27 Comments
Nov 29, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Yes!

There’s no need to fumigate the lodge room and menace anyone who may have some respiratory problem, but a few whiffs of frankincense at the inner door, as the hoodwinked aspirant enters the worshipful lodge, and some more at the altar during the obligation will cement (see what I did there?) in his mind the experience of his initiation.

We talk about the sense of smell in the lecture of the Second Degree, so we ought to give everyone something stimulating but calming to smell.

I could go on and on.

Jay

Expand full comment
Nov 29, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

The ritual is used in the order of Athelstan along with the beehive, the sword, the anchor and the ark, the 47th problem of Euclid,the hour glass, the scythe, the spade, the coffin and the sprig of acacia.

Expand full comment

That is something I have never seen in a UK Lodge

Expand full comment
Nov 29, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I favor a richer Lodge ritual experience, and appropriate use of incense can be part of this.

Expand full comment
Nov 29, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I personally get immediate headaches when around incense. When it is present, I choose to leave

Expand full comment
Nov 29, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I'm very sensitive to it and wouldnt be a fan of it. But I could see how it could elevate the experience for others.

Expand full comment

I would think, especially during a degree, that anything to enhance the experience should be considered.

Expand full comment
author

In my view, incense is a bit of a tough one, for the reason MW Steve mentioned. Some people can't handle it.

I'm a touch like that. Cheap scented candles, and that incense on a stick that people used to burn to cover their marijuana smell when I was a much younger fellow just about do me in.

But, proper incense doesn't have that negative impact on me, and I've always enjoyed it. I think that maybe Jay hits on it, a hint instead of a fumigation.

The larger question to my mind though is why we do away with things and not see that the impact is degraded. Cut out incense here, leave the lights shining brightly so that unprepared officers can read the work, remove dramatics from the drama. Each of these things by themselves does little to harm the experience, but when we cut too much, it will have a very bad impact.

Perhaps as far as incense goes, it would be best on a Lodge by Lodge basis. If someone reacts badly to it, don't have it, but if all are good with it, bring it back.

But whatever we do, we can't buy into the myth that our insurance company won't allow it. I've heard that one on more than one occasion. I truly doubt if it is true, and if it is true in a specific case, the solution is to buy better insurance, not allow an insurance company to decide what our Masonic experience will be.

Expand full comment
Nov 29, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I think that the use of things like incense and candles add to the sense of liminal space, and if the meeting will have a spiritual focus, definitely the addition of these elements within reason (taking into account health concerns) would be a good thing. If however it's just a business meeting, maybe not. The unconscious association that already exists in many men, of incense and candles being symbolic of spiritual space should be reinforced and not diluted by associating these elements with contentious business meetings. The more I think about Lodge and the total experience, the more I think we should have two types of stated meetings, Business and Masonic. Business, the work of running the physical lodge and Masonic, making good men better.

Expand full comment
Nov 29, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

We all have our own issues with regard to smoke, smell, etc. Mine may not be what would be the first to pop into your head about this particular use. Much of the Arab and Middle Eastern world (and large parts of Africa & SE Asia) use incense to cover their lack of enclosed sewers and access to frequent showers. Having worked well over half of my 30 year temporary insanity/delusion in those places, there are a few specific 'flavors' or scents that stand out, and, like MW Steve, some of those (especially combined with body smells) would likely send me right out without a word. (If you have never been stuck in a room, unable to move or get out, with a dead body or three for an extended period, I won't try to elaborate.)

Expand full comment

I'd also suggest that there are quite a few things done during a degree that on its face doesn't make a lot of sense. I'd discuss them further, but not here.

Expand full comment
Nov 29, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I love it, but sadly there's always someone who strongly objects.

Maybe we need a "smoking" section, lol.

Expand full comment
Nov 30, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I guess we could also flip this conversation around and also say musty smelling lodge rooms that haven’t been cleaned in too long is also tough to endure.

Cleaning is one of those maintenance items that can too easily get deferred.

Expand full comment
Dec 3, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I'm a member of an observant lodge and we always use incense. It really helps to set the mood and minds of the brethren to creating the sacred space of a meeting.

I think it would be difficult to convince all lodges to use incense because so many of our brothers seem to be adverse to anything perceived as observant or esoteric but I think those lodges that don't utilize incense are really missing out.

Expand full comment
Dec 7, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I love everything about incense! I've given several presentations over the years on everything from the symbolism and associations with masonry to the history and uses of incense.

Expand full comment