8 Comments

I’ve attended a few of the side degrees, and they are hit and miss. They are decent fund raisers in that brothers will be happy to support and can be a fun diversion.

Our lodge puts on a pirate degree annually, and has been very well attended. It has raised some good money for the lodge. We invested a lot of time, money, and effort trying to make it a good experience for everyone. Hopefully we will be able to host another one this year.

Should other lodges host their own? Only if the brothers creating it are dedicated enough to put in that time, effort and money. It requires a unique idea, a story, a script, props, costumes, and a lot of practice and polishing. The first draft of our pirate degree was nothing like the finished product. We would do table readings to work out dialogue. On drives to visit other lodges, Tig and I would come up with new ideas. We shamelessly stole, err, were inspired by other bits we’ve seen or heard elsewhere and fit them into the story. And if you plan on making it an annual fundraiser, you should always be refining and modifying the script to try and keep it fresh.

It also helps to get GL support, as this also raises awareness within the jurisdiction.

But don’t do it unless you can present something you would be proud of.

Expand full comment

I am fortunate to have been able to receive the Loggers Degree from Damascus Lodge in Granite Falls. Eventually I hope to participate in the Railroad Degree at at Karl E Warren Railroad Lodge in Skykomish. These are both in my home District.

Having participated in the Loggers Degree, it seems that I have another tie to the Brothers in that Lodge. To me it can strengthen the bonds between Brothers and Lodges through this fun and unique ritual.

Should more Lodges have a side Degree? I feel there is a fine line out there between what we have and what is too many. Where that line is,, I don't have the answer. But I feel if there are too many side degrees by our Lodges, then it would lessen the meaning thereby not gaining the unique bonds that are made in the Degree.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I have done the Railroad Degree and enjoyed how well it was done. The Loggers Degree and the Pirates Degree are on my to do list but is seems that a conflict always seems to come up when they are being done.

We are working on a SPAM Degree complete with Monty Python music and I suppose the question we have to answer is, "Can SPAM be frequently inculcated and forcefully recommended?"

It is just in the discussion stages at the moment and I think that we have to work on getting a commitment from enough of the Brothers to make it happen in a FUN and educational result.

It seems to me that once we get back to in-person meetings more progress can be made than just discussions.

Expand full comment