7 Comments
Oct 28, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I'm off to Wenatchee to complete the York Rite this weekend. Very much looking forward to it.

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I am already in Wenatchee and look forward to seeing you both tomorrow.

Expand full comment

So… here’s my take on the York Rite.

I joined 13 years after I received my 3 Lodge degrees, and to be honest, I wished I had taken the Royal Arch degrees earlier. The ceremonies and ritual answer many questions raised by our regular Blue Lodge ritual, as well as the MM drama. You can tell these degrees belong together, and it’s too bad their administrations aren’t more closely linked, at least in the United States. The same applies to the Royal & Select Masters, as their ritual is also linked to the MM drama and the Royal Arch degree.

Think of the Royal Arch degrees as a “Sequel” to the MM drama, and the Royal & Select Master degrees as a “Prequel” to the MM drama.

In my Lodge in Centralia, WA, we have all the props needed to put on all four of the Capitular Degrees in full form. We succeeded in pulling off conferring the Royal Arch degree in full form a few years ago, and not only the candidates were impressed, so were those of us who participated in the conferral. Unfortunately, when I received the degrees myself in 2009, I heard good ritual, but the Journey was a slide show. To be fair, that Lodge room wasn’t conducive to doing a Royal Arch degree properly, but Centralia’s is, and I’m sure there’s other Lodge rooms in our Jurisdiction that are equipped to perform this degree.

There is a LOT of potential for the Royal Arch and Royal & Select Master degree systems. If you are a student of the Masonic Ritual, if you are looking for a Masonic Experience like the Brethren of the 18th Century experienced, and if you’re looking to extend your understanding of Freemasonry, I strongly suggest petitioning your local Chapter and getting at least the Royal Arch Degrees. Council is also a good idea.

Notice I’ve not mentioned anything concerning the Commandry. I’ll leave that to the Sir Knights, since I’m not a member.

And I have no problem with the Scottish Rite Degrees, but I think getting the Royal Arch and Council Degrees will give you a better understanding and make the Scottish Rite Degrees more understandable and more rewarding. I joined the Scottish Rite 10 years before the York Rite, and I wish I had done it the other way around.

Either way, I still think joining the Royal Arch and the Royal & Select Masters to be a worthwhile venture.

Expand full comment

Sheds more light on the blue lodge myth. There is more emphasis on the 'three wise men' of the Old Testament, not just Solomon. The "King" of Tyre, meaning wise, and master. Abif (Abi) means father as a title for a wise man; also the only master mason. The latter are Phoenicians, who come from the East, who taught the man from the West. Not just the building of Solomons Temple, but the with the first man of the West; Adam. See the 1696, Leland -Lock Manuscript: "Its origin is said to have been with the first men of the East, who were before the Man of the West, by which Mr. Locke, in his

note, says is meant Pre-Adamites, the "Man of the West" being Adam. The Phoenicians, who first came from the East into Phoenicia, are said to have brought it westwardly by the way of the Red and Mediterranean seas."

Think about that for a second!

Expand full comment