38 Comments
Aug 10, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Congratulations on that. Many do not know that part of the initiatic life is to "travel" and traveling means to seek the knowledge of this others initiatic schools.

The myth goes:

Long time ago after the ending of the Athlantian Civilization the Ancient Priest of The Eye of Horus " Kerihebs" built their Temples back around the Spine of the Nile. But the Initiatic process was too long for a single life time. They decided to synthesize the Ancient Mysteris and build The Zodiac of Denderah. What we know as the 12 zodiac Signs. Those were build to group the Mysteries. 12 "Kindergartens" Schools, containing the Teachings of the Ancient Arcana Arcanorum. We, Mason "Phr-ms-n" the Sons of Light, we are the Columns of Gemini and our Rite, independent of what version it is, is marked by the Duality of The Columns of Gemini. There are other 11 Schools outside Masonry belonging to The Order. 12 Zodiac Signs, 12 Tribes, 12 Apostles, etc. Each Kindergarten serves as a depository and to train individuals, then from there The Members of the Holy House choose those individuals that can be selected to become Disciples of the Tradition and in such way they are given the Oral Tradition.

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I know Rosicrucians (I'm not one myself), but I believe the historical influence on Freemasonry is the side-stepping of dogmatic differences to quell sectarian frictions. It provided an alternative mindset from killing each other over virgin births and nuances of soteriology.

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I joined AMORC many years ago before I became a mason. It was all home self study with a self initiation which I found meaningful but realized how much more impactful a degree performed with others would be, which lead me towards freemasonry. I don't know much about SRICF, but I believe it's by invitation only, is that correct?

Expand full comment

MW,You are free to use my paper, or parts of it, if you want that I sent you on SRICF as a discussion on Rosicrucian's.

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I think it's one of the oldest and greatest coed fraternities ever made that doesn't recieve enough recognition this is onlong side Westcott's golden dawn.

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I am not familiar with the SRICF, and as I don't consider myself a Trinitarian Christian I most likely will never take part.

There was an AMORC group that met in the old Yancey C Blaylock building on Lake City Way, which I visited requently. Heavy emphasis on meditation, and the idea that the Universe is a mental construct.

Expand full comment

I've studied Rosicrucianism for a number of years. I even included the speculative history on an article that I wrote. It goes into a lot of detail, because it's a rather large claim, such as the origins of Rosicrucianism and Speculative Freemasonry. Saying that, the more one digs the further it goes back.

https://truthprevails.life/topics/f/son-of-the-virgin-queen#af04c0a1-9c42-4c63-a2f6-98a8744c60e4

It was my belief that the Freemasons Rosicrucian degrees were by invite only?

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

When I was first initiated into the Western Mystery Tradition it was in to a Rosicrucian Group. It was a small, local and loosely affiliated group. That said, it provided a strong start to my work on the path. Later I joined the AMORC, and worked my way through their degrees. While I think the AMORC is a good introduction, I find the correspondence school approach a little disconnected, and was unable to attend a Lodge.

I think that Rosicrucianism is an important part of the WMT and a natural progression for a Freemason, interested in the mystical. The two organizations have clear connections in symbol, style, ritual and structure. Many of the most successful Rosicrucian groups were formed by Freemasons, and some have accepted Scottish Rite degrees and equivalent to their degrees and at least one of the Scottish Rite degrees is strongly influenced by Rosicrucianism

Brother Chuck Dunning has written an excellent book that explores the link between Rosicrucianism and the Rose Croix degree in the Scottish Rite. As with all Brother Dunnings books, I highly recommend it. “A Rose Croix Oratory” C.R. Dunning, Jr. .

Expand full comment

Brother Cameron,

It is good to fill a space on your phenomenal platform today in light of your fantastic news! Congratulations in advance on your degree installation coming up. With that said I am compelled to just I too am interested in the Rosicrucian Order. I am a member of the Rosicrucian AMORC community, and that has not much to do with where you in terms of the degrees as I am not that far yet. On the other hand I do want to say with regard to the compatibility of the Rosicrucian Order without even going into the lodges which are numerous under the English Grand Lodge of the Americas, and The Supreme Grand Lodge of the AMORC, that the basis of the order is very deeply compatible with Freemasonry. In the light of Brothers in the fraternity I suppose those of a more profound exploration of the meaning of the craft should be let in on the 1915 establishment of this order. Having said that, I would not think to encourage it across linear Freemasonry. Some of us are good, and members of the fraternity for a while have known a man who was more than a good fellow, but because masters have failed signally to put the craft to work after a year of service, ( as well as to instruct them on whereby they might pursue their labors), I would personally suggest this level to philosophically- advanced, or perhaps metaphysical- endeavored brothers who have a distinguished appearance among Freemasons. This is because of the general evaluation of the knowledges in the universe that is necessary to form the educational tool meant for us in the learning journey of our lives. It has to do with understanding the interconnectedness of things that we govern as 'infinite beings' in 'numberless worlds', (Brother Eyer, of The Philalethes Society), which resonates with me wholly, enabling it in turn to shape us. It is not every brothers' immediate direction through Freemasonry alone, and so others who can find Applied Masonry essential for daily progress in abundance with Operative Masonry, or Speculative Masonry, are better suit to endeavor upon this order. It is very intellectual. It is ancient in the fraternal grip of any natural science, formal science, or behavioral science. It, to me, suggests that a person prove Freemasonry while I suspect at times there might be a brother here, or there pulling for Freemasonry to prove a Freemason. I would, though, recommend it, (with DISCRETION), and most of all due to the positive impact the experience is in my personal walk in the universe. Thank you for sharing, and again have fun at that barbecue coming up! I can almost smell it from here!

Sincerely and Fraternally Yours,

Dr., Hon., Bro. Victor W. Williams, MsD, ΣAπ, ΦΘK

Most Worthy Grand Patron

(850) 274- 7472

williamsvictor237@gmail.com

Expand full comment

I’m a member of Eugenius Philalethes College No 18 SRIA (Societies Rosicrucia In Anglia) - received my first grade over 6 months ago. Fascinating and deeply rewarding. I really enjoy the learning and the ceremonies. Much of which gives an esoteric representation and allegorical meaning to much of what we see and do in the Craft and other orders.

Expand full comment
Aug 13, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I have lost track of AMORC. Its rituals and practices have changed much over the years, and today it seems to me to be a mishmash of ideas. Classical Rosicrucianism it is not.

It still can have value, but I’m not sure what its direction is.

Jay

Expand full comment

I am a member of the Arkansas College. It is very interesting work. SRICF is one, possibly only, place that is supposed to strive toward scholarly work in esotericism. The hints of “the great work” are far and away the most intriguing aspect to me.

Expand full comment