31 Comments
Jun 22, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Although I’m very aware of having qualified brothers sitting in the appointed chairs, and would sit in one if asked, I’m very much looking forward to sitting on the sidelines. Other than my first year of Masonry, I’ve sat in one chair or another as I progressed through through the line of officers. I’m looking forward to sitting on the sidelines and observing and learning.

Expand full comment
Jun 22, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Question - Should Grand Lodge have it’s own Temple / Lodge room to hold the Annual Communication at rather than in a hotel ballroom?

Expand full comment
Jun 22, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Top Ten Dubious Masonic Questions

How many past masters does it take to screw in a lightbulb?

How does the 47th problem of Euclid solve going to the bathroom when the Lodge is tyled?

What if you’re not “to” or “from,” but actually asleep?

How many Master Masons favor a trap door in the East?

Is it appropriate to go “off-session,” if you notice the Tyler having a sword fight in the hallway with the Senior Warden?

When circumabulat’in, are we allowed to ingest motion sickness pills?

The Lodge musician has a toy piano under his chair. Challenge him to write a one-note aria before Lodge closes.

Under the Washington Masonic Code, is it considered a war crime to serve stale pastries after Lodge?

Are we allowed to rename the “Son’s of Hiram” to the “Sons of Arthritis?”

Why do the eyes move in the portrait of Bro. George Washington?

Expand full comment
Jun 22, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I started my "Journey of the Chairs" as a pro tempore Junior Deacon. Three months later, I became Senior Deacon. Five months after that, I was Junior Warden, where I stayed for a year and a half. I nearly became Master, skipping Senior Warden, but cooler heads prevailed and I stayed at JW. Another Past Master stepped in and assumed the East for a year, but he had health problems, so I all-but-ran the Lodge as SW. When I was made Master, I was also Secretary in another Lodge, and had to "referee" the closing of one Lodge and merger with another--a highly contentious process. Shortly after leaving the East, I was asked to be a District Deputy. After two years as Deputy, I am now content to rest on the sidelines for a while, and coach/sponsor/mentor new Masons. I may again "Travel the Chairs," but take the journey at a more leisurely pace this time!

Expand full comment
Jun 22, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

When i joined the Lodge i felt compelled by duty to do service to my Lodge by taking positions. My memories as an officer from JS to DDGM are cherished memories. That said, i perfer the sidelines, and always have. Most of my life I have been in some sort of leadership role, and am comfortible in that role, but it is the fellowship of my brethren and the comfort of the sights and sounds of our ritual that bring me to Lodge.

Expand full comment
Jun 22, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

A question. When speculative Masonry was begun, our Lodges were the homes of preeminent scientists, philosphers, politicians, industrialists and military men. After the Royal Society was founded, mostly by Masons, we tended to loose the scientists. After the Morgan Affair and the political back lash we started loosing politicians. Over time philosophers and indistrialists went their own way. While we do still have military men in our ranks, you donlt see many general staff joining these days. Being a Mason in teh age of conspiracy theories seems to be a negative for most people in the public eye. In short we were once on the cutting edge of society, as is evidenced by the role of Masons in the founding of the US. Those heady days seem in our past, are they? what will we be in the 21st century if we survive?

Expand full comment

I'm sitting at a picnic table at the Sahara Creek campsite (East of Elbe) and my wife showed me how to access the internet using my phone as a Hot Spot.

I'd like to address the question MW Cameron proposed, "For those who are not one of the Lodge’s elected officers, do you prefer sitting in one of the appointed officers chairs so that you have a job to do in the Lodge, or do you prefer to be on the sidelines? Why?"

One of the ideas I liked was in Tenino Lodge by WM Tim Lund. He called it, " Going Sideways"

It was a pretty simple concept. The name of every Brother was put in his hat and shuffled like a drawing. We did this for the opening and again for the closing. He would pull out a name and announce, "The WM will be _________" Then the Senior Warden will be _________. and so on. It gave everyone a chance to temporary sit in a station or place that was different than his usual place. It became an educational exercise. Some stumbled on their lines but opened up the incentive to learn everyone's lines. I distinctly remember the smile on WB Baxter's face when hi got to PT as WM. He hadn't been Master for many years.

I personally believe that the opening and closing ritual is allegorical instruction and the duties we hear "frequently inculcated" can be applied to our own personal growth.

Expand full comment