11 Comments

I used to keep a running list of "firsts" on FB, but it seems FB has decided to remove the section where I kept it. I had when I was entered, passed, raised and proficient. I had every chair I've filled the first time. My PILM date. When I received my Hiram Award. I listed the dates when I conferred my first EA, FC and MM degrees. Of course, Grandview has most of it (except for that last bits) now.

Why keep it? Vanity I suppose? I am proud of what I've accomplished in a relatively short period of time, but to quote Linkin Park, in the end it doesn't really matter. What does matter is "did I positively impact someone's life in my journey?" Hopefully the positives outweigh the negatives.

Expand full comment
May 5, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

No. I'm proud of my Masonic achievements, but I more proud of what they did to me, the ways they changed me. I want to be judged for who I am, rather than the group I am a member of. If my plan was to run for elected office outside of my Lodge, then I would have a Masonic CV to share with those who needed to evaluate my credentials to lead, or if I chose to be a Masonic speaker I would have one so people could evaluate my qualifications to speak on a subject. Since none of these things are on my horizon, no I don't keep a Masonic CV. If I need one in the future the high points of my career are captured on Grandview and with the AASR database.

Expand full comment
author

I too have not kept a Masonic resume, but now that I know they are a thing, I imagine that I'll likely start doing so. Especially for interesting side degrees and the like, so that when I'm an old fellow I can look back, see the reference, and spark good memories.

Things like the Proficiency in Lodge Management certificates and the like are stored in my copy of the Standard Work. I always figured I should hold on to things like that, in case I ever need to show that I actually did it.

More personal things, such as who Installed me as WM of my Lodge, I've written all of them down in one of my copies of Morals and Dogma. I see those notes from time to time, and it helps me to remember Brothers who are no longer with us, or who I see much less often now. With the passing of time, those notes have become quite valuable to me.

Expand full comment
May 5, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I regret to say that I haven't kept a Masonic résumé. I didn't think I'd ever require one, so I never kept one. I know the dates of my EA, FC, and MM only because they are written on the flap of my Apron. Like Glenn Geiss said, I'm proud of what I have accomplished, but I have a tendency not to rest on my laurels. At my age, I'm too old to consider making myself available for the Grand Line, mainly because it wouldn't be fair to the Brethren to have "an old man in his dotage" as Grand Master, if I ever got that far.

Yes, I have conferred all three Degrees, served in several positions as an officer of the Lodge, served on committees, and have been Master of my Home Lodge. I even served a term as Deputy of the Grand Master, much to my surprise and honor!

What matters most to me is helping others on their journey--pointing out interesting things to discover, helping study for return of proficiency, and being able to answer questions about our beloved Craft.

Expand full comment

Thank you brothers for discussing this. I my self have found it necessary as you travel, or are being considered for side degrees, I'm always asked when i served this and that. Those who have joined English appendant bodies, etc will find they are asked when they Received HRA. We had a brother die here a few years ago and I got a copy of his masonic resume and was astonished at the places he had been, done and saw. As a historian researching J ray Shute II I found his masonic bible was full of dates and offices. With out those my research would have been harder. So with that I say its not vanity to keep record of your travel. Its utilitarian for your self and some guy trying to piece together a history of the lodge 50 to 100 years from now.

Expand full comment
May 6, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I admit to kinda disliking the idea of a Masonic resume. In some ways it seems to compromise the principle of the level for starters, and it evokes the idea of a "Masonic Career". Were it possible to show the ways we've improved ourselves or advanced the causes of the institutions, this would be worthy. But title accumulation is an anti-goal, yet a goal the resume seems to drive nonetheless.

In an institution which seeks to pride itself on personal relationships, the "resume" seems particularly awkward. Resumes are for when you're trying to get a job, and when people *don't* know your background. Working ourselves into Masonic jobs might not be the optimal goal orientation, and if we cultivate personal relationships, then they do know us and don't need a resume for the purpose.

This is not to say that Masonry doesn't need administrators. It very much does. My point is simply that institutions tend to get what they inculcate and incentivize; and I'd hope for an institution which places more focus on personal improvement & meaningful local lodge experiences than a translated notion of careerism.

I have a professional resume and that's enough.

Expand full comment