24 Comments
Apr 26, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

The Immediate Past master has to be with the ruling master to blend support in the governance of the lodge, to impart the necessary customs and traditions and yo be guiding the master in the Ritual working by appropriately assisting him.

The duties are not yet over and the Past Masters are real source of support and mentors for masons aspiring to be Masters.

They can be secretaries/ Asst Secretary, Treasurer too for sometime. ( if the incoming master so desires)

Regular attendance and guiding are the predominant vested jobs for PM's

Expand full comment

Tyler doesn't seem like a good fit for someone that could help a new Master. The immediate PM could very well continue the counsel given to the new Master as he did when that Brother was SW.

I was in an educational event in the past year and learnt that some of our Brothers to the north have the office of Director of Ceremonies. That is where the Immediate PM goes. He sits in the East next to the WM. In opinion, a good place from which to whisper wise counsel.

On the other hand, after 5 years in line. Some WM may just want to step back and take a breath. In a Lodge without many active Brothers, a WM may get worn ragged trying to do everything he wants to accomplish in his Lodge. And most likely he is also involved in District activities as WM and in one of the Rites. If a Lodge has many active Brothers than I doubt that the work load of those 5 years is as heavy, as "many hands make light work."

Expand full comment

As I had relayed in our zoom chat last night, I can see different sides of the argument.

In another group I belong to that has elected officers, a new person took over for the last guy that ran things for years and years. Meetings after that were a real struggle, as the past leader kept interjecting how things should be done, sort of not being able to completely let go of his leadership role. While some of his advice was fine, I could see where it would be irritating to constantly have your decisions questioned.

It also seems that the secretary seems to fulfill that DOC role in most lodges.

Filling the tyler's chair is also the hardest position to fill, it's like a master is punishing the brother by casting him out of the lodge room. Now, I've met some brothers that actually volunteer for that chair, it gives them time to study or so whatever it is they do when the door is closed. With the expectation of the immediate PM getting put outside, it alleviates those problems.

Personally I hate being the tyler. You get forgotten about during meetings. You can't hear everything since (at least in our lodge) you're somewhat far away.

In a related topic, I've only been a MM for about 8 years now. When we last had a PM night, we had something like 17 PMs (out of 23 total living PMs) show up. I had previously met 5 of them. And after that night, I never saw them again. Masonry is a lifelong journey brothers.

Expand full comment
Apr 26, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Past masters can be the greatest treasure a Lodge has or the greatest burden. It depends on the Lodge and the PMs. I used to joke when I was the WM about the attack of the zombies, as soon as Lodge was closed a group, always the same group, of elderly PMs would amble toward the east as I packed up and inform me of EVERY mistake I made. I was happy for the feed back, but it was not always communicated in the most friendly manner. There were also some lovely PMs who were supportive, mentoring and just good fiends when I needed them the most. When I was SW I drafted three PMs to advise me as I planned my year. My Lodge had a problem with cliques and I picked brethren that were moderate members of various cliques. I developed my plan for the year, and regularly met with them to bounce my ideas off of them. On many occasions they helped me see ways I could improve and adjust my plan. We ended up having a good year and I chalk a lot of that to the help I got when I was SW. So, I would recommend starting a new tradition for PMs, use them as mentors for the SW and JW. Not only would the junior officers receive positive mentoring, but it builds a working relationship with the incoming Master and the PMs, which is a GREAT political move and good for the stability of the Lodge.

Expand full comment
Apr 26, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I like the concept of the immediate Past Master sitting on the right of the Worshipful Master in the East, as long he learns to keep quiet and let the WM run his meetings. The IPM's obligation is to help keep the WM on-track and offer quiet advice, not say "That's not how *I* ran things in my year." Throwing the IPM outside the West Gate may or may not be the best statement to make: "Your time is over. Shut up and go away." Or, the IPM may actually want to take a break for a year, sit and read, and polish the Tyler's Sword. It's up to the IPM.

As a Past Master, he may have valuable advice for the new Master. He may also have bad advice. He could have made an absolute mess of his term. Some men make better followers than leaders. "It's *my* turn!" is a poor reason to install someone in the East. I personally have seen a Senior Warden encouraged NOT to stand for Worshipful Master because he had problems with running a meeting and had difficulties with ritual.

We all do things differently, and each should be considered on a case-by-case basis.

Expand full comment
Apr 26, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Although I had not been sitting in the East for about 6 months before we went dark, I didn’t experience the walk of the PM zombies at the end of lodge. I had been warned to expect them but only received positive feedback. I knew when I stumbled through the ritual or degree and my outstanding poker face let everyone else know I knew. Putting the junior PM in the Tyler’s chair on the surface seems a punishment. The new Master loses out on potential counsel, although there’s no shortage of that from older PMs, but also will feel he is Master of the lodge, especially if he follows a very well liked Master. I have reached out to a couple of PMs for counsel and have never been disappointed. PMs are a huge source of knowledge and I believe any sitting Master is missing out if he doesn’t seek out a PM during his time in the East.

Expand full comment
Apr 27, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I concur with Mike Priddy as that is what I doing at our lodge. Each Thursday nite several of the younger officers JD, SD, JW and I meet and study the standard work on all three degrees. I have impressed on them that if they know the standard work the East can be very enjoyable and if they don't you know the answer. The PM being present show's his support for the lodge. I didn't mention the SW as he was one my mentor.

Expand full comment
Apr 27, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

OK... it is late and I am slightly under the influence of a a few Rusty Nails. But here are my thoughts. Putting a Past Master in a position of Tyler is a great disservice to him, the Lodge and the current Master. The immediate Past Master has much to offer the current Master as a source of information and support. The Past Master may not say much during meetings because he has learned decorum and patience and may hold his tongue until after the meeting. But he can, and will, offer advice to the Master in helping him govern and guide his Lodge. Too often, we feel Past Masters have served and should be allowed to rest or sit out the inner workings of the Lodge. This is a mistake, my Brothers. This man has served his brothers and is still primed to provide additional information and guidance to the new Master. The wise Master will rely on and seek out the guidance of that Past Master who has just served. In addition, that Past Master has not exhausted his service. He does not just stop caring about his Lodge and his Brothers and want to retire to a position of non-involvement. Even if you feel that as the new Master, your plans for the lodge differ from the direction of the previous Master, there a a number of roles the Past Master can provide to the members. Perhaps he can help guide a committee that is in need of help or coordinate and facilitate Masonic Education. Do not put him aside. He is not ready to abdicate his devotion to the Lodge or the Fraternity. Find some means of utilizing all he has gained in his many experiences. We who serve the Fraternity and our Lodges do not want to fade away after learning what we have in a tenure as Master. We are primed to take on more responsibility and help our Fraternity and Brothers to grow. That is our desire for every moment we spend in Masonry, because when that ends, is when life ends.

Expand full comment
Apr 29, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Until Covid restrictions forced us to meet via Zoom, I met with lots of new, eager and upcoming officers at the Lodge Leadership Retreat every March. I really enjoy teaching classes at this and I hear lots of stories from these officers about what’s happening in their lodges.

There’s a fair amount of resistance to change out there. TTWWADI is what they encounter.

Where does a lot of the resistance come from?

Past Masters.

I’m not saying this is 100% everywhere and all the time. But when it IS encountered, there’s a good bet that’s where it’s coming from.

So my fellow PMs out there- your new Masons and officers are eager to see the lodge to well. They have ideas. Some might seam counter-intuitive. Telling them why something won’t work isn’t helping. Asking them how you can help them is how you help.

Expand full comment

MW, I would like us to discuss Past Masters as we go into elections...thx.

Expand full comment