13 Comments
Mar 1, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

We are currently using Zoom to meet with. We have an under utilized (rarely used) Facebook page. Social media can be helpful in sharing events and ideas but so many older brothers don’t use or feel comfortable using social media. Social media can be helpful for potential candidates to find out about masonry but at the same time, if your social media platform isn’t constantly monitored, it can also leave a sour taste in a potential candidate’s mouth. I think some brothers believe social media is beyond Masonic rules of behavior and at times it shows.

Expand full comment
Mar 2, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I agree, Zoom has been a great platform to keep us in touch with one another. We had been meeting twice monthly and in February we started meeting every Wednesday with something educational every night. As the Master of Kennewick, I have been able to facilitate meetings from Phoenix. It was at first, awkward and challenging, but through trial and error we’ve gotten pretty comfortable. Zoom has allowed us to attend educational meetings at other lodges and Districts, to interact with Brothers in the Grand Jurisdiction we might not ever meet.

Expand full comment
Mar 4, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Facebook and Instagram. I try to rid myself of Facebook but Ashley's seem to fall back. All of the bullshit and hate, but also alot of communications with people I would not normally have the ability to communicate with

Expand full comment
Mar 8, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I use Zoom and Facebook. On Zoom I mostly listen as many seem to monopolize the conversation and I learn a lot by just listening. On on my Facebook page I post content to help me meet my goal of. "Making at least 15 people laugh every day". Bad Puns are common place and responses are equally funny. I avoid politics and religion although I have strong opinions on both. I rather enjoy apologetics but find Facebook a poor place for it. I tend to save that for in-person conversations and even then with temperance. One of my favorite songs is , "When You're Smiling" and there are many who have sang that song in a variety of styles .

Expand full comment

Our lodge uses zoom for our monthly meetings, but they are (until april) have been mostly just social. The problem is, our lodge has 140 or so members, and we get probably at most 8 folks to show up for these zoom calls. I find it a poor excuse for in person socializing. Since I spend a lot of time at work in zoom meetings, the novelty also wears off pretty quick.

Expand full comment