14 Comments
Sep 29, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Andrew Hammer, in “Observing the Craft,” argues rather sternly that side degrees detract and distract from the Craft.

I don’t think he means his way is the One True Craft. He doesn’t say Thou Shalt Not

His argument is more this.

If you’re an artist, why explore abstract or avant garde styles before you’re competent with composition and color? If you’re a martial artist, why explore fancy pants techniques when you haven’t grasped what the basics are trying to teach you?

Why chase shiny baubles over there when you have real treasures in your hands?

(I’m not necessarily agreeing with his arguments but I do think they’re worth wrestling with).

Expand full comment

Side degrees are ok, if the brother isn't finding what he's seeking out of his blue lodge. I belong to the SR, but I haven't attended a meeting in years, as they had conflicted with my blue lodge activities, and I valued my blue lodge experience over attending SR events.

But the SR has it's own issues, at least in my point of view. I think it's too hung up on fund raising for it's own charity that it's just a different version of the Shriners. I think they have also fallen into the same trap that the blue lodges have, that the rituals and degrees are all that matter education wise inside lodge. Everything else seems to be about raising money. I could be mistaken, it's been a long time since I attended a meeting. It's true that they have educational programs outside of the lodge, such as the Master Craftsman program.

Fun degrees are just that, fun degrees, also geared towards raising money for lodges. Nothing wrong with that and isn't conflicting with a blue lodge's duties to it's members. I've attended a number of different ones, and they are all entertaining in their own ways. Some more than others.

Expand full comment

I for one, can’t imagine why some never move beyond the blue lodge. I’ve enjoyed learning the path of Freemasonry and its rich histories. I was fortunate enough to have been mentored by a well informed and very intelligent brother when I began Free-Masonry. He has passed away since, but just to emphasize what an important man he was, the lodge devoted the its name after him (Marvin A. Armstrong Lodge #187). Some of the conversations we had intrigued me to look beyond the surface and investigate what's going on in and around the degree work. Some things aren’t what they appear, but reveals itself through the higher degrees and of course contemplation.

Most who have been through York right, notice right away there is no linear story line, as it circles back like one looking for misplaced keys. To me this indicates life if not linear, but circumambulates a journey within, searching for its meanings. In the Blue Lodge a candidate is in search of the word, but does not yet find it - but is given a substitute word - while learning gnosis from the ancients along the way. The search continues through York Rite and ties in with the order of Rosicrucians.

For anyone looking for recommended books that point to things around the degree work I would mention Kebra Negast (emphasis with the legacy of Solomon), History of the Dionysian Artificers, written by Hippolyto Joseph da Costa (emphasis on Hiram who designed the Temple, and the Phoenicians).

For further history to the degrees of Masonry, I would highly recommend the works of Martinez de Pasqually, Louis-Claude de Saint Martin, and Jean-Baptiste Willermoz. These guys implemented degrees into Masonry which were given permission by Prince Charles Edward Stuart. The higher degrees were influenced by Cabbala, Hermetic and Gnosticism; called the Order of Knight-Masons Elect Priest of the Universe, or simply Elect Priests. The doctrine embodied a particular view concerning the Fall of Man and of all animated things belonging to the material order; it looked for the restoration of all, and on man as the divinely appointed agent of that great work to come. The High Priest were listed as from the bloodline of Seth which are said to include Melchizedek, Abraham, Elias, Enoch, Hiram Abiff, Jesus Christ, and at last, a nom de plume, “Christian Rosencrantz”. -Martinez de Pasqually, Treatise on the Reintegration of Beings, 1775

The allegorical description by alchemist and Rosicrucian; Daniel Mogling, is the implication of the Masonic ritual of Hiram Abiff; the Temple is the universe, its adepts are the wise men of all ages, its disciplines, those who practice the seven virtues. Life is therefore the school of the Holy Ghost. All sincere truth seekers are searching for the House of Universal Wisdom, and those who discover the true meaning of the “great work” become pillars of the Everlasting House and “go no more out.”

Lastly, if you get to the studies of Rosicrucian and the New Atlantis (America), about the time Speculative Masonry began, you may want to check out Francis Bacon (Elias Artista).

Expand full comment
Sep 29, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

My journey was to mirror image what my Father did…

Blue Lodge, SR and the Shrine.

I did all three.

After (10) years I have concentrated on Blue Lodge and in mentoring (12) Men, emphasized during our months together contributing to Making Men better FIRST and reminding them of our 8-8-8 of time and filling in on outside activities to supplement their own education to make them stronger mentors.

If you do it right, Blue Lodge should remain a commitment.

Expand full comment
Sep 29, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Please take it from one who has sampled nearly everything available in the mainstream of American Freemasonry:

All you need is Royal Arch.

Jay

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Has the development of ‘High Degrees’ been good for Freemasonry, or harmful to it? Yes & Yes! Different Strokes for different Folks! Can a 5 watt light bulb handle a Kilo watt charge? No! Can a Kilo watt bulb handle a 5 watt charge? Yes! It depends on the individual… With my very limited knowledge and experience in Masonry, I can subjectively share that many Brothers get placed or elected into Lodge positions, Temple boards and other Masonic boards and organizations and are not qualified to hold those positions. That especially and foremost includes me, in most instances.

It is my understanding that WA GL is under the York Rite Jurisdiction, Please correct me if I am in error. In my experience of being a York Rite Mason, a Brother Mason has to be recommended and investigated before he is invited to join the so called higher degrees, Orders or Colleges. Lately I have become more curious about the SR and thinking about learning what I have to do to join?

I agree with what Brother Clayton stated. Anyone that promotes (forces) their personal belief system on anyone does not understand Masonry. Brother Warren’s comments are deep and rich with Sofia. It is my personal belief that anytime any Masonic organization focuses most of it’s time on raising money more than studying and living Masonry, is headed away from Masonry.

It is my belief that Masonry is like the Horn of Plenty, a symbol of abundance and nourishment. You get to choose what and how much to consume or avoid.

Expand full comment