11 Comments
Oct 11, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

There are a few that I really enjoy;

Fraternal Review - deep dive into a topic

Freemasonry in 7 Minutes of Less - nice concise episodes on one item

Meet, Act & Part - range of topics and friendly presenters

The Ashlars - An interesting perspective from India

Whence Came You - range it items per episode and massive backlog of episodes

Expand full comment

I listen to The Working Tools Podcast. Great interviews from Brothers in Washington and British Columbia & Yukon Jurisdictions.

Expand full comment
Oct 11, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I listen to these podcasts on youtube, this allows me to have the visual as well.

The Masonic Roundtable- This is probably the most informative conversations on a wide range of topics. All the hosts are very knowledgeable and bring a lot of information to the conversations. This is the most "scholarly" in regards to Education that I have found.

Masonic Improvement- This is a podcast our of Texas. They focus on bringing masonry back to its roots and wanting to improve the lodge experience. I have taken a lot of things they have talked about and think about how that could be applied to my lodge. I feel this mentality is what is going to help keep lodges open.

The Working Tools Podcast- I just started this one a few weeks ago and the hosts do vary in ideals of freemasonry, which I feel is most accurate representation of the diversity of opinions. I have enjoyed these as they dive in to topics and then also compare them to what the BC/Yukon Jurisdiction is doing.

At Refreshment- I can respect the brotherly banter but found this the most crude of all masonry podcasts I have listened to. I did not really think it would be a big deal but I feel the language is out of place for the craft.

Expand full comment
Oct 11, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I was only marginally aware of the other podcasts beyond The Working Tools, but thoroughly enjoy their content. I listen to keep pace with updates and changes in my jurisdiction and others and to challenge my own understanding of masonic topics. I wonder if we should put more emphasis in our lodges on the existence of these information sources, perhaps taking time to discuss in masonic education sessions.

Expand full comment

I often watch The Masonic Roundtable myself and listen to Whence Came You podcast on occasion as well. Having these additional sources, from Brothers that reside beyond my jurisdiction, is something that I think everyone should take advantage of - taking a look at things from someone else's viewpoint is always a good thing.

I am one of your readers that does appear on a podcast, at least periodically. I'm on The Granite Cornerstone Podcast, which is supported by the Grand Lodge of New Hampshire (https://www.youtube.com/c/NewHampshireFreemasons). We're about to launch Season 2 and the focus is on topics that are of interest to Freemasons in NH, but also typically have a wider appeal. It's been a lot of fun getting it started up, and we're looking forward to getting back into a rhythm of a monthly broadcast. It would be great to have a few more folks join us for our live sessions - typically in the evening of the 4th Sunday of the month - check the YouTube page or on the Facebook page for the Grand Lodge of New Hampshire for the exact time.

Expand full comment
Oct 11, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Spotify has the audio podcasts for the Short Talk Bulletins which cover a wide variety of subjects. Many are with a perspective from as far back as 1923. Someone reads the hard copy of the Short Talk Bulletins and there is at least one added every month. I have actually used them with a cord from my phone to a speaker for Masonic Education in Lodge.

Expand full comment
Oct 11, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I am a mason who 3 yrs ago moved to a new state and the job I have is at night which doesn’t let me attend my local lodge. Podcast fill the void of attendance and keeps me up to date and educated. I listen to TMR, WCY, The Working Tools, The winding Stairs, Short talk bulletin, Historical Light and Rocky Mountain Mason.

Expand full comment
author

Here are some that I enjoy:

The Scholomance Project. Focused on the Western Esoteric Tradition, by a great Brother from the Grand Lodge of British Columbia and the Yukon.

https://www.scholomance.ca/

The Working Tools Podcast. The hosts are from Washington and B.C., all quite knowledgeable about Freemasonry, and it is great to hear the different perspectives as they interview their guests.

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-working-tools-podcast/id1470810240

Square & Compass Promotions. By Brother Cameron Adamson in Ontario, Canada. He travels a great deal, even to Mexico with the Grand Lodge of Washington last year, so has a tremendous mix of guests and topics.

https://squareandcompass.ca/

I know all of the Brothers who produce the podcasts above, and know them all to be superb Masons.

Given my recent post about the Tarot, I think it fitting to include a specific show from Refracted Light. Jaime Paul Lamb can explain the Masons who created the modern Tarot much better than I ever could. Unfortunately, I didn't find this episode until after I wrote my recent post:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lfbrt60n2_U

Expand full comment