11 Comments
Jan 25Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Here in Arkansas we also use the “lodge aprons” extensively. Depending on the lodge you go to the quality varies greatly. Each one of our MMs is given a White apron but most keep it in the container at home so as to keep it clean.

A couple of years ago after we had a lodge merge with us we had the “great apron purge” and got rid of any that were stained, had short or uneven ties etc. So it’s odd for me to go from my “country lodge” to a a “city lodge” and find we have better aprons.

Craddock, from The Craftsman’s Apron, has a very interesting presentation on aprons and their history.

Expand full comment
Jan 25Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

“Each one of our MMs is given a White apron but most keep it in the container at home so as to keep it clean.”

This is what I was told when I joined back in 1996, and as such, the Apron was put away, and now I can’t find it, although I know it’s in my house somewhere. Likely in one of my closets.

And therein lies the next problem. If I passed away tomorrow, nobody in my family would be able to find my Apron before I was interred, since they wouldn’t know where to look, and then my Apron, once found, would wind up in our Jurisdiction’s Apron Memorial. This happens more often than it should.

I am uncertain where the “tradition” of stashing your White Apron in its tube until you pass, so your family can put it with your remains, started, but I like the idea of wearing it so it looks worn by the time you do pass is a much better idea. I think it’d be neat to see a 50-year award presentation to a Brother who’s been active for 50 years, wearing his Apron that appears well-taken care of, but is indeed showing signs of wear. Much better than an Apron that still smells new and has a permanent upwards curl from being in its tube for many years, kind of like a Masonic Dilbert.

Expand full comment
Jan 25Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

May its pure and spotless surface….

That’s how the tradition of storing away your white leather apron came about and wearing those natty stained wrinkled cloth aprons instead.

When I was raised to the sublime degree of a master mason, I went and purchased a master mason apron that I used while traveling until I got my PM apron. The apron looks similar to our officer aprons, but has the square and compasses in the middle instead of an officers jewel. It wasn’t too expensive, and looks nice. I’d love to get a custom designed leather apron, but they are not cheap.

https://www.craftsmansapron.com

Expand full comment
Jan 25Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I know I’m preaching to the Choir on this one, but a “Pure and Spotless Surface” on a garment that never sees daylight for decades doesn’t show good symbolism; it’s symbolic of a life that might appear perfect and flawless because the person didn’t do anything in his life. No risk. No growth. No accomplishments. Just the same place in life that the person was at when they became an adult, even though they might now be in their 70’s. That’s not something we want to portray to our members.

This conversation is giving me incentive to renew my search for my Apron, which probably smells exactly the same as the brand new ones I bring to my Lodges for the new members.

Well, I suppose the good news is that moths aren’t really into chewing vinyl…

Expand full comment
Jan 25Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I was surprised when my initiation *described* a fine apron but *actually* gave me vinyl. Unfortunately that turned out to be an accurate indicator.

Expand full comment

Interesting. I, of course am not a Freemason but a saying comes to mind which I paraphrase now. It goes something like this…the way we treat material thing is a direct reflection of our relationship to God.

Expand full comment
Jan 25Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

One of my many disappointments in my lodge experience. Mine didnt even give me a vinyl one. They used a vinyl one for the ceremony but I had to give it back. I strongly believe the initiation and degree fees should cover the cost not just of a quality lambskin apron, but also the working tools of the degree. Gauge, gavel, level, Plumb, square, compass, and trowel.

I also think nice clean masonic pajamas should be part of initiation fees. A Masonic tunic and trousers is virtually identical to a Tai chi uniform and suppliers of such things can put embroidery or screen printing on them of the lodge.

Cheap masonry is zombie masonry. It's dead weight that doesn't know it is already dead. Young men worth having want a life changing transformative experience. It shouldn't only be able to be found in major metropolitan areas. Grand lodge needs to set standards.

Expand full comment
Jan 25Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I keep my original apron in my Past Master case and I wear it at funerals. It’s kept flat and it gets used. I prefer it over cloth aprons for the exact same reason as this article. I earned it. It’s leather and it looks beautiful. Plus it’s in public. I always want to look good as a Mason in public. Everyone sees me. They see us! Appearance matters. I make sure I’m wearing a proper outfit for the occasion and that I wear my apron at my waist. I can’t stand to see an apron worn below a big belly. It’s meant to be worn at your natural waist and tied on the left side so as not to look like you’ve got the tassels as your manhood. If the strings are too short, get longer ones or lose some weight. And never cover your apron with a jacket or below it. It looks slovenly. I do know that some Grand Lodge’s allow jackets to be worn over an apron, but it looks weird to me. I hope I haven’t offended anyone, but it’s my considered opinion after 41 years in Masonry.

Expand full comment
Jan 26Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I think it is a brilliant idea to wear the actual apron you were raised in. Pis not the issue because as you said the initiate pays the cost and he can surely afford it.

I visited a lodge in Tennessee and donned my PM apron and I was the only one wearing one. All of the members of the lodge except sitting officers wore the lodge's aprons.

Expand full comment
Jan 29Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I can understand how grand jurisdictions abandoned the decorative aprons, with their ways of tying them and ornaments to signify rank. In NC I found a article written about it. I'll see if I can find it again. The thought behind the codification of plain white aprons was to ensure that everyone was perceived as equal, on the level, no classes of masons.

Now that said, I cannot find what year in NC that they codified the aprons. it appears to have existed in the early 1800s from what I can tell.

This said, A clean and up to date lodge room, clean men, wearing their aprons, also clean shows a pride in our craft. This attitude by transitive property should bleed into our masonry. A fraternity already suffering from lackadaisical attitudes and apathy is one that forgets itself. One can see how this has pervaded our society by simply walking in public to see people wearing pajamas, and crocs while shopping, going to school, or church. Showing a complete absence of care for appearances seems to be a growing trend, or I'm getting older and grumpier. While I can't say the 2 are related, it sure feels this way. Lackadaisicalness and apathy are killing our beautiful craft, lets act as if we are building a temple to our creator and do our best and be our best.

Expand full comment
author

I don't think that you are getting grumpier as you are getting older. As kids the thought of ever wearing pajamas to school would have never even crossed our minds. And, frankly, if we did, our peers would have quite likely made certain, through unmerciful reaction, that we never did it a second time.

Yet I see kids and teenagers doing just that today.

I actually mentioned this to a Brother who works in the schools recently. He said that it is against the rules, but when challenged the kids claim that the pajamas are some kind of work out clothes, so the school does nothing.

But yeah, ultimately, clean clothing, clean Aprons, and clean Temples communicate pride in Freemasonry. Anything less communicates something much different.

Expand full comment