7 Comments
Nov 15, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Each of these points would improve the experience at my Lodge.

I was fortunate to see the initiation of a brother a few weeks after my own initiation.

He went through it ok but clearly something was wrong. He never came back.

Better preparation would have shown it was not to be a good fit, or made it a good fit.

Expand full comment

All of those items are good ideas. You could even take it a step further, and use incense and music as well. Because the candidate is blindfolded, providing something for the other senses might make the experience better.

We do use a chamber of reflection. We built one several years ago and it has been a positive change in the degree experience. It really does put the initiate in the proper state of mind. We use it for all three degrees. I each degree there is a different page or two of reading, as well as some requirements to write responses to some questions posed to the brother, or other instructions.

I was told that the jurisdiction of Nevada banned chambers of reflection. This can only be out of ignorance. Ignorance of what the chamber is for, what the true meaning of the degrees are, and even what masonry is all about. A lot of people freak out when they see it, mainly because of the skull. Mostly this comes from the concordant bodies. And when I say concordant I mean the women.

The hardest part is having the rest of the lodge brothers be mindful of the solemn engagements we are undertaking. There is far too much joking and laughter going on, even during the degree that just has to stop. It is a culture shift that needs to happen, which is difficult, especially with visitors that don’t understand or know the lodge ‘rules’.

Finally the biggest culture change is making the lodge understand that everything we do during a degree is for the candidates benefit. Everything. The focus of the degree should rest solely on the candidate. Nothing or no one else. This includes clapping and cheering after the various lectures presented during the degree. Applauding the presenter of the lecture shifts the focus from the candidate to someone else. That also needs to stop. Plenty of time for that later. I attended a first degree at another lodge where the lecturer talked so fast that at the end everyone stood up clapping and cheering, shouting ‘new record!’, referring to the speed of the delivery. I was gobsmacked. Is the lecture a chore that needs to be endured by the brothers? What kind of impression does that give the candidate? If that was your degree, is that how you would want it conducted?

Expand full comment
Nov 15, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

“Do you utilize a Chamber of Reflection, and if so, how do you employ it?” Centralia Lodge has employed the concept a few times, and I know Chehalis tried it at least once. Centralia (as you know) painted their preparation room all black, and Chehalis reconstructed a room into a chamber.

“Do you darken the Lodge room or make other changes to the physical space?” During the degrees, all three of my Lodges darken the Lodge room for the first part of the conferral. I’ve seen this done in other Lodges in my district as well.

“Do you ensure that all Lodge members refrain from jokes about the Degree to come?” Not actively, although fortunately it hasn’t been too much of a problem in the degrees I attend. Now, on this note, I’d like to share what I’ve experienced in regards to Brothers talking in the middle of the MM drama. During my own degree back in 1996, when the drama began and I was met by 1R, the Brethren were prepping for the 3R situation with the “Canvas” and other items. As the Brothers were discreetly communicating with each other as to who goes where, and what needs to be done, I imagined it as the Brothers creating sounds of the Temple being built, with the clanking and the instructions being given. It fit in nicely! The sounds, or course, diminished as I progress to the 3R part. There was no levity at that point, and the degree went very well. So, in some cases, sideliners talking might actually work, if it’s germane to the degree, and in accordance to what’s going on in the moment during the drama. But what I experienced during my MM degree was not levity, gossip, or other idle talk.

“Do you give the Candidate something to contemplate or study just prior to his Degree?” …I’m uncertain on this one.

“If your Lodge doesn’t do these things, do you think it should?” I do know that more than one member of Chehalis Lodge was not too pleased to learn about a chamber being built in their Lodge. Many looked at it as a Commandry innovation, since a Commandry was in Chehalis Lodge for many years. And, as WB Glenn noted, the ladies’ groups aren’t too keen on esoteric factors of Freemasonry. The best thing we can do to remedy that is education. If they persist with their opinions, we did the best we could.

Further on WB Glenn’s notes: The Chamber he created is Excellent. I was really impressed. The three of us from Centralia did take mental notes and will try to improve Centralia’s accordingly.

“I attended a first degree at another lodge where the lecturer talked so fast that at the end everyone stood up clapping and cheering, shouting ‘new record!’, referring to the speed of the delivery. I was gobsmacked.” I bet you were! I would have been, too, and I would have had more than a few strong words for some Brothers after the meeting. I’ve attended installations that were so fast that it fully had the appearance of “get it done and over with.” Now, that Lodge is almost over with itself.

Another Lodge in the same area did the opening of the Lodge, conferral, Lecture and Charge… in 40 minutes. I was frosted when I showed up to the Lodge to find out the degree was done! (I was to deliver the first degree lecture at this degree, and had traveled 50 miles to do it.) I asked the Master about it, and he said he didn’t know what to say, it was over before it started, and then I confronted the conferring Master/Lecturer, who said, “I don’t know! I just couldn’t help myself!” The lodge did reimburse me for my travel expense, but I was still quite angered by the super-fast method of conferral. I mentioned this to Brothers in my Lodges, and one of them said, “it sounded like you caught the end of a Meth Degree.” Well, I don’t think the Brothers of this Lodge were on anything, but there’s NO WAY the candidate got even a fair Degree experience out of that.

Thankfully, in my area, the Lecturers whose delivery was a 25 minute monologue have passed, and those who remain have really improved their delivery. We have good lecturers in District 17.

… you, know, Glenn, I have no reason to challenge what you said about that super-fast lecture, but knowing that’s happened, and even worse, the sideliners were cheering it, just disturbs me. I’m sorry.

Expand full comment
Nov 17, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

It's all in the intent - because what your lodge chooses to do in the time leading up to a conferral, IS preparing the candidate. Our lodge takes several steps with the intent of creating a very specific experience and mental state of the candidate.

First, prior to his initiation, he receives a wax-sealed letter from the lodge confirming his unanimous election to receive the degrees and the time we'd like him to arrive at the lodge. By the time the candidate arrives, the lodge brothers have already assembled in the lodge room. This ensures there is no profane interaction or distractions. He is met only by the tiler who directs him back to the preparation room where he finds a chamber of reflection prepared for him. After his time in solitude has finished, the SS/JS finish preparing him for his first entrance into a lodge of Masons.

For a conferral, our lodge is dimly lit, use of candlelight, incense and music create a contemplative atmosphere.

Lastly, after the conferral we adjourn to the dining room to unwind with refreshment and Masonic discussion. We introduce his ritual coach, present him with his first book to read (Carl Claudy, EA Degree) and talk about the EA Degree and what we've learned from its teachings. Beginning with our next round of EAs, we will also be presenting them with "The Reflective Freemason Journal" ( https://www.brothersandbonds.com/products/test-sample-1). This was a really great suggestion from one of our lodge brothers.

We have similar things for the FC and MM conferrals, but the point is when we assemble at the lodge, it's for a Masonic experience. This only happens because we put intent behind so many things we do.

Expand full comment