11 Comments
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Most definitely YES! It is my desire that my Grandson may one day follow my journey with one of his own in Masonry.

I'm very proud of him because he has learned how to think on his own, researching what is of interest to him and actually finds good, accurate information. We have had discussions about the Masons and what we do, so it gives me hope that someday he may follow my footsteps.

My paternal Grandfather passed before I was born. My maternal Grandfather live in Bison South Dakota and I grew up in Seattle Washington, so of course, didn't have a opportunity to have a long, close relationship with my Grandfather. I found out long after he had passed that he was a Mason. So it may be well after I've laid down my working tools that my Grandson becomes a Mason.

Yes as Grandparents I believe through empowering our Grandchildren, we are fulfilling our role at its fullest. If we listen to their dreams and desires, helping them discover on their own what it takes to reach that dream or goal. Certainly we can give them their wishes, which we do quite often but for the larger wishes and goals, if we discuss with them why it's important and what it will take to get there, I believe we are helping keep them grounded.

So here's hoping you have the opportunity to build such a relationship with your Grandchildren.

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Not ALL of us have grandkids…but we might be late bloomers too. 🤣

Expand full comment

Here is a female point of view...What I pass on is the ability to laugh, laugh, laugh. Good humor is a sign of genius (according to me!) But seriously. I have heard that it is the father that passes on the traditions so I think all of you have a good chance of passing on the Craft participation.

Expand full comment

I am from a Masonic family. I was part of Jobs daughters and my father was a mason here in my hometown. But that was 50 years ago. In my town they are gone. No more masonic lodges. The last one was converted into an administrator building for a school district. The one before it is now a church and the first one that I know of is now a huge Dentist office.

Expand full comment