5 Comments

I think a lot of it for me has rubbed off from my military time. For me, after I've thought about it for a while now, is to make the best masonic experience for everyone in my lodge. From there, hopefully to influence others to do the same. If I lead by example, perhaps we can get the titanic turned away in time from the iceberg ahead.

I was struck by what (I think) Brian mentioned as secretary during R&G, how trying to contact all of the members who never updated their contact information and one brother telling him to "never contact me again, I want nothing to do with masonry". Makes me wonder just how many of those older brothers who never step foot in lodge feel the same way.

Expand full comment

The corollary to the question “What part do I want to play in the advancement of Freemasonry?” Is “What part do I NOT want to play in the advancement of Freemasonry?”. Knowing what you don’t have passion for and what will burn you out is just as important as understanding what you do have passion for. I’ve seen too often when we take a good Brother and shove him into a job that does not suit him, but we need it and so he does it, but in the end we lose him.

We all have gifts and strengths and passions and weakness and blind spots and feelings of loathing, and the importance of picking up a role is to pick up one that maximizes the fist set of things and minimizes the second. But as our Grand Master’s theme suggests, we must know ourselves to make those choices (and we ,use be honest with ourselves)

Expand full comment