6 Comments
Jul 14, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

To me, subduing your passions and improving yourself in masonry is about the 24 inch gauge. Pursuing a passion, good or bad, and not following the guidelines set forth in the working tools can, and most likely will, lead to a life that is out of balance. Even a great passion for masonry, at the expense of God, family and vocation, can be a bad thing. By following what the 24 inch gauge teaches us, we will, I believe, become better men. Moderating our good passions and eliminating our not so good passions should lead to a life that is more peaceful and meaningful and much less chaotic.

Expand full comment

I've always taken it to mean moderation. As Bob said, life is about balance in everything you do. If you devote all your time and energy for one thing, you neglect others. But it's up to the individual to decide what that balance is. It is not someone's place to tell others how to live their life.

Expand full comment
Jul 14, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

We are admonished to subdue our passions, not extinguish them. Passion is the fuel of creativity, the drive for change and innovation and the greatest ally of the Light of Masonry, when subdued. When allowed to run wild, it is the most destructive force known. Unbridled passion has wiped out cities, nations and peoples. Our fraternal forefathers in England, struggling with the English Civil wars, had experienced religious zeal swinging from Protestant to Catholic and back, 1000s had been executed and even more imprisoned and the battles had ravaged to nation. Yet in Lodge, Catholic and Protestant, Royalist and Parliamentarian could meet and discuss ideas for creating a better world. They realized, as we must, that the battle for a better world is not fought in the field, between armies, but rather in the human heart by subduing our very human passions. It’s not the angry voice screaming that creates a better world, but the reasoned whisper of the wise and compassionate. Once harnessed that passion became the engine of change that created a better world. It is my opinion that today we, having grown complacent living in a world created by their sacrifices, have lost sight of that simple truth. It’s ironic perhaps that we must sacrifice our unbridled passion on the altar fraternal affection, for all humanity, that will free us to enjoy the power of our passion to create a better world.

I spent a lot of time in a Zen group, learning to meditate. One of my personal and transformative experiences was learning that when I was angry, fearful, or depressed, and I would just sit, and meditate, exert control over my passions by simply breathing I would begin to see the issues that troubled me put into a perspective that was understandable, and was thereby empowered to act in a way that was constructive towards a resolution. Often when my raging passions were subdued, I would see that most of the problem was my emotional reaction to them, and not the issue at hand.

I learned something else, sitting on that cushion. I learned that my very natural urge to act in the world, to exercise my own agency, was the source of a constant frustration that led to passionate responses to the world that were often inappropriate. Consequently, I have found outlets for that need to express myself, to create, to build, and to heal that are constructive. That simple change has grounded me, given me space to move in my life and the world that is usually positive. In short when I subdued my passions, harnessed them, I found me.

Expand full comment
Jul 14, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I am passionate about many things. Others do not necessarily share my passions. To maintain that "peace and harmony" we seek, it is necessary that I "subdue *my* passions" so that I do not create division and disharmony with my Brothers. It really is as simple as that. All things in moderation, even moderation...

Expand full comment
Jul 14, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I believe it is generally accepted that modern Freemasonry arose from the Enlightenment period. The development of reason may seem to have been impaired by base human emotions like aggression and anger. Thus, calling on us to minimize them would seem a logical conclusion. However, let me suggest this. A good man would have already learned to control these types of passions. It would be difficult to label someone as good if they often tended to get upset or prone to starting fights.

When I was newly initiated, I assumed ‘to subdue one’s passions’ meant I should act more stoic and work on my stiff upper lip. However, I've since come to believe it less about reducing one’s emotions and more about controlling and using them. Should we not exert the talents wherewith God has blessed us? Talents often develop through hard work fed by our passion for them. Should I moderate the love for my children? Would we have the good fortune of waving Old Glory today if our founding fathers moderated their concerns about their inalienable rights?

When looking up the definition of subdue, one comes to a fork in the road. It is either to reduce in intensity or to conquer and subjugate. I believe the second definition is most applicable. Passion is important; God, family, and country induce these passions, and rightly so. Isn’t the best way to defeat a foe to turn them into a friend? So, to answer the question directly, I believe the phrase admonishes good men to control and learn to use good passions to improve themselves and the community around them.

Expand full comment
Jul 14, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

subdue (səbˈdjuː)

vb (tr) , -dues, -duing or -dued

1. to establish ascendancy over by force

2. to overcome and bring under control, as by intimidation or persuasion

3. to hold in check or repress (feelings, emotions, etc)

4. to render less intense or less conspicuous

“To learn to subdue my passions and improve myself in Masonry.”

I believe that numbers 3 and 4 are what we are talking about. Our passions are what give our life meaning, without them we become nothing more than a being that exists without goals or feelings. To subdue our passions is to control them. Not to let our passion control us. We need them, but we cannot let them consume us. I have a passion for helping people, which is what makes me a good nurse. If that passion were overriding all in my life, I would not take care of myself or my family, I would only try to heal others. Anger is also a passion that we cannot go without. It helps us to right injustice, to protect ourselves, our friends and family. Uncontrolled anger consumes and shuts down compassion and clear thought. When envy controls us, we think only of having what that person or group of people have and we will do ANYTHING to get it. Subdued envy, aids us in setting and reaching goals.

Our creator was wise in giving us passion, it is up to us to use our passions in a way that does not cause damage to ourselves or others.

Expand full comment