12 Comments
Sep 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

My favorite role would have to be giving the EA Lecture. It is in my opinion one of the most beautiful lectures, so to be able to deliver it to newly initiated Brothers is truly an honor.

I remember when I heard it for the first time, I barely remembered any part immediately after it was over. I am a visual learner so it was a bit difficult for me to draw the symbols within my mind. That was my motivator to learn it for myself once I became a MM. Now, when I deliver the lecture I use props, paintings, and the lecture chart, which I think really keeps the new Brothers involved and attentive.

Expand full comment
Sep 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I love being apart of degrees, especially in the 3rd degree. More specifically, I love being one of the 3 craftsmen. It's a grand time. I also love being able to shake a newly raised Master Masons hand after.

Expand full comment
Sep 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I really like all of the things happening in our lodge, I don't even mind helping in the kitchen, mind you I dont Cook but I always tried to help clean up . Probably my most favorite has been the honor of being Master of our lodge.

Expand full comment

Outside of becoming master of my lodge, Senior Deacon is my favorite. In our lodge it is the most difficult chair, as you must be able to do all the circumambulations, confer the EA degree, and all other SD parts in the degrees, with the exception of the middle chamber lecture. It is a lot of ritual work to learn and I really enjoy playing such a major role in the lodge. I spent my entire year as JD studying the parts I needed to learn so that when I was installed I could do any part required of me. I also passed my PILM as a SD. So during that time I studied opening and closing lodge for all three degrees. Was a very busy two masonic years but immensely rewarding.

Expand full comment
Sep 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I like doing all I can to help the Lodge, serving where I can, setting up, cleaning up, fixing things where I am able, working on the Temple Board, coaching and mentoring, and energizing new Masons. Tomorrow (Friday--24 Sept), I will confer the First Degree on a new Mason. I have already volunteered to be his coach/mentor. But, I'm going to try something new. I am already coaching a young man, who we recently passed to Fellowcraft. Because he so recently returned his proficiency for the First Degree, I will have him coach our new EA, because the knowledge is fresh, and he is closer to the new EA in age. I will, of course, be there to iron out any wrinkles and offer advice. Both men will gain from this experience, and I think it will help train the new generation of leadership to come behind me. Just my thoughts...

Expand full comment
Sep 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I simply enjoy serving. Whether it’s sitting in a chair, playing a role in a degree, serving a meal or cleaning in the kitchen/lodge. The motto I’ve tried to live by, “If service is beneath you, leadership is beyond you”.

Expand full comment