4 Comments

The study of the 7 liberal arts is a must for whoever wants to reach the real initiation (not just the one that grants membership).

The majority of the masons think that learning the rituals and the instructions is enough. But many fail to realize that is necesary to wander out to grasp the knowledge amd wisdom.

Masons are known as travelers, and traveling means to be able to get out of the comfort zone and learn beyond the obvious path.

So, yes, we can learn about Freemasonry by going out of the lodge. A look at the initiates of the past will show us that this is true, those initiates were members of various mysteries schools at the same time, because they recognize that there is more outside.

Expand full comment

I did not know there were so many 18th century luminaries in one lodge.

That certainly sets the tone for Masonic education.

Expand full comment

I think context is key on this one. “Neuf Soeurs,” of course means “nine sisters,” but not any ennead of female siblings, but the Nine Muses themselves: the Classical embodiments of the fine arts. So, I suspect the brethren had a specific vision for this lodge heralded by that name.

(And our word “literature” derives from the Latin word for grammar.)

It’s not my field, but I believe the literature of 18th century France that these particular men were talking about was grounded in science and reason, as a means of overthrowing the Ancien Régime of monarchy and church, rather than purely creative writing for pleasure’s sake.

Jay

Expand full comment

In my opinion, absolutely. An education in the arts is an education into the experience of being human. My education is primarily in the sciences, but I have sought a better education in the arts, and I am so glad I did. For example, I took an ‘Art Appreciation’ class. In that class I did not just learn to identify particular pieces of art, but also learned about the period in which it was created, the politics, religion and culture of the artists, and the philosophical and political context of its creation. I learned that some art caused riots and political change, some expressed new ideas and led to new ways of thinking. In literature I experienced lives lived in times and places that are alien to me, and I was compelled to think about situations and events differently. In short, every novel I read gave me the experience of a life other than my own, even if fictitious, I got to see a problem, challenge or situation through someone else’s eyes. I also got to see, reading the classics, that ancients lived lives not so different from ours, and from historians of the classical age that the complexities of their world were not so different from ours.

The one caveat I would add is inspired by our Fellowcraft degree, and from the example of the Seven Muses Lodge. The Arts can be idealistic, and sometimes compel us to unrealistic ideas (which is not necessarily a bad thing). When an education in the Arts is balanced with an education in the Sciences, a more balanced development can be achieved, in my opinion. Look at the men you listed in your post, who were members of the 7 Muses, Franklin as an example, A man of the Arts and the Sciences. In the Fellowcraft degree, Arts and Sciences are both discussed, and I think that is wisdom.

I could go on for hours, but in short, yes, an education in the arts can help make a better Mason, and if not a Mason, it can make a better person.

Expand full comment