10 Comments
Jul 13Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I've had the good fortune of visiting three foreign lodges. United Peninsula Lodge #24 on Vancouver Island, BC, Manchester Lodge #279 in London, and Toyko Lodge #2. All have left me with great memories. At Peninsula Lodge I was honored, and we were all amused, when the Brothers valiantly attempted to sing the Star Spangled Banner. At Manchester #279, where most of the Brothers are employed at the Tower of London ... it's the Beefeaters Lodge ,,, I witnessed an English EA degree and afterwards was treated to a genuine English table lodge at the Freemasons Arms down the street from the UGLE (aka, the Home Office). And at Tokyo #2, since I apparently had no dog in the fight, the Worshipful Master asked me to be the inspector of elections. Notably, I visited Tokyo #2 on December 7, so I now have an additional and very happy reason to remember that date.

Expand full comment
author

I've got to make it up to a Lodge on Vancouver Island one of these days. I'd planned on attending there as GM, but then of course plans were disrupted by the pandemic. But, I know a lot of Brothers who have a great time visiting there.

At Doric Lodge we are blessed with two members who also hold membership in Tokyo, so I've gotten to hear some great stories from there.

But your visit to the Beefeaters Lodge, now that sounds like it must have been a truly awesome experience! Between the Degree and the Table Lodge, I imagine it was quite a lot different from what we are used to here.

Expand full comment
founding
Jul 13Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I’ve had the privilege to visit the Grand Lodge of Scotland on two different occasions. The Grand Lodge wasn’t in session but the tour and memorabilia was amazing and I highly recommend it. We have a Brother in my home lodge who emigrated from Cuba. It took him several years but he has been able to bring his family to America. His experiences in Cuban Freemasonry are quite interesting.

Expand full comment
author

I hope to make it over to visit a Lodge or two in Scotland someday soon. I think it would be really cool to see the Grand Lodge, plus I'd really like to visit Kilwinning Lodge.

I've met some Cuban Masons online through the years, and have read what I can about Freemasonry on that island. Some years back, when the travel restrictions were eased Melinda and I actually had our tickets purchased and our plans made, but then the restrictions were slapped back into place so we were prevented from going. I suppose that we could travel through from Canada or Mexico, I know that some folks do, but that seems a bit complicated.

Expand full comment
Jul 13Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

While visiting in New Zealand in 2001 I was invited to attend a 3rd degree at the local lodge. It turned out to be a must interesting and rewarding experience. In 2015 we accompanied the Grand Master of California on a trip to the Holy Land, during which the Grand Lodge of Israel and members of the Grand Lodge of California initiated an entered apprentice into the Lodge of the Holy Land --- in the quarry beneath the old city of Jerusalem, from which the stones used in the building of King Solomons temple were supposedly cut and numbered. On another Grand Masters trip we celebrated the 250th anniversary of the founding of the United Grand Lodge of England at a St. Johns dinner in London, a capstone to our visits to the GL of Scotland and the GL of Ireland.

Masonic travel is a wonderful way to visit foreign lands and receive Master Masons wages.

And our lodge is always a welcoming "home " to visitors from all parts of the world.

Michael D. Neben, PM

Irvine Valley lodge #671, Lake Forest, CA.

Expand full comment
author

You have done some amazing travel! I've seen photos of Degrees taken in the quarry under Jerusalem, and seen quite a few gavels made out of stones mined from there. That must have been a truly wonderful experience!

My Lodges through the years of my involvement have welcomed visitors from around the world, and that has been superb as well.

Expand full comment

As I have mentioned, I served as Secretary/Treasurer for my Mother Lodge in Canada for 14 years. I always had handy the Pantagraph “List of Lodges”. I would ask in Lodge if any brethren were travelling and suggest Lodges to visit AND alert them to clandestine Lodges. I don’t know if they always heeded my advise… the old “who is going to know” routine… I would advise guys that they would know!

I now live in Mexico and there are many clandestine Lodges throughout Mexico and Latin America… beware if you care!

Expand full comment
author

Excellent advice, thank you for the reminder here.

Last year I became my GL's Foreign Correspondent, so now I find myself directing quite a few Brothers to Lodges they can visit when they travel. It is an interesting, but not particularly easy thing in some parts of the world where a clandestine 'gl' might use nearly the same name, logo, and such as the legitimate Grand Lodge.

Expand full comment

One of the many benefits of being a Mason, is you always have friends you’ve never met around the world to greet you! 🤗

Expand full comment
author

Yes indeed! I've had some remarkable experiences traveling around and meeting other Freemasons.

Expand full comment