12 Comments
Aug 22, 2022·edited Aug 22, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Well I hear "some" tend to stay up too late ;-)

I will have to think about this, but then younger members will most likely last longer than me

( but it is required that he be mentally healthy and alert)

Goodnight MW

Expand full comment
Aug 22, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

One older member can be a challenge to understand due to strokes years ago. We’re glad he attends regularly but he keeps his comments short.

What happened last meeting? We were short-handed. He asked to be JW.

And wow, he did the best ritual of the evening, in a stronger voice than we’ve heard from him in years. It was very moving.

But we’ve seen others with cognitive declines get lost even while reading, or while prompted.

My examples are more about the role of members as they age, rather than the injunction against starting with an older member.

Then again, some have that decline in their 60s and some are capable in their 80s and 90s.

Age and dotage are not the same thing.

Expand full comment
Aug 22, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Crystal Lodge #122 had a Worshipful Master who fought his way back from two strokes. He was in the line to be Worshipful Master when these occurred. The members knew this and supported him. Once he became WM, he perfomed well on the opening and closing ritual with occasional prompting. His circumstance brought the members closer together because they joined together to support him. This may be an exception, but he did well.

Expand full comment
Aug 22, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Members who become infirm with old age, after becoming a Master Mason, is one thing; but as I read the rules for signing a petition for the degrees, it spells out that we will not sponsor a young man in his nunage, or an old man in his dotage. The dictionary states that "dotage" is a condition of feeblemindedness, and "dotty" as one who is mentally unbalanced.

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2022·edited Aug 23, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

From the comments that precede mine I see heartwarming recollections of aged Masons who stepped up and performed admirably in elected office. That's great. So great that I wish it happened in my Lodge. Years ago we advanced to the East a Brother who entered his dotage phase. It was a disaster. He decided to attack me and when I tried to resolve it in the most friendly manner all of the other members sprung to his defense. So as it was his will an pleasure, the attacks continued. I'm amazed that I remained a Mason that year.

We should not initiate NOR ELECT a man in his dotage.

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Dotage is similar to nonage. When the mind begins to deteriorate, when a fixed income leaves no room for disposability. When you operate on a strict doctor or nursing home schedule. When your children or spouse or doctors are making decisions for you.

Expand full comment

That is a question I have asked myself for some time. Looking back I even ask myself if I would have been a better Mason if I had asked the right Mason after I got out of the Navy in 61, which I didn't. Would I have been a better member of the Craft or another stay at home Mason. As we all know you can't go back and change how our life went.

After I retired and moved to Maine my friend, hunting, fishing and Maple syrup making neighbor asked if I ever thought of becoming a Mason. I told him my story about asking a church member whom I knew to be a Mason I had an application the next day. After being raised and going through the chairs , in my second year as WM I had the honor of raiding a father and his two sons, The father was at every meeting and worked hard on anything the Lodge was doing until his passing this tear at the age of 91. His son's have just been dues paying members but have assured me they will become better members. That will have to be seen,

Long answer to a short reply of every man is different regardless of age.

Expand full comment