16 Comments
Feb 15·edited Feb 15Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

New York just brought back the Harris (closing) charge, and I love giving it.

Our Prince Hall Brethren have always had both the Opening and Closing charges.

Expand full comment
author

Agreed. The Closing Charge is my favorite bit of work to perform.

Expand full comment
Feb 15Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

It’s a beautiful passage. I didn’t know it until your post. Thanks for introducing me to it.

I say yes, let’s adopt it.

It’s a proper counterpart to our closing charge.

Expand full comment
author

Next time you come to Doric, you'll be able to see it in action!

Expand full comment
Feb 15Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I also didn’t know of an opening charge and like the idea of an opening charge to remind me of the important work to be done. As the closing charge readies the mind for the external world so the opening charge would ready the mind within the lodge. My opinion is that it should come after the flag ceremony.

Expand full comment
author

That's how I've always seen our closing Charge too. As a transition from sacred to profane space. I think that an opening Charge could serve the same function quite well.

Expand full comment
Feb 15Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

(Joking) They probably stopped using an opening charge because of how it would smack in the face of just how non masonic our meetings had become.

Thanks to you, and the Magpie Mason, for bringing this up. I've printed it up and stuck it in my apron case for future use.

Expand full comment
author

I am curious as to how it will be received when I add it back in at my Lodge.

Expand full comment
Feb 21Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I asked the WM to read it after opening the lodge, followed by my Masonic education. The opening charge was well received, and apparently the lodge was aware of it from a couple years ago when it was first brought up. It’s nice to have a lodge that is willing to be more open minded about these things. Only then will masonry get back to its roots.

Expand full comment
author

That's great to know! And I certainly agree, it's good to be a part of a Lodge open to improving the experience.

Expand full comment
Feb 15Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

So much has been lost, either through games of Telephone throughout the decades and centuries, or through a desire to make meetings take less time. Many of these things not only should be added back into the ritual, but absolutely call to be added back. Our brothers may be better reminded of how they should act toward one another in a business meeting if the Opening Charge were observed and attention paid. Our brothers might be better reminded of how to govern their conduct out of the Lodge if the Closing Charge were included.

I'd say add them back in.

But I'm one very imperfect Ashlar.

Expand full comment
author

I think you are undoubtedly correct, much has been lost or changed due to the "Telephone game." I've seen this for certain by sitting in Lodges of neighboring Jurisdictions to my own, and catching little differences that were clearly just a misunderstanding very early on.

Expand full comment

That's quite interesting, no Lodge in Nova Scotia that I've visited, or Berlin, Mumbai, Oslo, Stockholm, London, Glasgow or others, have had a flag related charge. The ritual for Craft Lodges (not English Emulation) in Nova Scotia comes from the Grand Lodge of Massachusettes, from which we gained our Charter in the early 1800's. At Annual Installations we sing Oh Canada and now, God Save the King (Queen before). But there is no charge either at opening or closing. Only for degrees or installing officers. I do like your closing charge though.

Expand full comment
author

I have not looked up the history of the adoption of the optional flag ritual into our work, but my hunch is that it was probably added back in a time of war or a time of fear of war.

Expand full comment
Feb 21Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I would suspect that it was probably around the same time that “In God We Trust” and “One Nation, Under God” were adopted.

Expand full comment
author

I've decided to bring this back in Doric Lodge for the remainder of my time as Worshipful Master. Doing so after the Lodge is Open is not a violation of my Jurisdiction's prohibition on modifying the Standard Work, and I think it is more fitting to Freemasonry than the optional work that it will replace.

Expand full comment