14 Comments
Sep 22, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

In my jurisdiction there's no such thing. Or if there is, I'll put it this way: I'm involved in lodge leadership and I don't know what/where it is. There is a "leadership academy" event, but it focuses exclusively on ritual proficiency, so I think it's a good (but misnamed) event. The only thing I can think of that's really like what you're talking about is the Past Master's degree.

Expand full comment
Sep 22, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I was fortunate to attend the LLR for three years. I found it very helpful in organizing my thoughts and ideas for my year as Master. I think the best part of the weekend was the opportunity to re-connect and network with other Masons from around the jurisdiction. I learned that, although we were from the same jurisdiction, many of us did things a little differently. I am fortunate that I belong to a lodge that has paid for its future leaders to attend and I feel it has paid off for the lodge. It was a very positive experience. I will add that I believe every Mason, at least the ones I have met, have the skills and abilities to lead the men of their lodge. and the LLR is an opportunity to hone those skills.

Expand full comment
Sep 22, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I’m in a small Lodge. Our funds and our organizational capacity are limited.

Going to Grand Lodge is important, but we will be fine whether sending three, or one with proxies.

Lodge Leadership Retreat is far more important for building organizational capacity at the Lodge level.

What a great variety of courses, thought out well and delivered well.

My opinion: our Lodge can’t afford to cover expenses for just one, we’ve got to send three.

Expand full comment

I've managed to attend every year outside of the trainwreck called covid. If the lodge didn't provide funds for me to go, I paid for it myself as I felt it was too important for me as a mason to not miss the invaluable experience it provided.

Lodges, even lodges run by a lot of past masters, should consider sending their pillared officers. Just because you are a past master doesn't mean you wouldn't gain something out of it. The programs are much more varied than secretary training or how to set an agenda. But it also would be very important to send the young masons moving up the chairs as it can both teach them as well as inspire.

I am a huge booster for lodges to have their members, especially the pillared officers, to attend.

I am just sad they moved it from Pasco to Wenatchee. The Red Lion Inn was a terrific facility and we were treated very well there.

Expand full comment
Sep 22, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

District 2 puts on an annual Leadership Retreat up at Masonic Park in Granite Falls. While there is some "Death-by-PowerPoint" there are good lessons to learn, discussions to be had a fellowship around the fire in the evenings. I found it valuable and have attended for several years, however it's always fell on my birthday weekend and now that I'm no longer in the line, I will not be attending this year.

Mill Creek #243 pays for our lodge officers to attend so that there is no cost to them. I think leadership training of any kind, is valuable to a lodge and gives guidance on how to plan your year in the east. Giving the brethren ideas for events, being organized and such, prevents being sucked into "This is how we've always done it."

Receiving training, as others have mentioned, enhances the proficiency and competency of how the lodge operates. Providing Masonic Education during meetings is what helps bring other brethren into lodge and keeps stated meetings from becoming boring "business meetings" and reading of the minutes.

Expand full comment
Sep 22, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

The Lodge Leadership Retreat provides good information, presented well, and suggests that the training doesn't stop there. What is gained in class *needs* to be taken back to the lodge and passed on to the Brethren. The retreat is about leadership. That means passing on the lessons learned to members who will be coming behind you. I suggest having your own leadership retreat at the lodge level, to further sow the seeds of self-improvement. Just my thoughts...

Expand full comment