11 Comments
Oct 21, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Yogi Berra once said, "Nobody goes there anymore, it's too crowded", and that's how I feel about many of the public places these days. Can I get a parking spot, is it going to be too loud, etc.? To have a social room at a Lodge would be wonderful. Is it good use of our human and financial resources? Well, we're many things to many people but we're first a Fraternity for each other.

Expand full comment
Oct 21, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

What's a man to do when his social tastes skew to big city luxury but he hates the smells sounds and traffic that go with it?

If you're like me and would like that Seattle style social space but live in the rural areas of SW Washington please help me start a new lodge with that kind of luxury built in from the start. With catered festive boards every month. With social outings every month. It will cost more than any existing SW Washington lodges are willing to pay in dues.

We can't reform those old lodges. So help me start a new one. Icymudpuppy@yahoo.com. 360 508 8115. Reach out and I will send you my draft plan.

Expand full comment

There is a lot of things I'd like to see happen with my lodge, but the one thing I'd like to see, past the issues of plumbing and acoustics downstairs, is to spend money to make our lodge room beautiful. Right now, it's...functional. But the walls are mostly bare, the lighting is boring and there are few decorations. Just google "beautiful masonic lodge rooms" and take a look at some of the images you'll find. And then take a look at your own lodge room, does it inspire you? Even some lodge rooms I've been in that have a lot of nice decorations are ruined with the use of old broken down natty theater seating pulled out of some dumpster somewhere. Is that the best we can do?

Expand full comment
Oct 21, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

A dedicated space for fellowship is a must for any Lodge. Ever since renovations have been going on in our banquet hall, we've been meeting in the small second floor landing. Although the space is not as well furnished as the ones described, the fact that it "forces" us to sit closer together has led to some amazing conversations between our members and petitioners and a much more noticeable feeling of good fellowship. One petitioner that has been coming around since before the renovations even remarked to me that he has felt a lot more comfortable and engaged since we started hanging out in the small landing.

While unfortunately we cannot dispense alcohol in the jurisdiction of Florida (which I hope changes in time), I would like to remodel one of our general purpose rooms into a dedicated space to hang out and have good fellowship.

Expand full comment
Oct 21, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

My blue lodge in NM had a fellowship area with a pool table, darts, and a couple couches and a mini kitchen, as dedicated sitting area that was set up nicely and a small room to act as a library that was well lit with comfortable sitting as well. I'd love to recreate that to a degree up here some day.

Expand full comment