27 Comments

The first time I went into the East. The inner work was done by a Brother who's ritual memory work was impeccable and he delivered it with wonderful dramatic flair. The GM, DDGM and others attending who then welcomed me to the East was humbling and quite a night. But throughout my Masonic journey, it is often the quiet conversations with Brothers in moments at the side of Lodge events or outside that have often been the most meaningful and insightful.

Expand full comment
author

I understand what you are saying. I've got a lot of really fond memories from when I was going through the Degrees, just my mentor and I, talking in his living room, sharing Scotch. Now that I'm more seasoned, I do a lot of mentoring of new Masons, and there really isn't much better way to truly get to know a man then sitting down and spending so much time going through things.

Expand full comment

One of my fondest was when I was driving with Bro. Earl Banks, he was an RCAF pilot in WW2, flew Hurricanes as defence patrols and Spitfires a few times. As we drove along, when he was 94, in his Jag, I asked him what his favourite plane was. He thought a moment, looked at me, smiled, and then said "Hurricanes. They crash better." He'd crashed 4 times in his pilot career. Three during the Battle of Britain and once post-war in the Canadian arctic. They just don't make them like that anymore. He lived to be 103. A true Mason through and through.

Expand full comment
author

What a great memory! To get to know a man like that.

I will say though, maybe my desire to fly would have left me after crash No. 1!

Expand full comment
Jan 9Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

When I had been readied for my EA degree, I knocked & was received on the 1st point... I knew not what was happening so I leaned forward which caused a slight panic amongst my conductors!

Expand full comment
author

I can see that! Especially if the sharp instrument in question was actually sharp!

Expand full comment
Jan 10Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

It was sharp!

Expand full comment
author

Did you make them feel guilty afterwards?

Expand full comment
Jan 10Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

No. I’ve been a warrior type since puberty.

Honestly, I wasn’t afraid.

I figured that I was being welcomed into an ancient fraternity and that if we were gonna dance, then Let’s Have A Dance!

Expand full comment
Jan 10Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

There was a small mark on my chest, though.

HAHA!

Expand full comment
author

I wasn't worried either. (Except for the whole watch thing mentioned above!) I just figured that millions of men had gone through the exact same thing and lived to tell about it!

Expand full comment
Jan 10Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

For me, that first point on the EA was on the wrong side. I'll always remember that.

Also cool was my conductor, who had known me since I was a kid, was a Pearl Harbor Survivor.

Expand full comment
author

Yep, I imagine you won't forget that!

Expand full comment
Jan 10Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

In my FC degree I was fortunate enough to receive the long form lecture... I was truly impressed by dedication that Brother Mark Williams had put into the rote work.

Truly , I was floored by that presentation!

Expand full comment
author

Here in Washington, we only have one version of the FC lecture, so I'm not sure if it would be considered the long or the short.

Expand full comment
Jan 10Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

He might mean the one where you include all the dialogue in the brackets.

Expand full comment
Jan 10Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

This was in 1999. Not sure if it was changed since then. I had a long sojourn outside of the Craft until the last 4 years.

Expand full comment
Jan 10Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

My Degrees were held at Mt. Hood Lodge #32 all those years ago.

Expand full comment
author

Ah, one of my very favorite Lodges in our Jurisdiction! The Brothers in that Lodge, and really in all the Vancouver area Lodges are doing a superb job, and I think having a lot of fun.

Expand full comment
Jan 10Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I wish I could be more active, but between work and mountain life, family...

Expand full comment
author

I understand that, but the time will come. Kids will grow up, things will slow down.

Expand full comment
Jan 10Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Here’s the classic for you:

1st degree: later this month, it’ll be 28 years, and sure enough, the upcoming weather is what happened for the degree. It was cold, then started snowing during my EA degree. And to make matters worse, while the Lodge had the heat on, the weights on the vents came off, closing the heater vent that went upstairs. Which meant the Lodge room had no heat during the degree. Needless to say, I remember a lot of that degree, and I was quite happy when the first section was over, at least from the temperature standpoint!

But the story didn’t end there, as the Centralia Lodge contingent that attended the degree carpooled to Tenino in my Landlord’s 1991 Cadillac, which had the old-school in-set headlights. That came into play on the way home, as the snow fell so hard that it built up in the headlight wells until it blocked the headlights, and it got dimmer and dimmer until the guys couldn’t see where they were going, and they had to stop and clear the headlights to be able to continue! This snowstorm, along with others, contributed to what came up in early February as the Flood of 1996 that once again put the city of Centralia underwater. Gave me extra time to study for the next degree…

Third degree. So we had a get-together before the meeting, then all but one went upstairs, and my uncle admonished me to not react in a negative manner upstairs. I wondered what he meant, and I and a Brother from the old Occident Lodge No. 99 (now 48) were the only ones downstairs in the dining room. He was nice enough, but he didn’t speak. So I could hear the thump, thump, thump of the deacons walking upstairs, followed by muted “clap clap clap”s and some door knocks. No dialog, it was too muted. But the quietness downstairs and the admonishment had me worked up.

Then, the 3 knocks, and a door closing. Then, click – Boom. Click – boom. One step at a time, the Tyler came downstairs. (He had a cane.) One for every step. It’s time. Click – Boom. Still no word from the other Brother downstairs. Just the Click – Boom. Then it stopped, as the Tyler was now downstairs, and he came around the corner and said “we’re ready for ya!” in a jolly manner. I followed him upstairs and by the time I got into the Preparation room, I was fully wound up. I remember almost everything in that degree because of that. There was much more in that degree that I remember that could help in future MM degrees, but it’s all esoteric, so it’s not appropriate for this forum.

Another memory was a little more somber – Again, in January. This time, 2009. The Deputy of the Grand Master had called and asked to join me for lunch at the Olympic Club. We met and had lunch, where he asked me if I was willing to replace him as the Deputy for the 2009-2010 year. I told him I had to think about it, and he gave me to the end of the month.

Two days later, my Grandfather suffered a cerebral hemorrhage.

Obviously, my focus changed, and fortunately, he survived it, although he never did fully recover from it, as he was in his 80’s. He passed of the complications 3 years after this incident. Nevertheless, I remember the neurosurgeon at St. Peter’s Hospital admonishing us that this situation was not age related, that it could happen to anyone at any age. That “memento mori” moment got me in gear. Carpe Diem. A couple of days later, I called up Brian and said I’ll do it. I got the formal phone call from then-RWB Gale Kenney a week or so later.

Another good memory goes back to early December of 2014 – involving Cameron himself! Calling to see if I was willing to volunteer to represent our Fraternity at the State Capitol. I remember asking him when he needs an answer, because he said, “This phone call! I need an answer before I hang up! Yes or no.” Learning the lesson from 5 years earlier, I jumped on it and said YES. It was one of the smarter decisions I made in my life.

So many good memories in my life related to this Fraternity, and the Brothers involved in it. It has definitely made me a better man.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for sharing these memories with us! I only knew one of these stories, it is great to know the others as well!

Expand full comment
Jan 10Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I’d like to personally thank you for that last story – it’s hard to believe it’s been 9 years last Monday since I first stepped foot on campus on behalf of our Grand Lodge. It was a STEEP learning curve, but it was well worth it! Everyone benefitted from our efforts, and the Lodges are still utilizing the fruits of our efforts to this day.

I was very fortunate that my Grandfather lived to see my full term as the Deputy, as well as my second term as Worshipful Master of Tenino Lodge. I got to share more stories with him, and I learned more about his service in World War II before he passed. While he was not a Freemason, he had known about them when he grew up in Colorado, and he did live respected and died regretted, just like us. Some of our more senior members of Centralia Lodge remember him well.

I have tried to incorporate many of the nuances that the Brothers who conferred the Drama for my MM Degree had done, whether done intentionally or by “accident” (and it worked well). I have explained some of them in my travels, and I believe some of them are now simply part of what we now do. It’s been 28 years, so I can’t really remember them all that have now been incorporated into the Drama, but I know some have.

Expand full comment
author

It is good when our parents and grandparents can live to see some of the major milestones of our lives!

Expand full comment
Jan 23Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I was initiated in Lodge Toryglen 1561 in Glasgow Scotland and for my 3rd together with three other brethren we were placed on the ground and covered with an old shroud

This shroud had been stored somewhere that must have had all sorts of beasties , cats, dogs etc which left their mark or should I say odour.

We felt as if we were actually interred because of the stench. I have never forgotten that . It made such an impression on me.

Expand full comment
author

Well, that's certainly a memory that would stick!

I've seen some of our Lodges here fold up the large canvas to cover the man's body, but I've not seen the face covered. Some will also use a box, generally some lightweight thing that can be broken down. Those that do will often have some means to make it sound as if earth is being placed.

One of my Lodges had a Brother who was skilled at woodworking build an actual box, much as would be used in the outside world for its intended purpose, to hold the man. It is a cool addition to things, but is so heavy that it can only be used when there are enough younger and stronger Masons present to pull it off safely.

Expand full comment