherwise, we co-create a dark world, more akin to a dystopian world, that reflects our own dark side, more than the world as it is.

Expand full comment

Bro John Gebhat, I love what you shared. That's very true and straightforward. To know your thought, it is a step to "know yourself." Hence the Greek word for soul is psyche. Likewise, the Roman's called it Anima, which is well explained by Carl Jung. I have written on this subject further and can be found at https://truthprevails.life/topics/f/shadow-self#af04c0a1-9c42-4c63-a2f6-98a8744c60e4

Expand full comment