9 Comments

Those awards seem sufficient to me. There are other ways to recognize someone. Even if it is just a surprise phone call, e-mail, or a short letter.

If anything should be added to our Jurisdiction, maybe something for our Ladies on the District level signed by the GM.

Expand full comment

I received two awards from my lodge two consecutive years. Just certificates of recognition. One for efforts to fix the broken building. A task too large to complete alone. And the second for attempting to organize social events which failed miserably.

I don't think I deserved either one, and the second one should have gone to our one and only entered apprentice we lost. but I wasn't on whatever committee made the decision.

Awards, if given, should be carefully considered lest they make a man who deserves one feel under-appreciated. And a man who gets one feel un-deserving. It is better to give no rewards than to give them to the wrong person.

Expand full comment

Lodges can be creative in recognizing brothers. Life memberships, for example, is a excellent award that is probably more appreciated than just a piece of paper.

Don’t forget that the jurisdiction gives out pins for years of service. You can also include memorials, as it’s the final act of recognition for a departed brother.

Expand full comment

Every leadership training program worth its weight values recognition as a great motivator. As a business leader, I tried to remain humble while championing the people I work with. Some have said “reward is essentially pay; recognition is a gift.”

In leading young people in Scouting (Boys and Girls), recognition is found in the achievement of merit badges. It is more than saying “well done.” In many cases, it is recognition of a difficult challenge accomplished. This gives young people confidence that they can overcome obstacles and fears if they put their minds to it.

Recognition is a method of support that helps people know their contributions are recognized and appreciated. People want to know how they are doing, and recognizing individual achievement demonstrates what success looks like. We need to recognize people for going above and beyond, for their achievements, tenure or service, or desired behaviors.

From a very early age, we crave recognition from parents, teachers, and friends. So strong is our desire for positive affirmation, particularly during developmental periods, that we can even perceive a neutral reaction as a negative one.

In an environment where non-profit organizations are struggling with acquiring members and fundraising, effective recognition programs become a competitive advantage.

In the Masonic Lodge, the diversity of membership is ever critical to maintaining a sustainable robust organization. We can never do enough, either at the local level or at the Grand Lodge level because recognition equals inspiration. And inspiration contributes to the progress and growth of our fraternity.

Expand full comment

I work for my Lodge and for my District. I don't do it for the recognition, although recognition *is* nice when it happens. I do it to make me feel good about myself. A Hiram or Grand Master's Achievement is a welcome surprise, but I'm really not a pin collector. I feel the same if a Brother shakes my hand and says, "Well done!"

On the other hand, I feel that Lodges which devote a great deal of time and collective effort to improve their communities are well deserving of Grand Lodge recognition. Brethren who show up on a cold, rainy day to clean up a section of highway, install a wheel chair ramp for a disabled person, or recognize reading effort for school kids are deserving of higher-echelon recognition. Makes it all worth it!

Expand full comment

If awards are handed out like candy, their value is diminished. Too many times the criteria for an award is overly subjective and can do more harm than good. The awards that are currently presented are sufficient. I believe the WM has the prerogative to present any additional award(s) of his choosing beyond the Hiram Award if he believes a Brother’s service to the Craft is deserving. Personally, I believe most of the Brothers would much rather receive a thank you from the Brothers of his Lodge as recognition.

Expand full comment

The Grand Lodge also presents a Secretary of the Year award. Recent recipients are VWB’s Matt Appel and Kelly Combs. I think that award’s been around for about 20 years; I don’t have the stats with me right now.

The Grand Master’s Achievement Award has been around since 1988. As of right now, roughly 900 Masons have received the award, and about half of them are alive today.

The Mason of the Year has been around for about 20 years, and I think around two dozen excellent Brothers have received this honorable distinction. I am truly honored to know most of them pretty well.

Like most who have mentioned it above, I received the awards for just, well, doing what I do! I never gave consideration of getting any of them. I got the GMA under MWB Chuck’s year, for work that I done in ritual throughout the district. But heck, I LIKE doing that!

Big key concerning when I received the Mason of the Year in 2017. One, it was fun. I was having fun making a difference up at the State Capitol. But another key is the other Brothers who assisted in the endeavor. There were about a half dozen who were involved, including the Grand Master who gave me the award itself! Yes, I have the award on my wall, but I remember the story behind it, and THAT’s what’s important to me.

I had a conversation with a Brother who I know for certain reads these comments on Emeth right after I received the Mason of the Year medal, who wondered why I wasn’t wearing it on my team uniform. I informed him I didn’t want to appear as a pompous showoff, but he reminded me that I earned that award, and it isn’t any more pompous than the little white Washington State pin (for my GMA award) or the smaller blue Washington State pin (for the Hiram Award I received in 2013.) He had a point, and I still have the medal on my Team Uniform to this day.

Like the PDDGM Apron that I have, the medals and pins have stories behind them. If a Brother mentions the Apron, the MofY medal, or the pins, I can tell them stories. Stories about Freemasons who have made a difference in their Lodges, in their communities, or in other peoples lives.

Expand full comment