10 Comments
May 16, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I was raised in a Lodge that considered itself dry. However, we had a few member/brothers that came to the meetings tipsy. They were good masons but very unaccommodating in lodge discussions, angry, etc. I always wondered what the message in the JW lines meant. I visited other Lodges that had very similar situations. I wonder about the rule if indeed it is a holdover from prohibition? Earliest lodge meetings had to be well attended with drunks since the lodge halls were often above bars.

Expand full comment

I've only noticed the older lodge members being against alcohol in the building. One member even went so far as to declare that if we start drinking in the building, he'd quit. We did but he didn't. In his case, I was told he had quit drinking a long time ago and was very anti-booze.

I think with the younger masons coming in, socialized drinking is going to follow, even if it's going out to a bar after the meetings.

As far as the JW responsibilities, I think it's every brother's duty to look after each other, and if someone gets drunk then anyone should be able to make arrangements for an uber, or some way of getting home safely. Honestly, in my few years as a mason, I've never seen anyone get drunk at any events, I think everyone is pretty mindful of overindulgence.

And I'm certain these rules against alcohol in lodges came out of prohibition and the temperance movement. In other words, wives.

Expand full comment
May 16, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

To quote from the Louisiana Handbook of Masonic Law

“The use in any Masonic Hall, or our Grand Lodge Hall, of any spirituous, vinous or malt liquors by any constituent Lodge is hereby prohibited, and no constituent Lodge shall permit the use thereof in any Masonic Hall of this Grand Jurisdiction, or our Grand Lodge Hall, or in any room or any building occupied by or under the control of any such Lodges, provided that this shall not affect space that may be leased out for commercial purposes.”

And

“Un-Masonic conduct emanating from the use of alcoholic beverages in Lodge meetings, parades, or public places.” — was added to the definition of unmasonic conduct in 1983

Very much still a dry jurisdiction, and in fact the words referenced in the Junior Warden ritual here in Washington do not exist in the ritual in Louisiana.

Expand full comment
May 17, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I consider myself very lucky as JW of our lodge. We don't have Stewards to prepare meals so I do it with my wonderful lady. It was my goal to provide the best homestyle meals because I believed it would increase attendance and promote brotherhood as we break bread together.

Along that line I enjoy a beverage with dinner. I wanted to provide options for all of our Brothers and guests. Temperance was a consideration in my planning but being busy in the kitchen preparing meals wouldn't afford me the time to monitor the group. I know some were against having as much as I put out on the table. Beer, wine and even three types of liquor. I do make rounds to check on things throughout the meal though.

I believe that the effort I put forth and the meals provided was met with respect and due temperance. I know that should one of our guests or Brothers go a little too far and need to be reigned in or sent home in an Uber that I would have full support of the officers and Brothers of my lodge. Perhaps there are those that would take it too far. I am lucky that my lodge hasn't had that issue in the time I've been attending.

That said, it is my responsibility to organize our Table Lodge this June. I hope the same due restraint is present then as it has been so far this year. I have the utmost confidence in my Brethren.

Expand full comment
May 19, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Sorry to be late, I was busy this week. I have attended lodges where alcohol was offered. Some were pleasant, some uncomfortable due to over drinking. I think like most gatherings, the boundaries must be known. I think the gathering must be apprised, particularly if visitors are present, that the Junior Warden is overseeing the gathering and he will excuse anyone he deems is not keeping control of themselves. Unfortunately many officers are not aware of this duty.

Expand full comment