25 Comments

I think adding little touches helps convey the message a little clearer. One suggestion I heard was having something like an offering plate or similar that the WM would extend to the brother to accept the objects. This would reinforce giving something of value to a brother in need.

I think this particular part, among others, shows that at the core, the fraternity is an organization designed not only help brothers grow, but also extend a helping hand when in need. That we look out for each other, and assist when needed.

I’ve mentioned this in some of my educational discussions with brothers, that the use of the word charity, especially in the second degree, refers not to money and giving, but to brotherly love, and a love of humanity in general. When referring to the passage quoted in the circumambulation, if you listen to it from that point of view, it makes a lot more sense. That brotherly love can mean providing money or assistance, but it is much more than that.

The invention of non profit tax shelters forces the fraternity to do charitable works, which is terrific, but somehow this act has supplanted the meaning of charity within our teachings.

Speaking of metallic kind, I was conferring a first degree to someone that was with the demolay. A couple of brothers who were part of the order were stewards to lend more to the friend part of the lecture. The stewards thought it would be funny to play a joke, and gave the candidate a safety pin to pin onto his uniform. So when it came time to ask that question, he reached down between his legs. I was dumbfounded, I thought that not only was he going to be something metallic, but that it was a stud fastened to his tallywacker. The lodge erupted in laughter, probably to the look of horror on my face. At the moment, I just laughed it off, but I was inwardly furious. Not for the embarrassment, but because they ruined the solemnity of the experience and the entire point of the lesson was lost. That brother never finished his degrees, not because of that incident, but because he couldn’t do the memory work required to advance and he stopped coming to practice night.

Expand full comment
Mar 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

An interesting topic. I was able to find a tin button on the ceremonial pajamas when I was brought in and offered that to the master. Ernie's reply was "that doesn't count".

In any case. The masonic legend ans the Bible has it that no tools of iron were used at the temple site supposedly because the stones were all hewn perfectly at the quarry. The Talmud and Quran disagree and asserts a divine substance called "Shamir" was a non metallic and used to cut the stones.

The masonic legend also refers to offensive and defensive purposes. A possible allusion to the 3rd degree when we learn how three fellowcrafts turn on their master.

And are we talking of the physical temple that was built 3000 years ago and destroyed 2600 years ago, or are we talking about the metaphysical temple of the afterlife, or the spiritual temple of the human body? So many allegories to try to separate...

Expand full comment
Mar 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I have seen a hat and a multitude of "dishes" or offering plates if you will. I find those metal plates with something already contained within shaken slightly for a little sound and the correct inflection helps in the moment.

As far as the teaching moment a hand on the shoulder usually breaks the awkward uncomfortable silent moment to impart the lesson. To remember your current situation and to assist others who are in need when called upon carries forward through out your new Masonic life. I likewise believe this solemn occasion needs the respect and proper set up required. Forgetting something on a candidate spoils that moment to impart a deeply meaningful lesson but I too have witnessed something of a metallic kind on a candidate.

The circumambulation is also our chance to inspect the candidate as members from our stations and the sidelines in Lodge to catch them before that moment and make adjustments when appropriate, say when stopped at the south west or east for questioning.

I have learned as a SD myself that when answering that knock upon the preparation room door it should be my first action after answering that knock to inspect the candidate to see if anything seem out of place and advise the Stewards to make adjustments while I report to the Worshipful Master.

Expand full comment
Mar 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I’ve had many discussions with different brothers about this portion of the initiation. Should the candidate be left standing, with nothing to offer, and then have the point made it was to remind him of the state he was in should he ever come across another person or brother that he should give to their relief as his ability permits. I think the lesson can be made stronger if a brother were to stand and offer something of a metallic kind, showing the candidate that we practice the relief we are teaching. By divesting the candidate of all metals it removes anything of value. Possessing metal of any kind at the building of the Temple would have inferred wealth. The other reason would be to assure the brothers the candidate did not possess a weapon.

Expand full comment
Mar 23, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I like to start off by saying I enjoy reading the thoughts and wisdom of the brothers that are partaking in these discussions. One simple simple question, different experiences and lessons. A wealth of Masonic light.

Looking back and reflecting on my masonic journey, the symbolic lessons I got from this is charity. "To leave something of a metallic kind" is to give something of value to the lodge. But upon further examination I was entirely destitute...Instead of giving an object of value which I didn't have. I gave myself to the lodge by having a CT around my N and having a tie with the lodge. This is the esoteric lesson I got from giving "Something of a metallic kind."

The other lesson I got from this is that in my poor and penniless condition the M of the lodge and brothers still took me in as one of their own. I didn't realize it then, but now I see It as a symbolic new beginning in my Masonic life.

Expand full comment
Mar 24, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

The First Degree Lecture tells us, “Y wr dv of al mts fr tw rns.”

Fs, tt y sh cry ntg ofsv or dfsv int t L. This seems pretty self-explanatory, however the second reason might add some insight into what this might mean.

The second reason loosely quotes from 1 Kings 6:7

“And the house, when it was in building, was built of stone made ready before it was brought thither: so that there was neither hammer nor axe nor any tool of iron heard in the house, while it was in building.”

Since, as Speculative Masons, we don’t actually cut, square and number stone or prepare timber, you might wonder what this might have to do with Speculative Masonry. What is the significance of this passage?

As many Masons, I searched many different disciplines before accidently discovering Freemasonry. It was this searching different venues for truth that allowed me to recognize that I had stumbled upon what I had been searching for.

One of those disciplines was Messianic Judaism. I attended a Congregation which practiced Messianic Judaism for many months. I was fascinated by it.

One service an old Rabbi gave a talk about how the Torah Scroll is made (one to be used in worship service). The attention to detail was amazing. There are exactly 304,805 Hebrew letters in a Sefer Torah Scroll, not one more or one less.

It must be handwritten with a quill of a clean bird and not a tool of iron as metal is used in the manufacture of weapons of war which would be an offense to the Holy work of writing a Torah Scroll and it might damage the specially treated leather. It is written in Hebrew from left to right (Hebrew is generally written right to left) letter by letter copied from an authorized copy. Hebrew letters are similar to calligraphy which makes the fact that the columns are justified like in a newspaper even more impressive.

So, with that information, “tools of iron” in our Lodges are the ciphers. The preparation work/memorization, in my opinion, should be done offsite so that when we come together for the Holy Work of assisting men to becoming better men the ritual should come together from memory with such exactness to have more the appearance of the handiwork of the Supreme Architect than of human effort.

Expand full comment
author

Not addressing the esoteric side of the question, just the practical:

I very distinctly remember this in my Degree, and I don't think that I'll ever forget it. The reason for that is a combination between how my home Lodge did it, and my own unique circumstance that evening.

Most Lodges I've seen conferring the First wouldn't have had the same impact on me, because most don't use 'props' and in my Degree the props made all the difference.

What had happened was W John Mathers was in the East, conferring my Degree. Before the meeting he arranged a box to put the tokens in. The thing was, he had a pretty darn good collection of stuff in there. I think that some of it was just old junk that was probably kicking around the Lodge for a long time, but somehow he got some good new stuff in there as well. I presume that before the degree he just wandered around the room collecting a wedding ring and a watch or two, adding them to the box.

My back story is that years ago I did something professionally that an awful lot of people were happy about, and I was gifted a watch. A watch that I could never afford. A gold and diamond swiss watch that costs more than a new car. I don't wear it much anymore, but I used to wear it all the time, and I had worn it to Lodge that night.

I got up there and W John said the words, and he shook that box in front of me, and I looked in and saw good stuff there.

Instant panic as I tried to remember if I was wearing the watch.

Of course the panic only lasted a few short moments as I remembered that I had taken it off in the preparation room, but it was pretty darn intense while it lasted. Certainly it got my attention, and certainly getting my attention in such a powerful way made the lesson immediately following stick, and I imagine stick perfectly forever.

Expand full comment