19 Comments
Jul 20, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I like the idea. It could lead to some very interesting topics that could be discussed in lodged not only all over Washington but also to Masonry in America.

Expand full comment

sounds great

Expand full comment
Jul 20, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Oh that sounds great. Maybe have several topics. History, symbolism., poetry etc.

Expand full comment

I would suggest first that the gl put out formatting and citation requirements. I have the write up we use for miscellania USA if any one needs it.

Expand full comment
Jul 20, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I like the idea! Perhaps promoting a single topic or selecting from a small group of topics, and assigning a minimum-maximum length of the article would narrow the judges' scope of work.

Expand full comment
Jul 20, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I like it - last night I ended up writing a 3 page essay in response to your inquiry regarding a public man declaring his membership. I've done this with a couple of topic items you've posed. They are fun to think through and write, but I realize way too much for a post.

Expand full comment
Jul 20, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Sounds good, but i have to say more than the content here (which is very good) i enjoy the civil form the discussion has taken and would like to think of a way to capture that as an example.

Expand full comment
Jul 20, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I like the idea, I'm willing to contribute to the dissemination of information for edification purposes. I also commend your effort, MW Brother Cameron, in keeping emeth actively running. Great Job!

Expand full comment
Jul 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I would like to write an essay about what the wages of speculative Freemasonry are. Nothing irritates me more than a Senior Warden responding at the preemptive close, "Nothing in the West, Worshipful Master" I think wages are due for just showing up because if the Senior Warden can't thank Brothers for just showing up over a number of meetings, sooner of later Brothers just won't show up. Praise for doing good ritual or doing one's best to do good ritual also deserves praise in my opinion. I had one Worshipful Master think that I was approaching the East after the meeting was over to save him from the criticism of a Past Master when in fact I was approaching the East to praise him for a well run Stated meeting.

Expand full comment