12 Comments
Mar 12, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Good question, RW Cameron.

In my opinion, the Concordant and Appendant Masonic bodies should encourage its members to be active in their Blue Lodge which helps strengthen the bond and promote all the good things going on throughout Masonry in Washington.

I was one of those Brothers freshly raised that joined everything straight out the gate, Scottish Rite, York Rite, Shrine and National Sojourners. Although, I learned from my mentors and coaches, such as WB Daniel Adriatico and WB Noel “Mac” Macabalitao that I needed to make my Blue Lodge my main priority, learn the ritual, confer all three degrees, complete my PiLM and go through the chairs. This was very sound advice, and now that I’m in the East, I’m an active member of Bremerton Valley Scottish Rite and KSA, I’m an officer in my local Shrine Club, and I help support National Sojourners and York Rite.

I feel if we focus too much on the Concordant and Appendant Masonic bodies we could potentially hurt our Blue Lodge, and the more active we are in our Blue Lodge the more valuable member we become who can help mentor others, which is a win for everyone.

It’s important that we find a good balance, set goals, focus on why we joined our beloved Craft and remember to utilize our 24 inch gauge on our journey.

Happy Friday Brethren!

Expand full comment
Mar 12, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

So this is a tough subject indeed, I’ll start with I do belong to Concordant and Appendant Masonic bodies. I first joined OES with my wife and it was really to support her. The next organization I joined was Shrine at of anger because of what some brothers of other organizations where doing and saying. Yes, I totally agree this is really not a reason to join an org. but I did and I can tell you it has been wonderful. Here’s the thing, that other org. brothers think they are better because they have more light or at least that is what those brothers were saying. I sit in my mother lodge and many of my lodge brothers belong to it and I always thought I would join to but as the years have gotten on I’m not so sure. This orgs brother one time brought us a petition for a candidate and their words we really want to get him into our organization. Turns out he was a maintenance guy for the local catholic school and they hoped to use his talents in the building. Do you know they blamed us for letting him get away to the knights of Columbus after we did give him his EA. Do I think on a whole these organizations have value, Yes but it would seems to me they never come to visit the blue lodge after they join those and take active roles there. The bodies that I have joined take active part in planning visits and encouraging the members to still be active in their Blue Lodge. As the old adage says “we’re all in this together”, on the Level and our masonic journey is both personal and paced differently based on the person.

Expand full comment
Mar 12, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

When I first became a brother in my Blue Lodge, I had no knowledge of concordant bodies, or that Shriners were Masons. When I became a MM I joined the Scottish Rite, being told it was the University of Masonry, and the Shrine. I liked them both because they opened my world to other brothers in the jurisdiction. I also saw a brother who had a heart for Masonry and the Shrine, who worked as hard or harder than any brother, create hard feelings with other brothers when he would become over zealous. Now, there are several brothers who won’t sit in lodge with the one brother. I also met Nobles who became masons, joined the Shrine and was never seen in Blue Lodge again. These were the same brothers who couldn’t understand why the membership in the Shrine continues to dwindle. It’s all about balance. Differences will always arise in proportion to the amount of time spent with one another. If seen brothers become extremely territorial over buildings, wanting to hold onto the very thing that is slowly bleeding them dry, rather than consider the hard business decisions that sometime need In the end, they can be both good and bad.

Expand full comment
Mar 12, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

In the end, “We are them and they are us”

Expand full comment
Mar 12, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I find this a very interesting topic. I belong to 9 Blue Lodges, Two Eastern Star Chapters, One Amaranth Court, White Shrine, Royal Arch, Shrine and the Scottish Rite Research Society.

Unlike many Brothers who join Eastern Star, Amaranth and White Shrine to support their spouse, I joined those female oriented organizations to expand my resources of Knowledge. To look at the Masonic concept from different perspectives. My wife has absolutely no interest in joining any of them but supports me in all of them. I have found that my membership in Eastern Star, Amaranth, and White Shrine has resulted in friendships which otherwise would have never had happened. It is amazing how it has taught me to subdue my passions and improve myself in Masonry. I feel that we are not only committed to support distressed Brothers but also their widows and orphans. My membership in those organizations develops a relationship so I know who they are and they know who I am so they feel more at ease asking for help when needed.

I am holding off on Scottish Rite for a bit as I have an inkling how overwhelming that is. You might say is am saving the BEST or DESERT for last.

Expand full comment
author

I'll share my random thoughts and experiences, knowing that everyone will have had different experiences.

When I first became a Mason, I was told, strongly, by my Lodge that I should not consider joining any other Masonic body for at least a year. It was explained that unless I learned about the Blue Lodge first, I would be without any sort of foundation for whatever came next.

That advice seemed sound to me, and I followed it. Actually, I think it ended up being three or four years before I joined anything else. Having done it, I think the advice I received was good. It kept me from being overwhelmed with information or organizations at the start. Overwhelming our new guys is I think a mistake that lots of Lodges make, so I think it would be wise if all Lodges shared similar advice.

I ended up joining the Scottish Rite first.

To be honest, my experience has been mixed.

The Valley I joined is one of those that only actually confers a small percentage of the Degrees. I guess that I don't understand that. If the Scottish Rite is to be 'The University of Freemasonry' and if its Degrees are the prime way its lessons are shared, then I don't understand why the Degrees wouldn't be given.

Well, I do understand. The degrees are skipped so that things go faster and the Valley doesn't have to do the huge amount of work required to put so many on. The issue with that, in my mind though, is that the Valley has and had plenty of time. It has two reunions each year, and meets every month. Well, since the degrees are given only at those reunions, there was never actually anything to do at those monthly meetings beyond paying the bills and such.

That brings me to my second negative. Probably since there was nothing interesting happening at those meetings, arguing seemed to be mighty common. I attended meetings faithfully and helped out during the reunions for a couple of years, but then gave up. I haven't returned, although I remain a member.

I don't want to only point out the negative though, for there is tremendous positive.

I have learned more about Freemasonry through the books published by the Scottish Rite SJ and the Scottish Rite Research Society than from any other source. I have also benefited greatly from the Master Craftsman program.

I recommend both the SRRS and Master Craftsman every chance I get. Through them, I think that the Scottish Rite fulfills its promise of being The University of Freemasonry.

I'm also a member of OES, as is my wife and two of my daughters. I'll hold my thoughts about that for another day.

The best Masonic organization I ever joined unfortunately no longer exists.

It was a small organization that had grown out of one of our Grand Lodge Districts. The meetings were simple. A bit of ritual opened them and closed them. A very good meal and wine or drinks were served during the meeting, and it consisted of the members around the table talking about Freemasonry. There was generally a Masonic presentation of some sort, and at the end of the meeting a string of toasts to all that is good.

Thinking about it, it was pretty close to what Emeth is here, just in person instead of online.

It died because it had been set up from the start as being invitation only. Well, the guys who did it didn't actually invite enough people to keep it going, I suppose in an effort to stay small and together. As the decades passed, they passed away, and soon almost none were left.

I hope that in some small way I can re-create that here, in an online forum. A place where serious discussion about Freemasonry can happen. Where we can learn from each other, and celebrate each other.

Expand full comment
Mar 13, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

RW, I know Kennewick had an opportunity to sell our building to the school district a little over a year ago. They didn’t really want outbuilding but the land it sits on. The offer was far short of what we had hoped for. So we made the decision to upgrade the building in hopes of renting out the dining hall and kitchen in hopes of creating revenue. Hopefully everything will work out. I know you’ve seen some of the photos that VW John has posted.

Expand full comment

Interesting that the discussion has sort of morphed into a building topic. Sorry for the late reply, but I took a few days off from sitting at the computer to go out and enjoy the sun.

In the heyday of fraternities, giant edifices were erected by the members without thought or consideration of the future. They just assumed that big meeting rooms were needed now and for generations. Most of them are dead now. Look at some of those massive buildings like the one in Detroit. I am going to assume that all of these buildings were built before the invention of property taxes. Even in our own jurisdiction we have relatively large halls, much larger than practical, and the taxes they are levied are threatening to close them down. Brothers, do what you can to have your property declared tax exempt. The paperwork is a pain in the butt, but with rising taxes, it's necessary for the future of our organization.

For multiple lodges within spitting distance from each other, this needs to stop. As others have mentioned, there is no good reason except tradition to keep some of these lodges around. In our area, there were four lodges within a couple miles of each other. Three were in the same building. One of them eventually died and merged with another lodge, so there are now three lodges. Of those three, they all have brothers holding old grudges and bitter feuds amongst the various lodges, for old grievances it is incredibly sad. Some have mentioned they would rather have their charter revoked by GL, and all of their property seized than to let another lodge benefit from the money earned for the sale of the building and contents. It is quite disgusting, literally cutting off the nose to spite it's face. Some need to set aside their petty issues and look to the good of the organization.

Expand full comment