13 Comments
Mar 4, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

VWB Ron Singleton helped me the "Additional Proficiency" for my First Degree. RW Cameron helped me with my in Lodge Proficiency for my First Degree. WB Rich Lathrope helped me prepare for my first Conferral which was for 5 EA's. VW Clayton La Vigne has offered me invaluable help along the way and has been an inspiration to emulate him. I have found that each Lodge meeting I go to is a "Class" and I learn something from each one. So far I have attended a Stated Meeting in 51 different Lodges and I think much can be gained by doing that.

Expand full comment
author

I'll relate my own experiences.

When I look back on my time going through the degrees, I remember a lot of men who I consider as mentors.

VW Larry, who at that time was a fairly new Mason himself, took on the role of driving me to Lodge those first few months. The drive gave him a chance to talk with me about Masonry, and it gave me the opportunity to ask any questions I might have. He also drove me to visit other Lodges, almost killing us both on I-405 while headed to Lakeside Lodge, but we did manage to survive.

W Andre, who was my 'official' mentor, would meet with me quite frequently in his beautiful home, sharing his scotch. He taught me the Posting Lectures. Even more importantly, he shared his large Masonic library with me, and pointed me in the direction of finding books and information about my own unique Masonic interests.

W Tom was the Worshipful Master at the time. He drove me around to visit other Lodges too. This time in the car, which I had a lot of with Larry, Andre, and Tom, was truly a great way to get to know the men of my Lodge. Even when Andre and I drove all the way to Vashon Island to visit the Lodge there, only to find out that we were a week early! It was good though, we managed to track down the Lodge Secretary, and ended up spending some time, and sharing a meal with him.

VW Cary was the Grand Lecturer at the time. He performed my Fellow Craft lecture. He did it so amazingly well that I didn't truly understand that it was being done from memory. It seemed to me, at the time, that he and I were just having a conversation. I've never forgotten something he told me that night, that "No man ever joined Freemasonry to sit through a business meeting." I've tried to hold on to that wisdom throughout my entire Masonic career.

MW Sam also stands out strongly in my mind. I was the first person in quite a while in my Lodge to actually do the Posting Lectures. The Lodge had relied for quite awhile on the Alternate Proficiency. Well, there was one small hiccup, in one of the Degrees. That was that there was a part of the Lecture in which no one in the Lodge knew what the cipher was trying to say. So, off we went, a car load of us to visit then VW Sam who explained it to us. He also imparted a strong lesson in me about how the ritual should be performed, with feeling and emotion, not in dry monotone. Lastly, at that time, I remember a remark he made. "A properly cooked chili dog is a lot better than improperly cooked prime rib." I've tried to remember that as well while cooking for the Lodge, for truly there is wisdom contained within.

As I've moved on from candidate to Master Mason, and through the Lodge and Grand Lodge lines, I've continued to look for other men to emulate. Men who seem to be to exemplify all the good that is Masonry. I think that Mentorship is a life long process, not just something for new Masons.

Expand full comment
Mar 6, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Mentoring should go beyond degree work and lodge function. Mentoring should include thoughtful discussion of the meaning behind the allegory. Mentoring should include life coaching on how to be a better husband better father better employer manager or worker, a better MAN. Mentoring should also include fellowship OUTSIDE the lodge. Invitations to social events parties sporting events etc. All the things that brothers and friends do.

Expand full comment