10 Comments
Nov 12, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

When my time arrives I would like a Masonic funeral. My family knows how passionate I am about Masonry and though I haven’t spoken to them directly about my burial wishes, considering I’m just 24, I am certain my Brothers would reach out and inform them of the possibility and they would be on board.

I have been to one Masonic funeral and I found the ceremony to be beautiful. Showing both sorrow for the passing of a Brother yet at the same time elation that the will of the Creator has been carried out and our Brother is now at refreshment at His side.

Expand full comment

I have participated in several masonic funerals and even conducted one. It is the final honors we can bestow on a brothers lifetime of involvement with the craft. I think my lodge does a great job performing one.

The very first time I was involved in one, MW Matt Martin conducted. There we were, in our suits and ties, white gloves and aprons, MW with his top hat and PGM apron in the chapel, and I looked at our audience and was a little shocked. Some of the family managed to dress appropriately, but most looked like they just fell off the turnip truck. Jeans, t-shirts, sneakers, a couple guys wearing their hats. This is not what I was taught growing up. Weddings and funerals were at the very least semi-formal.

And speaking of hats, that is a particular pet peeve of mine. Since when did it become socially acceptable to wear hats indoors, especially while dining? In the military it is of course pounded into your head that you took off your cover indoors (unless under arms)., and you never ever ate with it on. When I go out to eat at a restaurant, so many men are wearing their hats. Even older gentlemen who I would assume know better. Yes, culture changes, but manners never should go out of style.

Expand full comment
Nov 12, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

“When you die, do you want a Masonic funeral or not?

Why, or why not?” The short answer is yes. Why? Not for me, that’s for sure. I’ll be dead. But it provides the Lodge an opportunity to provide a positive closure for my family and Brothers.

“Do you find the symbolism within the funeral ceremonies meaningful?” More importantly, I’ve found that others find the ceremonies to be beautiful. When you have Catholic Nuns approach your family and tell them that your Great-Uncle’s Masonic funeral is one of the most impressive funeral ceremonies they’ve witnessed, you know the Memorial Services are meaningful. I had one Brother who thought the Funeral Grand Honors might have too much of an “Unga-bunga” appearance in this day and age, and might freak out some members of the public, but I’ve never heard anyone say anything to that effect.

“Have you made your family, and your Lodge aware of your wishes?” Excellent question. Right now, I think the answer is an understood, since almost all of my family members a generation ahead of me are still alive, and know I would want a Masonic Funeral should I pass in the near future. But if I should make it to old age, it would behoove me to assure that the Lodge knows I want a Masonic Funeral, since I have no kids. And put this in a more formal manner, rather than word-of-mouth.

“Has some provision, large or small, been made for your Lodge, or Masonry, in your will?” This is similar to my previous answer, as I should be taking these issues into consideration, sooner than later.

“When it has been called upon to perform a Masonic funeral, has your Lodge been able to do it with honor and dignity?” At this time, that’s a resounding YES. However, the Brother who does such an excellent job presiding over funerals is now in his mid 80’s, and we only have a couple of Brothers who can do such a good job. It’s tough, as many funerals are on weekday afternoons, and many of our Brothers are working their jobs during that time. That’s why I never learned the Funeral ceremonies, as I’d be called to do these ceremonies from time to time, and being a small business owner, they’d say I’m self-employed and can take off whenever I can. Well, that’s simple to say, but it takes discipline to be self-employed, and that means saying “NO” to a lot of requests. It’s much easier when you tell your Brothers you don’t know the ritual; they’ll be less likely to push you to take work off all the time.

That being said, we had a Brother who passed away a day before his 100th Birthday, and his grandson stopped by the Shop, told me about it, and told me the date of his funeral, and asked if some Freemasons could attend. I got the word around, and indeed, some Brothers did show up, only to find out the family wanted a Masonic Funeral! I didn’t know that, so I didn’t relay that request, but the Brothers who showed up grabbed their Standard Works and rumbled through the ceremony, reading all of it and doing the best they can. I found out about what happened shortly afterwards, and those Brothers all agreed that the family was most appreciative of the service. Now I wouldn’t recommend that Brothers show up to a Masonic funeral unprepared, but families also understand if the Masonic Lodge is doing what they can for their departed Brother.

Expand full comment

I want a Masonic funeral, not for selfish means, but for my family who never received any funeral in Nazi Germany. When I moved back to the northwest 8 years ago, one of first thing I attended was a Masonic funeral, graveside. Whether we'll attended or a few, it hit home that in our Degrees and ritual we remind all of us of life's fraility and when we ascend to that house not made with hands. Because Masonry gave me hope in the darkest of times, I honor the Craft by my actions and in the end, having my Masonic family send me off with a service, would be my greatest joy. One year as Master, I performed Masonic funeral services for 11 Brothers, some brothers only living in the area. I performed with some officers in churches, funeral homes and graveside. Because they're family had requested it, I felt obligated to perform with dignity and respect. As my wife lays here in hospice care, I know her wishes. I have it in a will, but I need to share it's content with others. Just reading a scroll in Lodge, does not do a Brother justice. Some family don't want anything to do with Masons. But the Lodge should spend more than a couple of minutes to remember their passing. And so when your time comes, hopefully the Brothers will remember you in the same way.

Expand full comment

Masonry has been a large part of my life and my family knows to ask my home lodge to perform a Masonic Service when I pass on. The average age in my lodge is 67 so we have done several over the years and do a very serious service for a departed Brother.

Expand full comment