24 Comments
Apr 16, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Happy Friday RW Sir and esteemed Brethren!

The topic of DDGM’s is a good one. We’ve had some awesome DDGM’s in District No. 12, and our current DDGM, VW William Hubbard is a prime example since he’s doing a fantastic job. He’s easily approachable, offers great advice, and does everything possible to make sure we succeed as Masters. His special lapel pin idea that he hands out to “Super Stars” in our District is a great way to recognize Brethren. This was especially needed during this pandemic.

I feel it’s important to have a DDGM much like VW William Hubbard who keeps everyone informed, attends meetings on a regular basis makes sure all Lodges in our District are on the same page with the Grand Lodge.

I look forward to working with our new DDGM for District No. 12, whoever that will be.

Have a blessed weekend everyone.

Fraternally and V/r,

Todd

Expand full comment

The proper role of the DDGM is to provide guidance and mentorship to the lodges as needed within his district. They make monthly reports to the GM on the health of his district. They should visit each lodge in his district monthly, even though they are only required to do so once a year AFAIK.

They do not, or should not, have "power".

Has brothers, in the capacity as a DDGM helped (or harmed) my lodge, or myself personally? I can't speak for the lodge, but for myself, no, I don't think I ever needed that sort of help, or was negatively impacted by our DDGM(s).

Can a DDGM help or harm a lodge? Of course. The DDGM should be conversant with the WMC and the ritual. If they see a lodge about to violate the code, they should advise the WM of the issue, but other than that, they let the WM run their lodge, code violations and all. They are not in charge of the lodge, and they do not (or should not) have the authority to order anything or anyone.

I visited a lodge a few years ago, and the lodge was very anxious to get a brother in as a member. Apparently this was a process that had been ongoing for quite some time (I don't know the particulars). Anyway, they called the lodge off session, the "investigating committee" took the brother into the preparation room, did their investigation, came back in, lodge was called back on session. They returned their reports, (all fair and favorable) and the WM called for a show of hands vote to see if the lodge approved his petition. He was voted in, and much handshaking all around. I was appalled.

This was a well established lodge, with an experienced WM, and the DDGM was sitting there all during the events and didn't say anything. I approached him after the meeting and commented on what had just transpired. He seemed aware of how that whole process was supposed to go.

Now, yes, he didn't (or shouldn't) have the power to do anything to stop it. But he should have said something.

At least in our district (possibly others) there isn't a line of brothers volunteering to be the DDGM. Much like the progressive line, the DDGM may not be the best choice for that role, but no one else is willing to do it. Our district only has four lodges, but most are struggling with membership and a revolving door of PMs in the line. The DDGM duties require a lot of time commitment that most people just don't have anymore.

So, does the DDGM system work? As designed it should, but the human factor plays a role. Does it need to change? Not necessarily, but due care must be given to the choices being made.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

With proper training and written expectations, the system of Deputies of the Grand Master can be very useful to the Lodges and to the Grand Master. Without training and expectations, DDGMs are place holders, title seekers and can cause great harm to the Lodges in their districts.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

This is the charge that the Deputy of the Grand Master is given at installation.

"It will be your duty to exercise a general supervision over the Craft in your respective District; to visit all the Lodges therein during your term of office; to inspect their labors, examine and inquire into the state of said Lodge, and to give them masonic advice and instruction. Let the Book of Constitutions (the Washington Masonic Code) be your constant study, that you may be able to preserve inviolate the laws on the Institution, and impress upon the Lodges in your respective Districts the necessity of a strict adherence to our laws."

Properly trained (and that also means that the individual is listening), these words serve as a valuable guide.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

In District 3 of the Jurisdiction of Washington, Deputies of the Grand Master are commissioned for a two-year term, and serve at the will and pleasure of the Grand Master. The charter for a Deputy requires that the Deputy visit each Lodge in the District at least once during the term of office, and make a written report to the Grand Master on or before the first day of June. The Deputy is also required to make written report to the Grand Lodge each month, commenting on the conduct and mode of working, and the general state of each Lodge.

During my tenure as a Deputy, I felt I could not render an honest monthly report unless I had visited all the Lodges in the District. I wanted to be able to give the Grand Master and the Grand Line a running "State-of-the-District" commentary, noting strengths and weaknesses of each Lodge. I would offer suggestions and opportunities for improvement where I felt were pertinent, and make personal reports to the Grand Master where I felt emphasis was indicated.

Past Deputies in my District set a high example for me to emulate, inspiring me to become more conversant with the Washington Masonic Code and the Standard Work, and to be open, friendly, and encouraging to all my Brethren (something I try to do, anyway).

My one regret is that, as an appointed Deputy, I had no real authority to mandate a correction in practice and procedure where I felt it was needed. Lodges with deficiencies continued to stumble along as they always had, secure in the belief that no punitive or corrective action would be levied on the Lodge. “What you permit, you promote. What you allow, you encourage. What you condone, you own. What you tolerate, you deserve.” --Michelle Malkin

I suggest that the Grand Master give the District Deputies some teeth. After all the "suggestions" and polite discussions have failed to get the Lodges' attention, authorize the Deputy to suspend the Lodge's Charter for up to six months, accompanied by a printed plan for improvement. This would, of course be done by prior coordination with the Grand Master, but would be nonetheless binding. If the Lodge shows improvement after the period of suspension, they would be allowed to resume active meetings. If no improvement is demonstrated, the Deputy recommends to the Grand Master that the Charter be permanently removed, and the Lodge no longer exists. So be it.

All Lodges experience ups and downs, but there are no acceptable reasons to cease trying.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Are there any requirements, written or unwritten, to be selected to be a DDGM? Who does the DGM receive input from when selecting a DDGM? Should the DDGM that is to be appointed be someone that is well known and respected throughout the District, or is it more of a reward system? Is being a DDGM typically the unwritten path to being elected to the Grand South? We’ve had good DDGMs in our District. There role, as I understand, is to be the eyes and ears for the GM, making sure the minutes and financials are in order. The DDGM should never interfere with the day to day of a lodge, and should never get involved in personality conflicts. Only providing counsel when asked by the WM and then stepping away. From my own experience, I think GL needs to look at how they care for the DDGMs. The responsibilities of the DDGMs, especially in a larger District, seem to take a toll on the Brothers. I’ve enjoyed great relationships with the DDGMs from my District and have received great counsel from them.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

It’s been 10 years since I was a District Deputy. I found that once I was installed and proceeded to interact with the Lodges in my District, as well as the Grand Master, I quickly learned much more about what the Grand Master actually does, rather than what it appears he does when he visits your Lodge or speaks at a Grand Lodge function, such as a district meeting. That’s only the tip of the iceberg. Once you figure that out, you begin to tailor your contact with him in accordance to what he’s doing, what he’s occupied with at the time, also within the guidelines and expectations he has set for you as his Deputy.

From the Lodge’s standpoint, they will be summoning you from time to time to oversee, arbitrate, or offer suggestions and advice. It happened with me, and some of those issues were pretty serious. The Worshipful Master might say, “I’m at a loss on this one, Very Worshipful. What should we do?” For me, when that happened, it was sobering – I realized that what I suggested could solve the problem and allow the Lodge to move forward, or it could very well screw things up even worse. However, the Brethren of your district have confidence in you, as well as the Grand Master, or you wouldn’t have been appointed to such a position.

There was also a situation where the Grand Master directed me to preside over a Lodge to handle Charges that were made against the Worshipful Master and another principal officer. To date, that was the roughest experience I’ve ever had in a Masonic Lodge. Nevertheless, it’s what I had to do when I accepted the position. I do remember, throughout that whole episode, that I did my best to have that Lodge solve its own problem, though.

Also, even after your term as the Deputy concludes, you do indeed ‘return to the quarries,’ but the leadership will always know that you are a Past District Deputy, and you might be called upon to carry out a specific duty, to assist the current Deputy, or to be appointed a Special Deputy for a specified term to handle one or more situations. The current Deputies also might “pick your brain” about issues they might be encountering, because you might have been there in a similar situation.

And one of the coolest things about my term as Deputy? I’m still friends with the Grand Masters I served. It’s cool to kick back and chat with them to this day.

There’s a lot more to being a Deputy of the Grand Master than the Purple Apron and Jewel and the Very Worshipful Brother title. But it can be quite a rewarding experience. I’m certainly a better person for it.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

During my term I was very fortunate to have VW Pat Murray as DDGM he attend every one of my meeting and would either offer praise or mention something for improvement. We developed a bond and visited the entire district (#6) each month, in most cases there two people sitting together that would be Pat and myself. And of course he got me into trouble (fun) a numbers time. He made himself available for any help needed, degree work or anything to be helpful. He always had a message from the GM and kept the lodges informed of the activities around the district. A DDGM does not need authority as mentioned, when he builds confidence with the lodges in the district his advise display his authority.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

As a member of Lodge(s) in District 14, District 15, and District 17 I have had very good experience with all the DDGM's. Two things I learned with talking with them over seven and a half years is that the Office requires organizational skills I simply don't have, and financial means I don't have.

I am satisfied with working in the quarry. I marvel at the work that DDGMs do. I just don't see that as a path on my Masonic journey at least right now.

Expand full comment
Apr 22, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I think I am coming to this thread a little late, sorry. When I became DDGM I was a bit apprehensive, as I had seen the job executed in many different ways. So, I reached out to past DDGMs I trusted for advice, and one comment stuck with me, "The job comes with a lot of cool jewelry, lots of responsibility and no real power." With that in mind I began my journey by simply attending Lodges, and listening to what people said, and what they needed. Slowly I began to find places where I could help, as a liaison between GL and the Blue Lodges, as well as between Blue Lodges. In the end DDGM is a true leadership position, in that because you don't have any institutional power, if you want to be helpful, you have to use your position to lead men toward behavior that expresses the Landmarks of Masonry. The power of listening can not be underestimated, just giving the Blue Lodge Officers a chance to voice their concerns and needs to someone wearing gold and purple. In doing that you can reduce the distance between GL and the Blue Lodges. As a DDGM you can do a lot of damage, if you talk more than you listen. A casual comment by a DDGM can be interpreted as a comment by Grand Lodge, and if you get that wrong, well its off to the races. I also found that when there are issues between brethren or Lodges, its important that everyone feel you are listening, and where possible you need to reduce conflicting energy rather than spinning it up by to quickly taking sides, or offering opinions without taking time to carefully consider the issues, and consult with your GM. this are my experiences, in brief.

Expand full comment