4 Comments
Jul 21, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Here’s what I know about the Research Lodges in Washington State.

Back in the day (40 years ago and earlier), there were no plural memberships, only dual memberships. You could only join one other Lodge other than your home Lodge. There was one exception: You could join a third Lodge, if that Lodge was a Lodge of Research.

In addition, the Lodges of Research do not pay the Grand Lodge fees for its members (it’s still in the Code today.)

Both of these are clear indications that the Lodges of Research had a special place in our Jurisdiction, and common sense would note that these Lodges would not be the home Lodge, or sole Lodge, of any member of our Jurisdiction. A Lodge of Research would not initiate members; every member was a member of another Lodge.

But here’s the problem I’ve noticed with our Lodge of Research No. 281. I’ve been a Mason for 25 years, and I’ve seen very little published from this Lodge in regards to papers or educational materials, or educational events hosted by this Lodge. I think it would be most beneficial for all concerned if this Lodge published articles in every Tribune, but also sent out correspondence to all the Lodges in Western Washington (Eastern Washington has their Lodge of Research No. 310.) The correspondence could be used for Masonic education in the constituent Lodges. (Kind of like this thread!)

Other problems include the creation of the Research and Education committee several years back. While the subject is a key component of our Fraternity, it appears that the committee’s creation might be linked to the lack of correspondence by the Lodge of Research with not only the constituent Lodges, but Grand Lodge itself. Like many have mentioned in previous threads concerning the role of Grand Lodge vs. the role of the constituent Lodges, this can be construed as a example of the Grand Lodge picking up something that was gradually lost over the years.

To me, the final serious problem was the merger of a constituent Lodge into the Lodge of Research a few years ago. This made the Lodge of Research the new Home Lodge for many members, and also the sole Lodge for some members. To me, this ruined the special distinction of the Lodge of Research, effectively turning it into a regular constituent Lodge. Now, there were many Masons in many positions that were involved in this merger occurring, but rather than point the finger and question why they allowed this to happen, I must admit if I were in their position, I might very well have gone along with the merger myself, as the Lodge of Research had lost its special distinction by then, and could indeed be confused with a regular constituent Lodge.

All this being said, it’s just like addressing our membership decline; it’s NEVER too late to fix things! There are ways to restore the Lodge of Research’s status as the hub of Masonic education, as well as the distinctions it officially enjoyed in the Grand Lodge’s eyes. And I know many of the members, as well as the officers, of the Lodge of Research No. 281. I have confidence that they have what it takes to make this happen. We have technology now that wasn’t available back in the Lodge of Research’s heyday that the Lodge can use to its fullest extent to really make a difference in our Fraternity, even more than it did in its early years!

I encourage anyone reading this to introduce ideas to help make this Lodge the best it can be for our Brothers in Western Washington.

Expand full comment
Jul 21, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I would love to join a lodge of research, I dont think there is one near me though. I tend to think of my self as an amateur scholar. I love to read, research, interpret, and write.

I agree with Clayton that with our modern technology combined with dedicated passionate brothers, we could spark something big.

Expand full comment
author

I'm not a member of a Research Lodge, but I am a member of the Scottish Rite Research Society. In my view, the membership fees I pay for it each year are the very best value in all of Freemasonry. For a few bucks a year, I receive a collection of papers that are always superb, a copy of an important historical work, and an interesting newsletter.

I'd strongly encourage anyone interested in learning more about the history of Freemasonry to join. The information provided is invaluable. One does not need to be a Scottish Rite Mason.

http://scottishriteresearch.com/

Expand full comment
Jul 24, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Brethren, if you like to read and/or write about Freemasonry, you might want to check out the Masonic Society:

https://themasonicsociety.com/content/the-journal-of-the-masonic-society/

Expand full comment