11 Comments
May 11, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

There’s no need to create a new designated place for reflection. You already have a place where you’re alone with your thoughts; the trouble is writing them down…The shower

Aqua Notes Water Proof Note Pad

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01AS5I0ZS/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_P18EXCFJ5FCJ2VNQ4G0F

Expand full comment

That's sn awesome piece! Let me know if they sell those

Expand full comment
May 11, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

During the pandemic I build a small Masonic altar, in front of which (as scheduling allows) upon rising i recite why WM is in the East, at noon, why the JW is in the south, and in the evening why the SW is in the west. I also give the sign and duegard in order of (morning) MM, (noon) EA, (evening) FC. Finally i recite the charge before bed. On the days my Lodge meets I light a candle on that altar and burn incense. In this set up i do not have a specific COR, but i do have a replica scull as a momento mori, and it is part of my meditations.

Expand full comment
May 11, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I've always wanted to have a library. But currently it would have to double as an office, which is not ideal in my opinion.

Expand full comment
May 11, 2022·edited May 11, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

(Bear with me, this is my first post on eMeth.) I have a small COR/Altar I set-up at home as part of my daily "spiritual hygiene", which honestly I practice only 5 or 6 days a week. I set before me on a hassock in front of my easy chair, a velveteen altar cover, several items I might want to use in contemplative meditation including a 3d model of the kabalistic tree of life, burn some incense, and say a short opening prayer. I then write in my daily journal 3 things for which I am grateful for, as I find it sets my chin in a different attitude as I head out the door to work. (Cicero said, "Gratitude is not the greatest of virtues, it is the parent of them all.") I then read at least a couple of pages from one of several Volumes of Sacred Law, (now in volume 13 of the Zohar - sigh), and then meditate for between 5 and 30 minutes. Before closing my altar with prayer, I typically read at least a chapter from a piece of Masonic literature - currently Br. Chuck Dunning's book on "Contemplative Masonry". We recently built a COR in the new Downtown Spokane Masonic Center using great on-line guindance from Br. Mark Stavish. Hidden in a basement corner of the building behind a huge iron door with a skull and crossbones padlock, one enters a room with raw basalt walls, a small table with a candle, skull and crossbones, three dishes containing sulpher, salt and sand, an hourglass, a quill pen and ink well with parchment, a cup for water and a small plate for bread. On parchment are instructions for the lodges which desire to use the COR with the strong admonishment that it is not to be used for "hazing" but for setting the tember of the initiatic process for new Masons and for contemplative meditation for Masters. For new initiates there is a "shock and awe moment" when after a period of time, a hidden switch is flipped on the outside and previously unseen words and elemental symbols painted in black light paint appear on the walls, including V.I.T.R.I.O.L.

Expand full comment
May 12, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I have a personal chamber with a piece of cubical pyrite single crystal, a wooden cube with a star and a black pyramid. I also burn incenses. And the instruments of my personal lodge are the cube and the compass.

Expand full comment