7 Comments

Prudence, Temperance, Discretion all point to quiet humility. The pride in one's lodge should be reflected in how you present yourself in dress and manner, and the temple should be well maintained and attractive. Japanese call it Shibui, a simple, understated beauty.

Expand full comment
Jun 28, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Giving a Brother responsibility for something in the Lodge is a good place to start. The more “ownership” a Brother has the greater his pride will be in the final outcome. Lodge leadership should be looking to put round pegs in round holes and this is accomplished through simple conversations to figure out a Brother’s passions, skills and abilities. Reaching a goal or completing a project can fill a Brother(s) with pride. I realize lodges are in different places financially, but a coat of paint can go a long way in instilling pride. If you’re not proud of where you meet then you’re not going to be excited about spending time there. In my experiences, what goes on inside an organization is closely connected to what goes on outside. If time can’t be found to keep the grass mowed and the weeds down on the outside, then what’s going on inside is usually as unorganized. It’s important to create a culture within your lodge that is strong enough that a poor Master can’t derail. Every Brother can be good at something and every lodge can be good at something. Pride comes with success, but it also comes with giving your best effort in trying and not giving up. I’m extremely proud to be a Mason and like family, I’m proud of my Brothers and their growth and accomplishments. I’m as proud of the external of my lodge as I am of the internal.

Expand full comment
Jun 28, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

For me, the ritual work has alot to do with Pride in a lodge. I have always been proud to be included in a well done degree.

Also how a lodge is perceived by the community is important for Pride. If my lodge is viewed as a great asset to the community, that's something I can be proud of. However, if it's looked down on because of its building conditions or actions of members, I would be embarrassed to associate with it.

Expand full comment

For better or worse, both the inside and outside of a Lodge tells a story. It is imperative that we manage that story. I know of lodges which have not been painted in so many decades that the exterior color is flaking off. That's a death spiral. Paint the building. Always have a clean fresh face to show the public.

That brings us to the interior of the Lodge. Like the exterior, the interior of a Lodge tells a story. On the surface, that story can be one of indifference and worse; neglect! Soap, water, dusting and wax are our friend. Paint, when well done, is the least expensive remodel one can buy. That's step #1.

Now that the exterior and interior is clean, all damage repaired and a fresh paint properly applied, it's time to move on to interior decoration. Proper interior decoration of a lodge tells a story, not just of Masonry, but of the Lodge, it's members and even of the history of the community. Photographs, certificates, good pieces of antique furniture, antique aprons and other items all function to tell the visitor and the new member the story of Masonry and of the Lodge.

This doesn't need to be expensive! Many lodges have wonderful things long ago hidden away in storage. These treasures need to be brought out, often reframed and hung with pride in the lodge.

For lodges considering a more serious remodel, I'd strongly suggest that they stay with their roots and not remodel to look in current fashion. My personal goal for Myrtle #108 is to make the lodge a period correct ( circa 1918) working Masonic museum. I want to get rid of the fluorescent lighting, and bring back modern versions of Edison lights. I'd like to see our furniture reflect that period. Our three lessor lights are candles that are battery powered.

In the jewelry business, all items of precious metals, and gems; the rings, pendants, earrings bracelets and all expensive watches in the showroom are removed from the showcases every night and the displays rebuilt every morning. That skill has enabled me to look at Lodge display in a unique manner. I'm sure I'm not the only lodge member with these professionally honed skills. I would suggest each lodge find a member with such skills and make use of those talents to improve our appearance. If an interested Lodge has no one with those skills I'd be happy to volunteer my time.

Expand full comment