44 Comments
Apr 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

No.

I don't know

N/A

N/A

N/A

I don't even know where I can either one or how to go about joining. Is it like blue lodge where I have to ask?

Expand full comment

I joined the Scottish Rite about a year after I was raised, but only because they were offering a discount on the fees. I enjoyed the degrees enough.

But attending the meetings were just more of the same of blue lodge. Talking about money. Passing around the almoners box. Getting asked to join even more parts (KSA) which meant spending even more money for what I perceived as the dish washer society while wearing a kilt, even though I am not Scottish. I still belong, I still pay my dues, but haven’t had the urge to go back to meetings. The biggest hindrance is that they hold their meetings on the same night as my blue lodges practice nights, and blue lodge comes first. I’ve been too busy going through the chairs in my home lodge and supporting that failing lodge that eventually merged with us to get involved elsewhere. I had always thought that once the lodge didn’t need me to fulfill a function in the meetings that I would find something else to fill my time. But, covid.

Now, the Scottish Rite valley I belong to does offer the master craftsman course, outside of the meetings, which is something that I am interested in, but this past year has put a damper on that as well.

Expand full comment
Apr 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Happy Friday!! I pray you and yours are well and in good spirits.

I’m one of those brothers that joined everything straight out the gate, York Rite, Scottish Rite, National Sojourners and Shrine.

I joined for the fellowship since the brothers in my Lodge belong to one or more of them; however, I quickly learned that I bit off more than I can chew and couldn’t give as much time as I wanted because my focus was on Silverdale Lodge and my journey to the East. I still belong to all of them and I’m active in Scottish Rite and Shrine.

My advice to a new Master Mason is to focus on their blue lodge, learn the ritual, become an officer and confer the degrees and not be so quick to join other bodies of Masonry. As time goes on and they’ve learned how to divest their time and are proficient in their blue lodge, they can and should seek further light.

Expand full comment
Apr 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I think if you want to join the Rites, you should do it for the right (pun intended) reasons. Personally, I find that additional education helps explain the things they don't teach you at the Lodge (Blue Lodge) level. I am a member of the Scottish Rite. I have gone through the Master Craftsman program and am currently in the College of the Consistory. It is a fascinating journey of ideas, theology, philosophy, and history that gives context to everythting you learn in the first three degrees. The Rites are a next-level reflection of your Masonic Lodge. Some people join because it adds to their universe of friends. Others may join because of the philanthropic opportunities that may supplement what you do in the Blue Lodge. Being a member of the Scottish Rite is a refreshing opportunity to grow in knowledge, spirituality and personal growth.

Expand full comment
Apr 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Yes, Scottish Rite. I joined the Scottish Rite because I was told it was the University of Masonry. Upon entry I was impressed by the degrees, and was very excited to learn more about the symbols and interpretations of the degrees, but more than that I hoped the work of the Rite would explore those degrees. For the most of my time in the Rite meetings have been very similar to Blue Lodge meetings. The additional education did not come. Resources are available for those self motivated to seek it, and there are brothers who share that motivation. Would I advise a MM to join? Depends on the MM. If he is going to explore the Rite and is self motivated, then yes. If not, then no. I think he should wait until he has been in the Blue Lodge long enough to master its ritual, and serve his Lodge before he moves on.

Expand full comment

Scottish Rite KCCH 21 years. Best for further light and education. Don't regret one little bit....

Expand full comment
Apr 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

After I became a MM I was approached by several brothers who explained Scottish Rite was the University of Masonry. I was wanting to learn as much as I could about Masonry so I joined. I really liked meeting new brothers from the other lodges that made up the Valley. I enjoyed the degrees (what I could understand of them) and I received my cap, patent and copy of Morals and Dogma. I continued attending and enjoying the the different events such as Rose Croix. I never asked why certain things were done, such as the placement of your hand when speaking, but learned to mimic. After a year or so the brother that was the SW in the Lodge of Perfection became ill and I was asked to sit in his chair, which I gladly did. The next year I was installed as the VM. I wasn’t ready for that, but fulfilled the duties as best I could. After my year as VM, I began being disillusioned and my attendance dropped off. I didn’t attend the meeting when officers were selected and I was chosen to be the leader without so much as a phone call. This happened again the following year and I submitted my demit. I realize that you only get out what you put in, but I never experienced any “higher education” in Masonry. I was encouraged to complete the Master Craftsman program and was about half way through when I remitted. The focus seemed to be solely on initiating new members and doing more degrees. If I could do it over, I probably wouldn’t have joined Scottish Rite. I would never discourage a brother who was interested in joining but also wouldn’t say it was something it wasn’t, at least for me.

Expand full comment
Apr 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I joined Scottish Rite about 30+ years ago, but couldn't make all the meetings, and was transferred around the country. I was also inactive in Blue Lodge for many years until 2012, when I came back to Lodge and started to get active. VERY active! Since then, I have come back to active status in Scottish Rite, and have started to work my way through the Master Craftsman course. I enjoy the self-study, find it to be rewarding and stimulating, tickling my desire to learn more.

I would recommend that the newly-Raised Master Mason wait for at least a year before reaching out to other Rites. I have seen far too many Brothers rush to join ALL the concordant and appendant bodies, only to be disappointed, lose interest, and leave.

My plan is to become as proficient as I can in Blue Lodge, while studying Scottish Rite to learn even more about Masonry. I always enjoy the fellowship and opportunities for further knowledge, and as an officiant, enjoy making the rites of Blue Lodge as enjoyable and meaningful as I am able.

Expand full comment

I belong to the Scottish Rite and was a member of all York Rte bodies. I am now only member of Royal Arch. I left the other two chapters as they were depressing to me (low attendance, poor ritual, no fun)

I find in one of my blue lodges the same depressing meetings.

My other blue Lodges are very satisfing with one focusing on research being great.

I focus mainly on the Scottish Rite as it meets my need for friendship, education, special events and of course the beautifuul degrees (when presented well). It also is beeter opportunity to get involved in Lodge activities.

I certainly do advise/recommend Masons to join Scottish Rite.

Expand full comment
Apr 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I joined the Scottish Rite about 20 years ago, as the Valley voted on my membership and elected me, and informed me that I was elected. There were about 6 of us who went through all the degrees in one day. Like mentioned throughout this thread, the ritual was excellent, but getting all of them in one day was a little much. I now know that the Valley spreads them out over the course of half a year, which is much better. As Glenn noted, Blue Lodge is the priority, and Chehalis Lodge met the same night as the Olympia Valley. So I haven’t been to a meeting in several years, but I still pay my dues. I get the Scottish Rite Journal and I do read it.

At the time I joined, the meetings were short; there was a little education, but the meetings were incredibly short. The Almoner came around every meeting, and the members would all stuff $20 bills in it, which was WAY out of my league. I got worried, but even more so when a Brother sitting next to me said, “Don’t worry, they can afford it.” Well, that’s nice. I couldn’t. I felt out of place by that time, and that also helped me focus on Chehalis Lodge, of which I wasn’t a member at that time. That renewed focus is likely what prompted the Lodge to purchase a Life membership for me several years later.

York Rite. I joined through some flim-flamming by a well-known Brother at the time, who took 5 of us, and told each of us that the other 4 were also joining. It worked, as the Centralia York Rite was moribund at the time, and the Commandry had recently had its Charter pulled for lack of membership. The 5 new members woke that Chapter and Council up, and we were having fun with the props and learning the ritual. Many of the new members joined the Commandry in Tacoma or Montesano, and eventually, the Montesano York Rite merged into Centralia, giving Centralia all 3 Bodies as well as some financial security. I am currently the Excellent High Priest of the Chapter, and presided over the Council in 2012.

The advantage of the York Rite is the close relationship is has with the Craft Degrees (Blue Lodge.) Even Albert Pike makes such references in Morals and Dogma. So if you really are a student of our Master Mason ritual, you’ll want to get at least the Royal Arch degree. It gives you a MUCH better understanding of the Blue Lodge degrees. And the Council of Royal & Select Masters gives a better understanding of the Royal Arch degree, furthering your education. The Royal Arch has the Children’s Heart Foundation, and the Council of R&SM has the medical research philanthropy, which is great.

The chief problem with the York Rite is the regular meetings. Most of our education has to be specific to our ritual, as most Masonic Education can be presented at a Blue Lodge meeting. That being said, one of our members has been taking the York Rite equivalent of the Master Craftsman course; it’s called Companion Adept of the Temple. He’s been sharing the questions with us, and it’s been providing valuable education that had been somewhat lacking in years past. The meetings are actually becoming fun! There is hope for the York Rite, and if you have time, I encourage you to consider joining the York Rite.

But all this being said, and as much as I’d like to see both Concordant Bodies gain membership, I do advise, to the new Master Mason, to focus on the Blue Lodge for a few years. Learn how the ritual works, the meaning behind it. Do some research. Attend some Masonic Education presentations in your Lodge and neighboring Lodges. If you join the Concordant bodies too early, the ritual will not have the meaning that it is intended to have, because you haven’t had the time to truly understand what it’s based on. It’s kind of like being sure you know your arithmetic and algebra well before attempting to learn Trigonometry and Calculus. I believe if the leadership of these two concordant bodies take this route, they would have better membership retention.

Bottom line: Both of these concordant bodies are worth joining. IF you take the time and get familiar with your Blue Lodge and what it offers first.

Expand full comment
Apr 24, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I have absolutely no interest in either York Rite or Scottish Rite. I am just too busy doing what I am doing right now....and plan on backing off on my involvement as I am approaching retirement and travel is a HUGE part of my retirement plans.

For awhile I was disappointed in not being "asked" to join either rite.....but now am glad I never was....I managed to fill in my time with the 3 groups I am presently involved with

Expand full comment
Apr 25, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Right now I am on hold as a Royal Arch Mason. From this vantage point it seems to me there is too much advancement without proficiency in the proceeding degree. I want to self impose a restraint on myself until I feel I have a better understanding of the Royal Arch Degree before I move on to Council. Perhaps I am misreading what I have witnessed but is seems to me those who would be mentoring me advanced before understanding and thereby have little to teach me.

I also can't see doing this advance for the sake of advancement in Scottish Rite until I have gone as far as I want in York Rite first.

Expand full comment