14 Comments

Sometimes I think that interests in Masonry find you. Whether we are pushed or trip into a position, like participating in a Degree, attending Memorial service, moving through the chairs, finding a appendendant body and such. You find out that you liked it and want more information or want to participate. We are a large expansive state, there's always something to do and learn. We have speakers around the state, even our Canadian brothers. We've been isolated for two years and it's about time we get out and expand our minds and enrich our souls.

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Based on looking at the rather eclectic and random nature of my Masonic bookcase I tend to agree with Ill. Bro. Pike, but having said that there are things that are more of an interest to me than others. If you make me pick my top 3….probably history and development of ritual, changes in the “lodge experience” over time, and the history of the grand lodge of Louisiana. Honestly though I’m just happy to talk about anything about Masonry with my Brothers, hahaha.

Just out of curiosity how many books do folks have in their personal Masonic library? I’ll count mine when I get home.

Expand full comment

History (well, history in general, that includes masonry), and symbolism within the ritual. Not just the symbols themselves, but why they were picked to illustrate a particular thing? Probably the single most neglected thing within the fraternity.

Expand full comment