14 Comments
Jan 13, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Don't we all have different reasons for becoming a Man of the Ancient Craft.

I am a first generation Freemason. My journey started with my Senior Chief in the US Navy scratched my arm deeply while showing me Judo. I asked what scratched me and hr showed me his ring.

That was early 1990's. After a dinner invitation and some reading I knew I wanted to become a Freemason.

2000 I finally petitioned.

Thank you.

Expand full comment
Jan 13, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

When I was a little kid I used to sit on my great grandmother’s back stoop and look at the marbles that were inlaid in the concrete of the sidewalk that ran from the house to the shed. The marbles formed a strange shape, and while I was too young to know that they formed a square and compass with a G in the center, I did learn it was a symbol for the Masons. My family had several members who were Masons, though I did not know what that meant. Later when I was in my teens, I became interested in various metaphysical and Rosicrucian movements and I learned that many of the people who founded and populated these groups were Masons. Freemasonry kept coming up. So, I approached a colleague of my father who I had noticed wearing a Masonic ring and we started a dialogue, that led to my petition. I guess I expected a group of men, spiritually oriented, and who would provide me a grounding in the mystical traditions for Europe.

What I found was a group of manipulative, myopic, argumentative and prejudiced men who would never have been my friends. I tried for two years to make it work, but then after one fairly straight forward betrayal I went home and stayed home. I let my dues lapse. That was in the late 1980s.

Then, in the early 2000s I began to see documentaries and books produced that highlighted the spiritual side of the Craft. I began to hope that maybe things had turned around, or perhaps the Lodge I had been raised in was a poor example. So, I applied for reinstatement, and was readmitted. As I lived 3000 miles away from my home Lodge, I petitioned a local Lodge for admittance.

Did I find what I am looking for? Yes, I have found brethren working thru Masonry to explore the Western Mystical Tradition, and have formed, for me, profound friendships. I have to say though, that these connections mostly exist in the interstitial spaces of the jurisdiction, between Lodges and even between jurisdictions.

Expand full comment
Jan 13, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I had heard, off and on, of Freemasonry for several years. I had watched the “documentaries” and my curiosity had been piqued. I knew and worked with a couple of men who I knew to be Shriners but had no idea they were Masons. In 2012, my very good friend started hinting around about Masonry. He would ask me if I was a traveling man. Of course I didn’t know what that meant. We talked and I submitted a petition. What I found, after over 20 years in law enforcement, was there were still good men in my community. I have developed friendships with many of my Brothers and always look forward to seeing and speaking with them.

Expand full comment

I was "invited/recommended by two uncles to join Freemasonry in Scotland in1955 and gave it serious consideration. I decide to delay entry as at that time I was attending university. After graduation I got married in 1958 and wanted to spend as much time and attention as I could with my wife and over the years with family.

From 1958 to 2006 I was dedicated to my carreer and ended up as a researcher/professor at University of Michigan.

Over the years I lept thinking about Freemasonry including collecting and reading many books and in 2003 I realised I would need something to replace my high activity when I retired in 2006, so the obvious choice was Freemasonry and I joined Plymouth Rock Lodge # 46 in Plymouth Michigan in 2004.

So in my case, joining was a lifetime goal as well as a need for an activity that could fill the vacumm of my earlier carreer. I have never regreted becoming a "Briother", though I now regret waiting so long to join. Me journey has met or exceeded all my expectations.

Expand full comment

Not once did I ever meet a freemason while in the military. Twenty years, never met one. I do think that while I was a teenager dating a girl that eventually became my wife, her grandfather invited me to go to dinner with him and told me to wear nice clothes. Everyone was wearing suits and tie, and the tables were in a U shape if I remember correctly. Not once did anyone tell me what they were and I had no idea what to ask. It wasn’t until I joined the Freemasons in 2013 did I look back and make that connection.

None of my family were Freemasons, and I don’t know if I had even heard of them until a chance encounter with the man who eventually introduced me into the local lodge in town. I had been retired for 15 years, and was working in Seattle, but living in Port Orchard and had no real community involvement. I missed the brotherhood and camaraderie of military life, and figured being part of a group with similar interests was what I needed to fill that void. I don’t regret it one bit.

Expand full comment
Jan 13, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

My Great Uncle, Ed Golden, joined Henry Greene Lodge No. 250 in 1963 while he was active in the military. He moved to Tenino in the early 1970’s, and affiliated with Tenino No. 86 50 years ago this month. He recommended his nephew (My uncle) to join about 10 years after that, which is 40 years ago this year. He went on to preside over the Tenino Lodge in 1987, when I was in Junior High school. From that point, I had been around Freemasons more often, although a couple of them I had known since I could remember. I had joined the Cub Scouts, then the Junior Grange, where I learned ritual with my Brother, and went through the chairs, only for that Grange to fold the year I was slated to preside as the “Worthy Master.” I was kind of disappointed, but I then focused more on high school and college, but I also attended Tenino Lodge’s installations, getting to know those Brothers better. So when I petitioned in 1995, when I was 21, I knew the two Brothers who investigated me pretty well, one of them (C.J. Fox) since I was a kid. So it was a pretty easy-going investigation because C.J. could already vouch for me, as could most of the active members of the Lodge, for that matter. I was “warned” that there would be a lot of memory work, but I saw that as a fun goal to achieve, as I wanted to learn the ceremonies I had seen since I was a teenager. That mission was accomplished within the decade, as I was able to install a Lodge by about 2003.

A big key for why I remain is the Tenino Brothers worked by the Charges. If I messed up, they didn’t berate me and call me a “Dumbass” or other derogatory terms, as I heard all too frequently in school when I grew up. They did inform me of my mistake, showed me how to correct it, but made sure I did the work to correct; they didn’t do it for me. I quickly wound up in the East, being installed Worshipful Master when I was 24. It was a steep learning curve, but once again, the “old-timers” were there to assist, and to make sure I learned those lessons correctly. Iron sharpens iron, and it didn’t stop there. To this day, I’m learning things from my Brothers. Learning The Right Way. And over time, I was able to pay it forward by teaching the newer members in the same way I learned from my Tenino Brothers. This isn’t all that Freemasonry is about, but it’s a big part of it.

Expand full comment
Jan 13, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I am finding what I am seeking and much more

Expand full comment

When I got out of the Navy in 1961 I asked a member in my church how to become a Mason and he told me I had to be asked. After I retired and moved to Maine my good friend asked if I ever thought about becoming a Mason and I told him my story and the next day I was handed a petition.

Finding what I was looking for can be best answered by a line in the MM degree: By my own endeavors and your assistance, I am in hopes to find. That is a lifelong journey for a lot of Masons.

Expand full comment
Jan 14, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

As a teenager, I was asked by my best friend and neighbor if I wanted to become a DeMolay. I asked about it and he informed me what he knew about it, his Father was a Mason. I became a DeMolay, never went thru the chairs but always enjoyed the things we did together as a group. I knew then that "someday" I would become Mason.

It wasn't till many years later that I finally petitioned to become a Mason. It then took me about 3 years to finally finish my 3 degrees as I was heavily involved with my union at that time. I decided that my little country Lodge needed me far more than my union did. So I threw my energy behind finishing my degrees.

Just happened that in 2011 in Washington state the Grand Lodge was scheduled near us, so that gave me motivation to become a Master Mason. I made it just so I could attend Grand Lodge.

I guess I should really back up and explain that when I put in my petition, I thought I was joining a different lodge than the one I was actually petitioning. At the time I was disappointed because that Lodge is much bigger, was in way better condition that the Lodge I became a member of.

After becoming a Master Mason, I then learned about the awesome works my humble little Lodge pulls off with the help of Masons throughout Washington & Oregon.

We have this annual event where Masons are willing to travel for literally hours to attend. We call it White Socks & Wigs. Typically, a really good meal is offered, after we eat, we open lodge & then turn over the meeting to the Grand Master of Washington & Oregon who then "roast" the members in attendance will silly "fines" .

I say "silly fines" because they are similar to the following: "Do you see Brother Steve's tie?? Can you believe how ugly it it??" Usually laugher erupts.....then "Brother Steve your fine is $3.00 BUT, why are all of you laughing?? Your fine is $5.00"

All these fines are counted at the end of the night, with a roomful of people, usually numbering 25-30, the total is around $2500 to $3,000. What does my lodge do with these funds??? We purchase back to school clothes for the needy children of the tiny little community we once were part of, Vader, Washington. Google Vader, Washington and read bout it, you will immediately see how great the need for this work is.

About 10 years ago, we added selecting tags off the community giving tree at Little Crane Cafe during the holidays. All these amazing things happen because Brothers come from all over to support our important work, we can not do it without your support!!!

that is a very long story to say....My reason for sticking around and putting my energy behind help keeping my Lodge alive & trying to grow it, is the work we do for children! I'm also very proud of the fact we added "Books for Kindles" with a very small 2 room country school! In my mind, there is no more important work than supporting our youth with whatever needed to ensure they get the absolute best education their efforts can attain.

I also ask that if you are anywhere near Centralia, Washington & can attend a White Socks & Wigs night.....DO IT!!! You will have a very enjoyable evening spent with Brothers who, I'm quite certain, have the same values as you. Bring whatever amount of money your cable tow will allow, just remember, these children deserve to look like their peers when they attend school & the clothes, while it may seem such a minor thing, help these children fit in & studies have shown that it helps them.

Expand full comment
Jan 14, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I am a 3rd generation mason out of the Grand Lodge of Indiana. My dad waited for me to ask; he never hinted about it, but never hid it. I wanted the bond with my family. Through masonry I have found so much more. I am so trusting in masonry that I agreed to move 2000 miles away to where my wife has family and I know no one, but I knew there are Masonic lodges. I knew brothers where close; and that makes the journey easier.

Expand full comment
author

Why did I join?

At the risk of boring people who have heard this before, this is my story.

When I was a really little kid, like from birth to six years old, we had an older couple that lived in the house next door to us. I still remember, he was an extremely active and proud Shriner. I would visit them every day, and I thought that they were my grandparents. As they didn't have grandchildren of their own, they were good with that.

So, I grew up wanting to be a Shriner, but actually a Freemason, because I did understand that Shriners were Masons.

When I was six or seven, we moved, and so did they, so I didn't see them nearly as much as I had before, but whenever I did, he still talked about Masonry, and the Shrine, and I still saw him doing a lot of that.

He ended up dying while I was still quite young.

So, I became an adult, and I waited for an invitation to join the Masons to come.

A long time passed, and I kept waiting. I was elected Mayor of my City, and that resulted in invitations to join just about every organization in the City, but still nothing from the Masons. And I didn't know any Masons, even though they had a Temple not far from my home.

Eventually I saw a 2b1ask1 bumper sticker and figured it out! I took it from there, kicking myself at how dumb I'd been, waiting all those years.

As for that man from my childhood, his Nile Fez is now displayed right next to my Afifi Fez.

Did I find that which I was seeking?

Yes. But I had to in some ways create it myself. I had to find Masons who had interests similar to my own, learn from them, and then bring that which I learned back to my Lodge.

Why do I remain?

Because in a way our lives are a drama. Maybe it is something like a marriage filled with plenty of both love and hate. Or a personal struggle with a substance. Or fishing, us against the fish. Whatever it may be, we will have some form of drama, some fight that will occupy us for a lifetime.

Masonry is a struggle of light over darkness. Good over evil. Liberty over slavery. It is the ultimate struggle, the ultimate drama. It is a worthy endeavor for any man.

Expand full comment