9 Comments
Jul 2, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Keeping in mind the wording of the obligations, I vote against a petition for affiliation if I'm aware of instances where the petitioner hasn't kept the obligation.

Illegitimate reasons (at least the ones I'm most concerned about because there are real examples) include the petitioner's ethnicity, religion, sexuality, political viewpoint, or profession.

I think affiliates get held to a different, but not lesser, standard. Non-masons haven't been obligated, so in this regard, petitioners get held to a HIGHER standard. Existing master masons who have been through the degrees have a participation track record, so they have a lower standard in that nobody's concerned with their ability/willingness to do the ritual work, or whether they may be active, that tends to not be a concern that ever comes up.

But n.b. as I'm taught, basically I never vote against anyone. Should such a situation arise where I would, I would whisper good council and ask leadership to perhaps reconsider the vote to avoid creating embarrassment or spectacle for anyone. If that doesn't work I have to also consider the option of being too busy to attend the stated that day. I view voting against a petition as a bit of a nuclear option reserved for instances where a lot of previous process has somehow failed.

Expand full comment

Honestly in a time of consolidation I have seen whole lodges reject consolidating with another lodge. Many times the failed lodge has become toxic and the other does not want to introduce those problems to itself.

Expand full comment
Jul 2, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Bro. Robert, While I've not had the situation of voting for a lodge consolidation, I have had years of experience in business acquisitions, and I can report that your concerns and observations about importing a toxic culture is all too often highly legitimate.

Those actions which brought that lodge to failure are too often caused by the people who, for whatever reason, made bad decisions and then refused to make corrections to those bad decisions. In particular I'm thinking of narcissistic personality disorders. Those personality disorders are often coupled with foolish financial decisions.

We then come to the question of a petitioner in whom we discover a deception or fatal flaw. I would hope that the necessary due diligence on a petitioner would be done, and thus the embarrassment to both the lodge and to the individual avoided. Sometime that due diligence requires careful observation and gentle probing. Apart from criminal background checks is the need to watch for hidden agenda, and for emotional or mental health issues.

Unfortunately, because of the mystique surrounding our fraternity, we attract some whose emotional health is not sound. In my experience such people want to become Masons because they have erroneous, or fantastical beliefs of Masonry. Some of us may have met the types who believed they knew we were going to take over the world and he wanted in.

Another situation occurred when an individual revealed that he wanted to be a Mason because we had contacts who could benefit him both politically and financially.

While I would not reject a petitioner because their political, or spiritual, beliefs differed from mine, I would be highly reserved and concerned over a person who expressed a desire to become a Mason for reasons of political activism.

Our public breakfasts are excellent tools for screening, and screening out, individuals who would be poor match for Masonry. We ask that an individual come to at least three breakfasts before we consider a petition. Breakfasts commonly last at least an hour and a half. This means we have an opportunity to spend a minimum of 4 1/2 hours with an individual before moving forward. We also invite spouses and families so that we are able to observe interactions.

Expand full comment
Jul 2, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

To cast a black cube when voting for an affiliate petition because of a brother’s race, religion, political beliefs, etc isn’t a legitimate reason if that brother is in good standing. However, whether it’s a new candidate or a brother seeking affiliation, everyone comes with some kind of baggage and it’s the investigating committee’s responsibility to complete a thorough investigation and give a complete report back to the lodge. I personally would look at a brother’s social media to see what is posted and how that might impact my lodge. Far too often I’ve seen a toxic person leave a trail of discontent as they’ve moved from one police agency to another because the hiring agency wouldn’t do a thorough background check or conversely, wouldn’t terminate an employee and allow them to leave to another agency. We must recognize that we’re not a social club and as we might not be a good fit for a new candidate, the same holds for a brother seeking affiliation.

Expand full comment
Jul 2, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

As a Mason, we only want to see the good in people; we want to be optimistic; we want to be trusting. But as recent news reminds us, there are cowans and eavesdroppers looking for ways to infiltrate our long-standing fraternity as well as all other organizations seeking to do good. Financial crimes that involved Lodges in our jurisdiction prove that notion. And because I have no life, I am also involved in Scouting. I’m a proud Dad to have an Eagle Scout. I have been a Scout leader teaching kids to do their best with honor and truth. And yet, I am reminded by today’s news there is a settlement in the case of abuse filed against the organization. I am reminded of the fact that Ted Bundy was once an Eagle Scout. So, brothers, we do need to be careful and vet only those honest souls who really want to join us in this life’s journey of honor and intellect. As a certain politician once said, “trust but verify.”

Expand full comment
Jul 2, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

For me, an illegitimate reason to "Black Cube" a petitioner for affiliation is because the Brother has a grudge against the petitioner. "Vote for the good of Masonry" is much more than a trite phrase. It is an admonition and a reminder to consider the "whole man," when casting our ballot. If the petitioner isn't well-liked by one or two people, but is very active in the Masonic community, why black ball him? Our Lodges would be very small indeed if we allowed personal feelings to interfere with our ballots!

Expand full comment
Jul 2, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Excellent comments here.

“Those actions which brought that lodge to failure are too often caused by the people who, for whatever reason, made bad decisions and then refused to make corrections to those bad decisions.” Or they truly believe they did the right thing, even though every one else knew otherwise, AND had the full evidence to show it. “Those personality disorders are often coupled with foolish financial decisions.” I’ve seen this as well. Ego has a BIG part in this. Subduing passions…

“Unfortunately, because of the mystique surrounding our fraternity, we attract some whose emotional health is not sound.” Wow, this is unfortunately more common than many members understand. At the Grand Lodge office, we field several E-mails and calls from those who fall in this category. I remember one person who was all “oohs and aahs” about what we supposedly know, and mentioned about “splitting an eight into two threes.” I said, “run that by me again???” He said, “can you split an eight into two threes?” I said, “well, of course! I can do that...” (and, by the way, YOU can, too…) the person on the phone goes, “Holy smokes! You can do that??? Wow! How many others of your organization can do that?” Me: “probably several.” The caller was totally flabbergasted and freaked out even more! I had to let him go by telling him he needed to do more research. He thought it was a good idea and that ended the conversation. While people like this are more obvious, there are some who get this way AFTER they join, or show it after they joined. I’ve seen that, too, and it can be quite a challenge to handle such a member, especially if they show up at all your meetings.

“Our public breakfasts are excellent tools for screening, and screening out, individuals who would be poor match for Masonry.” Excellent idea; Chehalis Lodge and OES had done that for quite a while, and indeed, we weeded out many people who were atheists or had issues that were troubling.

Thank you to WB Laurence for these ideas.

“Another was a demolay dad (I suspect he was prodded quite a bit by the masons to petition).” WB Glenn brings up what should be a fundamental aspect of our Fraternity: all members join of their own free will. There shouldn’t be any recruitment or prodding. I’ve had Brothers actually argue with me on this subject, but Glenn’s commentary shows a good reason why prodding people to join doesn’t work in the end.

“I personally would look at a brother’s social media to see what is posted and how that might impact my lodge.” WB Bob brings up an excellent point, and indeed, some Lodges have kept potentially toxic men out of the Fraternity with this screen. We would do well to adopt this in our investigations, although it’s not foolproof (I don’t use my first and last name on FaceBook, I use my middle names, and I know of many other Brothers who use aliases on Facebook.)

“For me, an illegitimate reason to "Black Cube" a petitioner for affiliation is because the Brother has a grudge against the petitioner.” Amen to this, VWB Tig, and I’ve seen this from time to time. One logic of a Brother who mentioned he’d cast a Cube on a Brother who’s petitioning his Lodge was, “I think he’s good for another Lodge, just not MY Lodge.” But I countered that it’s a private issue between the two of them, they should settle it, and not drag the rest of us into it, as we all know this Brother. He then mentioned that others have issues with him as well. I then discreetly ask those Brothers that the potential “Cuber” cites, only to find that those are the Brothers who recommended him!

On the “Cube” subject: I read a post on a Jurisdiction’s Facebook page about a gay man who wished to join the Masons, and one of the Brothers took issue with this man being brought up on the page, since there had been older Members who had been Cubing every candidate over that period of time, in case that gay man was one of them. That’s just tragic. I didn’t comment on the post, since I was from another Jurisdiction, but the comment thread on that post went so bad that it was really saddening. It’s a shame that a Brother had to admonish another good Brother and friend for posting that a gay man was going to petition, out of fear that there are Brothers in the group that would see it and start up a blanket “Cubefest” to keep him out.

Let’s just hope we don’t get to that point, my Brothers. Just keep splittin’ those eights into threes!

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Tough question about the cube. Does a man deserve a new chance to become better? Would any of us qualify if everything were known about us?

I'm often asked about Masonry at work. How do you join? Etc.... Mind you, these are not my coworkers asking, these are my patients. "I work at a mental hospital". Yes, they were serious about joining. I always try to look to my obligation. I've worked beside Mason's that were less than stellar individuals. The cube is the only thing that separates us from the Eagles or the Moose. Well, that and our obligation.

Illegitimate reasons? Dislike of the man. His orientation. Race. Politics. Etc..

Legitimate? Lying. Theft. Abuse. Mental illness. Dishonest behaviors in your personal or business life. Felony and identifying as a female or being a female.

I believe that part of the investigating committee's job is to run a background check on the man. I have a friend that is a private investigator and he charged my lodge the cost of the background check to the lodge. Cheap insurance when weighed against some of the people that are out there trying to become Masons.

The cube is the only tool in our basket that ensures that a "good man" is admitted into the fraternity. We are not in the business of making "good men", they need to be good to begin with.

Affiliation is a cat of a different color. The man is already a Mason and as such has been previously judged as a quality man. I personally don't believe that the cube bar should be lowered. That said, if he is not a "good fit" in the lodge, don't hide your belief from him and then use the cube. Be a man, talk to him and find out why he thinks he will be a good fit. His perspective might just change your mind.

Expand full comment