24 Comments
Jun 29, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I am a member at both versions so one stays open all year and the other doesn't and it seems to me it is that they have long Summer vacations or other things to do.

I don't do things like that anymore so being home all the time I am glad that one of my Lodges stays open.

But then it is better when I have two Stated meetings each month instead of one.

And I do have a Scottish Rite Zoom tomorrow night and that is something I rarely miss......as you probably remember MW

If it was up to me there would be no dark months.

-Bill

Expand full comment
Jun 29, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

My lodge always went dark in July and August. A few years ago we moved from a Saturday night to Monday night meeting and stay open all year around. Starting in May tru August we are business casual dress and we have great attendance as many snowbird brothers are home and our older Brothers enjoy coming to lodge more because of the better traveling conditions. So it was a good thing for our lodge to stay open.

Expand full comment

Both Lodges I belong to are dark in July and August. But Brothers keep busy with Degrees in various Lodges, Open Air at The Masonic Park. Also with Rainbow and OES grand sessions. Rainbow Dream camp in August would deplete our numbers drastically for an August meeting.

Odd number years we'll add a FC Torchlight to our schedule.

Also a great time to visit our District 8 Brothers at Karl E Warren Railroad Lodge at Skykomosh as they meeting in the summer vice winter.

Expand full comment
Jun 29, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

The two lodges I belong to both “go dark” in July and August. In my home lodge, it was always my understanding that the lodge went dark after the election of officers in June so the new officers could prepare for the coming year. I’ve never understood why lodges who elect their officers in December would take a break in the summer. My current lodge in Arizona goes dark out of a purely financial reason, it’s expensive to run the air conditioning during the summer. For me, personally, I benefit when I’m attending lodge. I feel more balance in my life when I’m interacting with the brothers and feeling the warmth of fraternity. The opposite is true when the lodges are dark.

Expand full comment
Jun 29, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Our lodge recently voted to change our bylaws to go dark for July and August. 1 reason given was that brothers didnt want to miss anything because they would be traveling and unable to attend. I personally desire lodge to be open year round, and if we must close, do it in the winter when our roads are bad, and older brothers are at more risk for late night driving.

Our lodge meets 1st and 3rd Thursday. Since i have moved up here, we have started ritual practice of fellowship nights to take place on non stated meetings.

What you put into masonry is what you get out of it.

Expand full comment

Our lodge doesn't go dark, but sometimes I wish it did, lol. The building was built in 1918, and has no ceiling fans, no A/C, and no air flow in the lodge room. July and August can be sweltering hot up there.

But as far as lodge frequency, I went from a lodge that met every wednesday for practice and mentoring, to one that meets less formally. But I see they are trying to change and introduce practices at least once a month, and fellowship the other nights. No matter who you are or how long you've been a MM, practice is never a bad thing. And in my opinion, one of the first indications of a failing lodge is poor ritual work.

Expand full comment

One of my lodges goes dark, the others do not. I believe the original intent was to provide some relief to the Brethren due to the weather. Historically one would have to travel a great distance to go to lodge and it would usually be a day to three day effort, so many lodges would "go dark" during either the summer or winter months depending on location. Almost every lodge that I have visited does not have AC, making it tricky to meet in the summer months as well as many Brothers use this time for family vacations. The ability to open a lodge or hold a quorum would become an issue. Likewise in the winter months if travel to the lodge would be impeded due to snow or icy conditions.

Personally, I would welcome meeting all year long and twice a month is great for a Fellowship Night and a Stated Meeting. I would love to instill a once or twice a month Saturday morning informal meeting for all those whom would be able to attend. Set aside 2 hours, say 8-10am that the lodge could focus on degree work, ritual work, cleaning, repair of the facilities (many of our buildings would benefit from a little TLC), anything that would keep the fire in our bellies and show the communities in which we meet that we are a viable partner in the area.

Expand full comment
Jun 29, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Here’s my take on Lodges going dark.

I was told that in the days when the economy was largely agricultural, the Lodges didn’t meet in the summer because the Brothers were busy tending to their crops. From what I was told by some District Deputies in Eastern Washington, that is still the case. I was also told when I joined in the mid 1990’s that in July and August, “everyone” went out on Summer vacation and wouldn’t be back until September. I quickly found out that wasn’t the case, as many Brothers, but not nearly all, did take off a week or so for summer vacation, so if you tried to hold a Stated Communication in July or August, you might be short-staffed. That makes sense.

The problem I had found with Lodges going dark (and more of them did that in the 1990’s than now) was when the Lodge held it’s last June meeting, the Lodge moved to have the Secretary and Treasurer handle all the finances until September, the Lodge closed the meeting, and the members didn’t see each other at all until September. No picnics, no other casual events, no special events. It’s like the members were “taking a break” from Freemasonry, as if it were a job. Fortunately, in the two decades since, that’s changed, as some of the Lodges, instead of going completely dark, they go “dim,” as they go from meeting twice a month to once a month. While the business is minimal during those dim months, the fellowship more than compensates for it. It is interesting how the Lodges had to change their by-laws to add those two or so Stated Communications to get the Brethren to show up, as they wouldn’t otherwise if the Worshipful Master decided to just declare a picnic or barbecue date during the summer. Nevertheless, the Lodges found a way to maintain the fellowship throughout the year.

I see here in these comments about some Lodges considering going “dark” in the winter months, due to inclement weather or the Holidays. It does make sense, and I know of an Eastern Star Chapter who is changing their By-laws to go dark in both summer and the month of January. You might see some Lodges go that route in the future.

But overall, I find it encouraging that the Lodges are finding ways to keep their membership engaged throughout the entire year, while still recognizing that many members are busy doing summer traveling, projects and other things and might not be available to attend regular Stated Communications during the summer.

Expand full comment

Coming from North Carolina, lodges going dark in the summer months did not happen. It was when I arrived here WAA that I saw this practice for the first time. Your question prompted me to ask.

The first answer I got was because people vacation at that time. I know of no one that takes a multi-month vacation each year and not any of the active members of my lodges.

The second answer was the impact of agriculture on our area. Although, I do not know any farmers that attend Lodge with me.

The next answer was for "modern" reasons. Not sure what that means. It sounds a bit like, "because this is the way that we have always done it".

My concern with going dark is a matter of momentum. After we came back from our 2-year hiatus, I noticed that the chairs were not always filled on Lodge nights as brothers were apprehensive about getting back out there. Lately, all the chairs are filled and there are even sideliners to blurt out corrections to the ritual! :)

I hope that in September, we do not have to rebuild our momentum again like we did after COVID.

Expand full comment
Jun 29, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Both my lodge in Portland and my lodge in Astoria go dark during the summer months. I vote against it at both lodges, but I am always the only decenter. I understand it was practical when our lodges met above taverns in the hottest summer months before the invention of air conditioning, but it hardly gets that warm in most my lodges. It would actually make more sense to go dark during January and February as it is far more uncomfortably cold here in those months. That being said, my Portland lodge does have weekly get togethers and will continue those other meetings during the summer. I have started pushing the lodge here in Astoria to have more opportunities for us to meet, even if only socially. I’m happy to say we’ve met for a few cookouts/bonfires and tonight we have a degree practice. So a little in the right direction

Expand full comment
Jun 29, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I believe ours may be open for the first time…

In our District we have our Friday 5-7 gatherings which now shifts to District members homes.

We plan a number of outdoor MM Degrees which is fun.

On the other hand, taking a break from intense work if looked at as a “breather” can refresh those whose burdens they assumed from those who offer less.

Expand full comment

I find “refreshment” a better descriptive term than “dark,” which conveys a finality. And I always thought going on refreshment in January and February made more sense than doing so in summer.

Jay

Expand full comment